We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average tourist resort.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Fort Lauderdale, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average tourist resort.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Large resort hotel. Beach/poolside bar's food has no taste and drinks were overpriced. Try to stay in the main hotel and not by the exhibition center. It is a long winding and twisting walk. Huge bathrooms! Good sized rooms but insufficient bright lights Biggest positive asset, there is a StarBucks in the lobby. Pricing on par with stateside prices. Lobby is open air, but restaurants and rooms are air conditioned. .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,016
    1,367
    635
    363
    205
See reviews for
839
1182
112
574
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was very clean and busy! a combination not seen often. The one meal I had there was satisfying. Oh the soda machine on the Third floor did not accept more than one dollar bill it seems lol.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went to P.R. for a week to celebrate my birthday. This property was larger than the others that we've stayed at in P.R. It had a really nice pool and beach. The staff were excellent. It was totally relaxing and stressless. It was the first week I spent without my cell phone in 20 years and would do it again in a second. This was a week to remember.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building. IT's closest to the pools and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Happy birthday! thank you for celebrating with us and for sharing your experience. It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we hope you celebrate your next birthday with us!

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica Plain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a last minute vacation in search of sun and warmth. I was not disappointed. The facilities and grounds are very nice. Probably more family oriented than I would generally look for, but for a long weekend it worked for me. Conveniently located between Old San Juan and the Condado Beach area, it was about a 20 minute walk to each.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Caribe Hilton is a great place to stay in San Juan. It is located in the Condado section of San Juan, and very close to great restaurants and shopping. The hotel has a great beach and pool, and is good for families as well as single travelers. My only issue is that it is quite pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello there! thank you for staying with us and for posting your comments. It was a pleasure to serve you. We appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

we are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We checked in at 10:00 am, right after off our cruise ship, and our room was already ready! The atmosphere was very relaxed and the staff was pleasant. It was tremendously windy our first day, but the temperature was in the high 70's. The pool was a little nippy with the wind. There is an abundance of restaurants and eateries right on site. The Pina Colada Club lives up to its name with the BEST Pina Coladas! There is also a Morton's Steak House. Yummy, but VERY overpriced.

The garden courtyard is lovely. The variety of animals is amazing. They had a pond with huge fish as well as peacocks, swans, a turkey, chickens, ducks, iguanas and lizards to be seen. The rooms had a very nice view of the water (once you overlook the rooftop). The beds are EXTREMELY comfortable! We were able to walk to Old San Juan for some sightseeing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you back in the near future.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this property for 2 nights; April 12 - 14, they only thing I could say is that Paris Hilton should stay there herself. The best word to describe this property would be "Dirty" The bar chandelier had dust balls hanging from it "YUK", the carpeting in the bedroom should have been replace. The best feature of this hotel was the pool and beach area, staff was pleasant and accommodating but definitely not like other Hilton's I have stayed at before. Fortunately this was not a week long vacation as we went on a cruise that Sunday. At the end of our cruise we ended up staying at the Marriott Stellaris boy what a difference, impeccable. We booked the Caribe Hilton because the Marriott was sold out, but will never stay there again. At the same rate as the Marriott GO MARRIOTT, food was equally as expensive at both locations but the Marriott was far superior and CLEAN!

Room Tip: GO Marriott!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.