We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis for relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oasis for relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while my husband was on a business trip. We thoroughly enjoyed the grounds of the hotel. You could choose to relax by an assortment of pools, jacuzzi, hammocks, beach chairs, and bars. There was also a small beach area in which to soak up the sun and wade in the calmer waters. The view of the Atlantic ocean was beautiful and it was fun to watch the waves and the fish from the pier. There were several places to eat-food was good but pricey. Most of the people in serving roles were not too friendly, although we did have a few excellent ones. The room we stayed in was very nice, the beds were extremely comfortable, and the bathroom area was very good.(The hair dryer was one of the best I have used in a hotel room) The hotel was close to attractions-Old San Juan and both forts, and eating establishments. During the week, it was busy but hardly any children there so it was pretty quiet. One of my favorite places to visit was the tropical garden area where you could get up close and personal with peacocks, swans, turtles, koi fish and even a turkey! Many photo ops were found at this hotel and I enjoyed having a variety of things to do and see without leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    1,466
    664
    380
    218
See reviews for
893
1,259
121
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here prior to our cruise. It is a very nice hotel with beautiful grounds. The room was very nice with comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet was above average. However, the food and the beverages are really pricey. I would give it 5 stars, if it wasn't quite so expensive. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi there! thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience! We are glad to hear that you had a great time and hope you return soon!

We are at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a pre cruise hotel. Good location. Had room on the top floor of the tower with beautiful views. Spent a fun evening at the lobby bar. And enjoyed a wonderful breakfast buffet. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Definitely recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello! thank you for your kind words. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you are already planning your return! We are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited the Caribe Hilton on January 6, 2013. We opted to spend one additional day in Puerto Rico after our cruise on the Carnival Victory. This hotel was recommended to us by our TA and when I did a quick search for information it looked nice and we do have the Hilton Rewards card so I decided to book it. I have never stayed in Puerto Rico prior to this trip but would definitely visit again and stay at the Caribe Hilton again.

What I loved about the hotel is it's proximity to Old San Juan and the port. The grounds of the hotel are stunning and the Tropical Garden was a surprise. I enjoyed spending time in the garden and watching the turkey survey and protect all that was his. The parrots in the lobby were fun as well.

Our room was located in the main building and had a view of the lagoon. When I booked the hotel I had the option to upgrade at check-in if an upgrade was available. When we got to the hotel there was an upgrade available for $15 and we decided to take it. Our original room was on the 4th floor facing the Conrad building and our new room was on the 9th floor facing the lagoon. I believe either room would have been fine but was happy with the new room.

We had dinner at the Italian restaurant in the main building and it was quite good. I didn't book the room with the breakfast option so we did have to pay for the breakfast - continental buffet and there were plenty of options to choose from. It was relatively inexpensive for breakfast and I was happy to not have to pay for the full hot buffet.

The staff were wonderful during our short visit. The porters helped us store our luggage after checkout and until we were ready to leave for the airport. They helped us with a taxi to Old San Juan and explained to the taxi driver where we wanted to go.

Had a great time here and would love to visit again for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time. Hope you had a wonderful Cruise trip!

Many of our guests love to spend time watching our birds and the turkey! Is quite amazing.

We look forward to welcome you again.

at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

You would think it should be above average, but there were many little things that made not.
Guest check in, took forever due to the amount of people checking in. If there was any issue, only 1 manager could take care of it.
Housekeeping didnt speak english, which made it hard for them to understand that I didn't need service - even when the sign said Do Not Disturb! They knocked on my door and called me to see if I needed anything, but clearly I didnt when it said dnd.

The beach and outside facilities were awesome. The pool was remarkable. The pool restaurant was less than good.

The hallways were noisy and difficult to sleep past 7am.

Puerto Rico itself was fun and the town was unique - but the weather was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This Hilton was on a nice piece of property located close to Old Town. It was about a 20 min ride from the International Airport on Sunday. 5 minute ride from Isla Grande Airport. We stayed here after a trip to Vieques. The pools were nice with plenty of chairs, and the beach was clean and perfect for swimming with plenty of chairs also. The hotel beach was protected by a barrier so the waves were minimal. Towels were available pool side. This is a big resort with a lot of people. Much different experience than our visit to Vieques. The water was a little cool compared. Hammocks in the shade. Nice ocean front was rocky with the sound of waves crashing with beautiful deep blue / jade colored sea. Hotel had 3 restaurants and a Starbucks, plus connected to a Mortons Steakhouse. We liked the Pina Colada cafe for lunch and Starbucks for breakfast. The hotel granted us a late check out of 1:30pm which was great since our flight was at 4pm. Walk into Old Town for dinner less was about 30-40 minutes along the coast. Taxi to and from Old Town San Juan was less than 10 min and $14. Taxi to the airport was about $20.

The resort was clean and staff friendly enough. Bed was very comfy. Plan ahead room rate was very affordable in the tower. Only reason I did not give a 5 rating was the hotel room was showing it's age...some refreshing up is required (paint, stains, carpet).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi there! we are glad to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities!

We appreciate your feedback on the room condition. We hope you visit us again soon

At your service,
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

There are vending machines on every floor , however what good is a vending machine if its empty? Why is it that I had to go all the way down to the bar wait over 20 minutes to be served then pay $10.09 for 2 bottles of water that should have cost me $4 at the cending machine in the same hotel.. lunch pool side a burger, salad, and 2 cokes $45 thats pretty excessive by any standard. Aside from thier ridiculous food and beverage prices this hotel is very nice the rooms beach and pool all were lovely. Its also very close to old san juan, Condado, and the airport. The room was very well cared for every day as were we. Stay at the Caribe Hilton but eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry about the situation with the vending Machine. Rest assured that we will follow up on that.

I understand the food and beverages prices was of concern, we feel our prices are very competitive compared to other resorts of our level in the San Juan area, yet appreciate your feedback. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.