We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some great, some not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Some great, some not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My rating would be much higher, except for a few things. The view, the beach and the pool are excellent. The staff was also very friendly and responsive. Where we had some issues was with reservations and checkin. I booked a couple of months in advance on the Hilton Honors website. At the time I was given the AAA rate for an ocean view room. On the day of our check in, the published rate for our room was $50.00 less per day with a package that also included free breakfast, which was approximately another $50.00 for two per day value. The front desk staff would not give us the new rate, although it was published on their own website. They did concede and gave us a small break on the price and breakfast. Food prices are very high in all of the onsite restaurants. Our room had a great view of the Atlantic Ocean. The one thing that made the experience less than what it could have been was finding a cockroach challenging me for the hallway leading to the bathroom during the night. I am not sure if this cockroach was large by Puerto Rican standards, but it was about 2 inches long and 3/4 inch wide. Fortunately it was brazen enough not to be afraid of me, so I was able to kill it with a shoe. In the morning it had been moved about 4 inches from where I had killed it. I don't want to think how that happened. Other than what I mentioned it is very nice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your unfortunate experience with cleanliness at our hotel. We are sorry for all the inconveniences you had during check in and your overall stay.

We appreciate your feedback as this is the way we knoe where we need to work harder to ensure our guests a total satisfaction.
I apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with my whole team to ensure our standards of cleanliness, comfort and overall service are consistently met.

at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,004
    1,358
    626
    357
    203
See reviews for
816
1173
112
567
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Ok, After reading most of these, I was terrified! Our experience WAS GREAT, but we are seasoned travelers! 1st.. This is Puerto Rico, NOT Hawaii or Caymans. Don't expect it to be. 2nd...you get what u pay for. IF you cheaped out & booked with discount, last minute pricing, quit whinning! Why should you get what others pay triple for? 3rd..Most of you spent alot, so leave 2 singles on your bed for housekeeping each morning.They're not your slaves! (Extra towels, shampoo, never a problem) Our room was great, food was great, everyone was nice. How I see the rest of it.. We were in the MAIN building. Great location, pretty view. Loved hammocks, beach, tons of kid activities from "jumpy things," to games, free cotten candy, animal characters, docks to jump off. Snorkeling was pretty good IF you haven't been some where exceptional. We still enjoyed it alot. For young, inexperienced, it's great. Safe, sheltered. Recomend bringing your own stuff, go in a.m. when it's sunny, stay nearer to rocks B/C sandy bottoms aren't good for visibility. Don't forget to check our glowing eyes in water off dock @ night! The area is heavily patrolled by police, loved walk to Condado. Take the bus to OSJ, (.50) then free trams around. Forts were neat! Loved the Iguanas.Bacardi factory was fun. (Take the bus to OSJ, walk 2 pier, .50 for the ferry across, then $3. pp for cab ride to Bac) Cab all the way around is about $30.The Villas seem old. We switched B4 arrival & I was thrilled. Pool there & hot tub are bad. Garden has SOO much potential but was dirty from Really neal animals & creatures there. (It was high season, so maybe just a bad week?) Real problem was how far from everything else. We have older kids & I wouldn't have liked them walking by themselves, plus bay views & too far..(check out Google Earth) The Towers were farther back from the main building, so further walk. Wouldn't have been happy there, I don't think?? Last, Thank goodness we did not drive! $20 bucks from airport was well worth it! There are rental companies near if you want a day trip but thats it. Parking near OSJ was a mess & we felt safe on buses..BUT be heading back BEFORE dark..Walking then is NOT a good idea!! (IMO) The hotel did seem overpriced for some items, ($25 for 5 light beers in a bucket) when across street they're $12 for 6. If you're smart..you get how to avoid that! Plan ahead! Price wise, It's cheaper then alot of places..Very sadly, PR has been hit bad but economy, like everywhere else.Good people, had fun..Good luck to you!

Room Tip: Higher floors in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiencey, your feedback is important to us in order to better understand your need and where we can improve. We will share your comments with our Department Heads to address such issues.

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.
At your service,
Nelson Torres,Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is a mediocre resort and extremely expensive for a family of four. Upon check in we found our room filthy....floors not vacuumed, bathroom not swept, old food left in the refrigerator from the previous guest and the sink clogged. I asked for a new room but was told that none were available so they offered a credit for a free breakfast buffet. Upon check out they did not honor the breakfast credit.

The food at this hotel is like a cruise ship buffet and the prices are out of this world. The breakfast buffet for two adults and two kids was over $80....who pays this kind of money for breakfast? We had dinner at the little cafe/diner....over $150 for fish tacos, a pasta dish, two burgers and two beers.....and the service was nonexistent.

The facilities are were awful, the grounds poorly maintained and there is NOTHING within walking distance. You need to cross the bridge into Condado but the options are limited at that end of the strip. The cab fare to Condado or Old San Juan is $12-$15 one way and at that rate it makes more sense to rent a car....but who wants to risk driving after a few beers or glass of wine while on vacation? In Condado you can walk to everything.

We are frequent vacationers (2-3 per year) and we have traveled all over the Caribbean and I can say that anyone who gives this place high marks does not travel often and has low expectations. This was our second trip to San Juan and I would recommend staying somewhere in Condado.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view or upgrade to a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Your remarks are highly valued. Thank you for your feedback on your unfortunate experience with cleanliness at our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. I am very sorry about the lack of good service you felt while staying with us, again I assure you we will follow up on this.


There is a very precise structure in order to avoid this kind of inconvenience and it certainly did not work during your stay. Our purpose and commitment is to provide you with impeccable and consistent hospitality and service, therefore I will kindly ask for you to give us a new opportunity to make it right. Thank you and please feel free to contact me at any time, if i may be of assistance.
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new y
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel was over crowded and way over priced. There was trash everywhere, most especially on the beach and in the water. There was nothing relaxing about the hotel. This is an OK place for families with younger children, but for anyone without children, I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am rating this hotel as average because I was expecting a little more quality from it. The hotel common areas are wonderful and gorgeous, the room was outdated and average. We arrived at the hotel and you will need to pay for parking for each day of your stay. The parking is a good walking distance with no assistance from anyone, so you will need to haul your luggage to the chein-in area. No staff was helful during our stay, in fact it was mediocre service. The check-in was mediocre, no explanation of the place. We had to figure out where to go. When we got to our room, it was spacious but totally outdated. It felt like the 90s in the room. The TV was outdated, the decor was oudated, it was pretty mediocre for such a reputable hotel. The only good thing was the outdated double sinks in the bathroom.

We went to the common areas, which were crowded. No staff came out to greet us or offer us anything. We had to move our own chairs and kids were running all over the place as well as dirty pigeons. It was disgusting. We tried going to the beach area. Again no staff to assit us in getting a seating lounge area. It was very much a mediocre service. The self-parking it's a ripoff. It was an average stay for wahat we expected. Would not recommend for any wow factors.

Room Tip: An average hotel for a high cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your in depth review of your recent stay with us in Puerto Rico. We appreciate your candor as we are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experience. Your comments on our service will be addressed with additional training to remind all of our staff how important their interactions with guests are to their overall experience. Please accept our apology for our missteps during your stay and know that having shared your feedback with our team we are all working to ensure we provide the best hotel experience possible moving forward. If there are any additional comments or suggestions you would like to make, please feel free to contact me directly.

at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhidham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent Hilton property. I read they renovated it sometime back-quite true and the hotel rooms are nice and modern. We had requested sea-facing rooms a while back and Nelson Torres, the hotel manager was kind enough to heed our request. The pool is nice, the beach is very good, we didn't try the restaurants in the hotel. Perfect location. A 5 minute drive into OSJ, close to the highways. All in all a 4.5/5 experience. I am docking 0.5 because the exhaust in our bathroom was working intermittently or not at all. We requested a maintenance tech to come have a look, but I guess they must have forgotten. Anyway, we had an enjoyable vacation. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Greetings! We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience!

Hope you enjoyed our beach, pool, hammocks and the beautiful San Juan

Looking forward to welcome you back

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel was poor to average. I was disappointed with just about everything. The bedding was good, pool and beach were good, but general feel and facilities were awful. It was like going to spring break and the grounds were not well kept. Overall, I would never go back to this resort. Although the staff was friendly, that was not enough to overcome the tank top and tattoo feel of this place.

Room Tip: beg for a room close to the beach. If not, it could be a ten minute walk. do not stay in the villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Your remarks are highly valued. We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us. We are deeply sorry that you left us feeling this way. Our purpose and commitment is to provide you with impeccable and consistent hospitality and service, therefore I will kindly ask for you to give us a new opportunity to make it right. Thank you and please feel free to contact me at any time, if i may be of assistance.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.