We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Cruises departing San Juan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Estoril, Portugal
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Cruises departing San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Caribe Hilton is a great Hotel in San Juan, not only for those who want to spend some days in Puerto Rico but also for those who want to stay one or two nights just before leaving or arriving from a cruise.
It has a little private beach and a great swimming pool but the best is the location. Not far from old San Juan (half an hour walking) and also close from the cruise harbour (by taxi, of course).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
thank you so much for sharing your comments!
We hope you enjoyed your stay here and your cruise as well!

See you soon
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    1,503
    708
    393
    223
See reviews for
915
1,306
125
655
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great experience. The staff was wonderful and always very helpful. Beautiful pool and beach to enjoy. Great location too. Rented a car and drove to Old San Juan and the casinos nearby. Also did the zip lining excursion and it was so amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! Hope you enjoyed that zipline tour is awesome!

Looking forward to your return

At your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Caribe. We had a king size suite with a great shower, was clean, prompt housekeeping everyday and plenty of TV channels to choose from on our flatscreen HD TV. The views were exceptional, the pools and beach very accessible and comfortable and the workout facility was top notch. My wife got a $150 massage at the spa and said it was very relaxing. We took the bus to old San Juan every day for 50 cents, as the bus stop is about 1 block from hotel, and the bus was always on time. Two small drawbacks : we couldn't adjust the thermostat in the room, so the temperature stayed at 72 during our 4 day stay, and the hotel isn't walking distance from any other non-caribe attractions or restaurants. Other than that, a wonderful property that we will stay at when we return!

Room Tip: rooms in the "garden" wing seem to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Caribe Hilton is now my favorite place to stay in San Juan. My visit in July was absolutely perfect. The desk staff, the waiters, the pool staff and housekeeping were wonderful and extremely accommodating. Our ocean view room was lovely. We were with 5 other guests and they all felt the same way. Our room was recently renovated and the bed was very comfortable. The location is easily walkable to the Condado casinos and for those who enjoy walking, walkable to Old San Juan along the scenic path by the ocean. You haf to bring a good book and nap in a hammock by the beach under a palm tree. The hotel restaurants were awesome. Try the fish tacos at Piña Colada, and the Chicharones de Pollo at the pool bar. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hello there! thank you for your kind comments and feedback!

I personally love those fish tacos as well and the chicharrones well, those are one of my favorites as well!

We hope that you enjoyed and look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
At your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel was very nice and we had a renovated room, but it was right underneath a room under construction. The jackhammering started about 9 am and lasted until 5 every weekday. When we went to the front desk the second morning to ask about this, the clerk who had assigned us the room acted like she had no idea about the construction, or the hours, or the noise..... which seems a bit unlikely. I think they assign guests that room with no notification hoping they won't notice or at least not complain. Since the hotel wasn't busy, I don't understand why they don't leave the room and those near it, vacant. Would have been nice if the management had at least mentioned the construction and possible noise in case we preferred a different room. That is my usual experience.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for renovated room NOT near the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Your remarks are highly valued. We apologize for the room placement and unquestionably understand your discomfort. There is a very precise structure in order to avoid this kind of inconvenience and it certainly did not work this specific time. Our purpose and commitment is to provide you with impeccable and consistent hospitality and service, therefore I will kindly ask for you to give us a new opportunity to make it right. Thank you and please feel free to contact me at any time, if i may be of assistance.
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Maria was the best and will take the time to make your trip one to remember! She is great at what she does and listens to understand exactly what you want! She made the trip one to remember! She has to be the best concierge in San Juan!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Wow! great comments. thank you for sharing this with us! We have the best team here in the Caribe Hilton always ready to give impeccable service to our guests!

see you soon
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

we got a great deal on flight going to SJ this Aug. knowing that it's the hurricane season, we took our chance anyway. We got there the day after Isaac 'passed', but the tropical storms lingered. which was fine, we stayed at the resort half of the time while we were there - the staff was amazing, the pool was great (yes we went and swam in the rain), and it was still a good place to be at.

The only thing about the hotel was the location - some of the posts here said it's within walking distance to OSJ, but that was hardly the case, we need to take the cab every time we go to SJU, about 12-15 bucks each way so that wasn't too bad. Also, the breakfast you get with hilton gold/diamond was minimal, so we did the upgrade (+ten bucks) to the 'better' breakfast, or you can choose to get a drip coffee and pastry.

Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.