We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in San Juan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Saskatoon, SK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One night in San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here in January before our Caribbean Cruise. Check in was very efficient after a wait of 5 or so minutes. We booked through Hotwire and so were given a Garden View room. This hotel is well located on a beach with a beautiful pool and bar/lounge area.

Our room was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello there! thank you for your comments. We hope you had a wonderful Cruise.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    1,458
    661
    379
    216
See reviews for
893
1,253
119
615
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Caribe Hilton offers the best of all worlds in the heart of San Juan-- a small, private beach right on the water and close proximity to Old San Juan. If you are looking for a total beach experience, this may not be the place for you (instead, look at the properties in Isla Verde), but if you are looking for a good mix of sun/sand and city, this is a great option. The rooms are clean and well-maintained, and the service was very good. The property offers alot of outdoor options, from tables on the terrace, a swim-up bar, hammocks in the shade, to a private beach with a protected swimming area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello thank you for visiting us and for your kind words. We hope you had a wonderful vacation time.

Looking forward to your next stay!

At your Service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I truely enjoyed my stay at the hotel during the Sebastain festival. I arrived at 1pm and it did take 3 hours for a room to become available but that did not matter because I enjoyed the hote'ls outdoor ameninties. Sleeping on a hammock while watching the waves crash against the shore let me know that I was on vacation. I did not get a deal on this hotel, it was one of the only hotels with availability during the 2nd week in January - busy because of the Sebastian Festival in Old San Juan, but it was a good value. Hotel is in close proximity to the airport and old san juan and the private beach and outdoor area is one of the best I have seen in San Juan. You must try their frozen Mango Mojito. Room service is available and the food is average. The room was spacious but the walls were thin, we could here the neighbors conversate as if there was a window connecting the two rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for visiting us! We appreciate your comments and feedback.

Sorry for the noise from the neighbors, will take your comments into consideration.

Hope you enjoyed your stay, our mojitos and the hammocks! We are waiting for your next visit.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good value staying there - has it's own beach. The restaurants could be better - but we had coffee each morning at the Starbucks on site. Staff was very helpful. The entrance to the hotel could be improved - the lobby was nice gave it a tropical feel. The conciegre was very helpful in suggesting restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another opportunity to serve you

We are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

They have a magnificent location, close to the airport as well as the cruise pier. It is right on the beach as well in a beautiful spot. We love the service they provide as well. It can get a bit crowded at times, but still worth the stay! They do charge those resort fees, so ask before you go. We were surprised one visit when they just tacked it onto our bill and it hadn't been included in the booking price. The one thing that you can't miss is the American Breakfast! It is amaing...expensive, but worth it for at least one morning. Go closer to the end time and it can count for lunch as well.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room if you can afford it. They have categories of rooms. If you can't af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hey there! thank you for share your experience with us. It was a pleasure to serve you.

We hope you visit us again soon. already waiting!

At your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Got a great deal from JetBlue inc this hotel. It was a great location not to far from SJU and very close to Old San Juan anf the sights! - Great pool and pool bar. lazy hammocks and a perfect spot for morning coffee over looking the ocean. I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments! Is a pleasure to hear that you had a great time.

Hope to see you again soon!

At your Service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Can't beat this location with pool and private beach. The lobby and restaurants (Mortons) were fine, but rooms and conference facilities in need of a facelift. It also has a great exercise facility and nice tennis courts. But, with such a great location and outdoor space, I did not find the rooms to be that much of an issue. The Villas overlook an old fort and with windows open in the evening, you can hear the waves. The neighborhood has no local flavor or restaurants, so it's a cab to Old San Juan (or 45 min walk) or short walk to Condado. Our conference provided shuttles to convention center but you could do the walk in 20 min. They also provided a great venue for a party. Only glitch are the rooms - otherwise this is great place to stay. I'll return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
thank you for your comments and feedback. It was a pleasure to serve you!

We certainly Hope that the next convention will be here again.

At your Service

Nelson Torres Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.