We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different from all-inclusives, but, a nice resort!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Different from all-inclusives, but, a nice resort!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

First, I am surprised that there are not any "all-inclusives" in P.R. Something to do with being an American Territory, I think?! Anyway, Caribe did what they could to make it seem like a resort vs. a regular hotel chain. The had an activities legend out by the pool with a daily schedule of events. We played Bingo, did yoga, tried Pina Colada drinks at the bar, etc. The prices at the resort are very high for food and drink! An American Cheese burger alone is $15 - $18. They did have happy hour specials. They have several restaurants on the premise. We ate in none, except for getting food & drink from StarBucks. S.B. had good sandwiches & also breakfast items & desserts. But, we usually went across the street to Subway. I've not been a Subway person in the past. But, these guys are awesome. Breakfast items, soup, salads, sandwiches, pizza.....they had it all & very inexpensive!! The only negative is you have to wait sometimes for a while in line. Also, we took our cooler on the plane as our carry on & every few days we would go across the street for sodas, water, beer, wine, liquor, etc. P.R.'s water is safe, so being "green" we would refill our water bottles in the room. There is also a room refrigerator. Caribe has water coolers in the lobby only during week days with fresh water & fresh fruit floating in it. (Why not on weekend, no one could tell me?!) There are also water coolers, very cold, at the pool bar. They had some sort of chex mix at the bar that you could ask for as a munchie. The rooms were very clean & there are soda, snack machines & ice on every floor. We stayed in the main tower where the lobby & everything is. Our view was excellent over the beach area & ocean! We found the concierge to be extremely helpful. They would help us with directions, phone calls, excursions, tips on where to go & taxis! Always with a smile & patience!! Caribe is also only a two mile walk from Old Town which was very nice or you could catch the bus catty-cornered from Subway which is only 50 to 75 cents depending on which bus number it was. Typically, we would take a taxi back. We would definitely return to Caribe and Puerto Rico!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to serve you. We appreciate your loyalty and hope you visit us again soon.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,004
    1,358
    626
    357
    204
See reviews for
816
1173
112
568
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel. My room was dirty from the moment we arrived. I was willing to overlook the rooms shortcomings until we found the large cockroach in the middle of the bathroom floor. When I told management she looked like I was wasting her time and gave me a free breakfast and $35 resort credit probably to get me out her face. I had to ask to have the room cleaned. For an 8 night stay I expected better. I won't come here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your room condition while you visited us recently. Please accept our deepest apologies. I am sharing your comments with our executive Housekeeper and rest assured we are taking corrective actions to prevent future guest from experiencing what you did. We regret that you left us feeling this way.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us the opportunity of serve you in the near future.
at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at the Caribe Hilton while on a business trip. I was in San Juan for 4 days. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained and extensive. The grounds have several swimming pools, bathing lagoons, beaches, pool decks, etc to enjoy the tropical outdoors. Their are a number of restaurants and lively bars both inside the hotel and on the grounds. I did not eat at the restaurants, so I cannot attest to quality. Drink prices at the bar are pricey but the scenery is splendid. Overall the Caribe Hilton is a nice place to enjoy the beach. My room was on the 18th floor of the tower. The view of the ocean from the balcony of my "ocean view" room was better than in many ocean front rooms I have occupied. I imagine it would be just as good at least from floors 10 and higher. The room was spacious with a large bathroom and good size walk in shower (no tub). The bed was comfortable. My room was certainly aging and showing severe signs of wear. Cracked and repaired tiles in the bathroom, a broken light shade above the sink, damaged areas of the woodwork. None of this detracted from my stay, but if you are seeking perfection or a "modern" room, this is not the place. The room could probably also use some better insulation in the doors between adjoining rooms. My neighbors partied until 1:00 am the first night and I could follow their conversation as if I was sitting next to them. I find this to be a problem with a lot of older properties. After the first night all was fine as more considerate neighbors moved in. We both kept our radios and TVs turned down so as not to impose on each other. I was out most of each day, so I did not have a lot of interaction with staff, but the interactions I did have were pleasant and professional. It is a 20 minute walk or $12-15 cab ride into old San Juan or to Condado (the hip area of the beach) with restaurants and entertainment venues. The bottom line, I would stay here again. I enjoyed the grounds, I had a spacious room with s beautiful view and a comfortable bed. The lady is showing her age in spots but for me is still a great way to enjoy San Juan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience
Your feedback is important to us in order to better understand your need and where we can improve.

thank you again and we hope you visit us again soon

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORAL SPRINGS, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I HAVE STAYED AT OTHERS AND ALWAYS COME BACK TO THE BEST! I'm not wasting my time anymore-the CARIBE HILTON is the most beautiful, clean, guest friendly hotel in San Juan:) Great Staff, very well kept and can't ask for any better service from the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure to serve you. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time.

We look forward to welcome you back soon

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My stay was May 12-15. I was worried before I got there from all the bad reviews. I Was very happy when arrived. A couple of tips. If you plan to drink buy a couple of bottles on the way to the hotel or at the liquer store just off property. The drinks at the bars are over priced. BUT these day name a hotel where that iisn't the case. MY room was in the main tower. IT WAS CLEAN AND NICE! The pool and beach area were great! The exterior of the hotel did show some age. SO WHAT! another tip: we were torn on renting a car or doing taxis. We went with taxi. Happy we did. The parking and driving for that matter going to old San Juan would have been a head acke! We ate at some good restrants there and were cheap. Go to Bebos! In all I would stay there again. BTW ALL THE SERVICE IN PUERTO RICO IS BAD! I GUESS ITS JUST THE WAY OF LIFE THERE! THIS REVIEW IS COMING FROM A PERSON WHO WORKS AT A 5 STAR RESORT IN FLORIDA.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you here. We regret that you left Puerto Rico feeling that way about the service. We hope you visit us again soon. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, GA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the San Juan - Caribe Hilton. On this visit, we planned our stay from both perspectives: as tourists and as locals. Having lived in Puerto Rico and the San Juan area, we know the island better than the average resident. The hotel has a strategic location that permits easy access and driving to key areas. The parking management is "Puerto Rican style", but highly reliable and efficient at $18 per day. The man-made beach at the hotel is far superior to possibly all others in the San Juan area. If you like swimming in smooth water, protected by breakwater, and large enough to be a challenge to swim with / or without mask / fin / snorkle, then the beach at Caribe Hilton is the one to beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I am on vacation and I'm going to be staying here for 8 nights when I got to my room it looked so horrible the outside doors were very dirty the glass in the shower was very dirty two of the lights are broken and the carpet is very disgusting not to mention they made me pay a resort fee which I'm wry upset about because this doesn't feel like a resort at all I feel like I'm staying in a motel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your room condition while visiting us. Please accept our apologies. I am sharing your comments with our executive Housekeeper and rest assured we are taking corrective actions to prevent future guest from experiencing what you did.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us the opportunity of serve you in the near future.

at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.