We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in San Juan
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I loved the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

went there this novemebr 19-27.
awesome water 85 everyday. the ocean beach is ideal for chidren. No waves - they've put in a wavebreaker. the building is old but everything is functional. food is awefull in the hotel and pretty much everywhere else on the island. Puerto Rico is not about food, period. At the hotel I bought a mac-donalds type hamburger with fries. No lettuce, no tomato. 12 dollars + 83 cents tax. However, I'm not crazy about eating so I did not care that much. Pools and jacuzzi are WONDERFUL!!! Hammocks are nice, too. Come spring first thing I get a hammock at home. That's how much I liked it. On the island we only went to the old city. $12 one way by cab, we liked it a lot. In old San Juan eat at El Jibarito, the only good food place I know there.
Back to hotel. The tropical garden is heart melting! They've got peacocks, swans black and white, turkey, ducks, geese, chicken, and red carps in the pond. This is truly the garden of Eden.
People at the hotel are nice and cooperative. The day before the departure I was awaked by nasty sounds of a power-hammer at 9 o'clock in the morning. I called reception immediately. They apologized and offered $75 compensation. Not bad, huh? Later that day my brother (staying in a separate room) "remembered" that he was bothered by the noise, too. They gave him $75, too, no questions asked. I say WOW, don't you?
For small needs, go to Pueblo. It's a small supermarket, 10-15 mins away by walking. turn left at Pina Colada and walk along the river bank to save ~5 mins.
Also, near the hotel they have a boulevard type of street, with a huge playground. A nice perk, we loved it.
Oh, about the wi-fi. Expedia says it's extra so I did not take my laptop but when I got there I learnt that they were offering free wi-fi as a special at that time. Call them to see what the specials are before you go.
A movietheater is next to Pueblo. Half the movies are in English.
Ordering drinks at the pool is based on trust. You say your name and room and they add the charge. Yes, people abuse this system. But charges are dropped as soon as tell them that it was not you who ordered the drink(s).

Room Tip: ask for high floors, views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing theCaribe Hilton for your recent vacation!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. Hope that you find a very nice hammock for spring! If not hey! we will wait for your return to enjoy them again.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,016
    1,368
    635
    363
    205
See reviews for
840
1182
112
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

really want to go back there very nice location and very elegant hotel, my wedding was there and we really enjoyed the view and everything... The food was excellent and the breakfast buffet was yummy....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding! We are very glad that you enjoyed and that everything was great!

Thank you for sharing your experience hope to see you again soon

At your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When I first made this reservation I thought it would be a romantic and phenomenal vacation, I was booked at the “Caribe Hilton” the name HILTON says it all, Luxury, impeccable service, Romantic Ambiance, Restful and Tranquil environment and the Beauty of Puerto Rico. Let me start by crossing out four of five items, now that I think of it the Hilton has nothing to do with the beauty of Puerto Rico, so remove all the pluses and you're left with NOTHING!

First off, location of room, next to the construction site approx. 100ft away. On numerous occasions a fire alarm near the room was going off, it was ignored by employees but on two occasions we walked down seven floors to try and exit but the ground exit floor was flooded, I had to show the Manager the flooded area because he was told there was no water. Then he states to me "well this really isn't the exit." When I checked in no explanation of available hotel amenities and for additional charges. A final bill of over $200 was presented and reduced to $100 when I disputed it.

The negatives for this hotel far outweigh the positives. Add to all the facility problems, (fire alarms going off a flooded out emergency exit,) family guest lack the discipline to control or supervise their children who at 6:45am on Saturday and Sunday allow their children to scream, play, and attempt to open the adjoining room doors. Even though I called the hotel front desk all they did was transfer me to hotel security who said they would send someone up. The noise continued for about another hour and a half. We finally got up and left the room.

Despite the acknowledgement by hotel staff and management of all the problems the most dreaded and feared statement a Priceline customer can hear, “well we want to make this up to you but you did pay for this through Priceline so we can’t do anything.” In other words if you pay the regular room rates they MAYBE something could be done? When you purchase accommodations through Priceline you do this with the understanding that the savings you receive are not deducted from the service or accommodations.

The only reparation offered was free breakfast at the hotel restaurant. This is a $100 value was what the manager told me. Yes, it was a $50 charge each morning for a breakfast worth no more than $20. This hotel is by far the worst place I stayed in, I would have preferred the Hoboken Inn.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay like the Intercontinental San Juan 5-Star resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff.
Again, I apologize for the less than satisfying stay, and we want you to know that we will make the necessary changes. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

i traveled with my husband there. The place was overall nice. staffs were friendly. We first got a 2 full size but they switched us to a king per our request. I had my birthday dinner there and the waitress was really sweet as well as the front desk agent; they called our room and said happy birthday.
Some unexpected parts: We asked the room service for delivering food(only one order of wings). They charged the food, a $5 delivery fee, and 15% of the tips all mandatory. The time we checked out, there was about $26 per day fee. They stated that's the maintainess fee for the complimantry service and equpiments we were using. This maybe sounds ok because we actually used them. The worst ones was, after i got home, i found they put someone's room food delivery charge on me. After I contected them twice also deal with my credit card company, I got it back after about 15 days.
overall, if you dont care about spending money, its not bad at all. The valet helps you park your car; it closes to some atractions and good restruants intown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I thought this hotel was really lovely. It is right on the ocean. We had a very nice room with a great view. There was some construction going on, and our view had some roofs in it and that is why I didn't give the hotel an "excellent" rating. A drawback for me was the pool which only went to 4 feet deep so no diving and you can't really get any solid water aerobics in. On the other hand it was a beautiful pool with a swim up bar. The restaurants were very good - there are quite a few restaurants in the hotel. The best was the Lemon Grass cafe. The service was excellent. I wolud go back. Food is quite pricey in all of San Juan.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the ocean side so you don't have to look at roofs and construction - but even so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here prior to our cruise. Check in was quick, efficient. Our room had an ocean view with big comfy beds. Bathroom was lovely and clean. The grounds,pools and private beach were AMAZING -it is absolutely breathtaking. There were hammocks, lounge beds and chairs. Awesome ! We had a great time at the bar with the BEST bartenders ever ;VICTOR and MONICA rock!!! They gave us great tips on where to go eat as the food in the hotel is overpriced. We walked across the bridge and got a taste of the nightlife and great food in Old San Juan and returned to a round of karaoke at the bar with our group. Upon check out they held our bags at the taxi stand until our group was ready to leave. Excellent. I am pleased and would return.

Room Tip: We had ocean view room; the garden rooms are right in front of the garden sanctuary with the beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After calling multiple times to buy tickets for their New Years Event I talked with Deddy Torres. The most wonderful person. I work for this industry and I even offer her a job in United States. That kind of personality is what we need in every hotel. Remember that Puerto Rico does it better!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello there! Sorry that you had to call several times to get your tickets.
You will have an awesome time with us for NYE! Is the best

at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.