We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I dont write reviews, but this was worth it. This place has a lot going for it, close to Old San Juan. Great location. Staff was pretty good too. I especially loved the hammock area. Rooms were great, but try to get an ocean view with balcony seating, very cool. I was really impressed. Loved it, and I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments! Our hammocks area is the favorite specially for guests that love to read outdoors!

We are very happy to hear that you had a great time. We are here at your service
hope to see you again soon
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,012
    1,371
    636
    361
    206
See reviews for
831
1181
112
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

My fiancee and I just returned from a 6-day stay at Caribe Hilton. After reading the reviews we were hesitant to stay here but we like to form our own opinions, and i was intrigued by the private beach.
The cab from the hotel was $21 plus $1 for each bag we had. We aslo made a stop at walgreens and a gas station, getting things we had forgotten. The cab driver was very nice and helpful.
A couple days before we left i called and requested a renovated room, as i read a couple reviews who said they did the same. The hotel clerk was very helpful and noted it under our reservation.
We were 2nd in line when we got to the lobby and waited no more than 10 minutes to be called next. The mosquitos were out and seemed to be only biting at my ankles so from that day on i made sure to have bugspray on before i left the room. We got a renovated room just like requested with an ocean view which was breathtaking even though it was on the side of the hotel. Which i preferred anyway because we could see into the city and also down the coastline for miles.
The room was very clean and nice. And the bed, the most comfortable. We loved just wrapping up in the blanket and relaxing.
The concierge was most helpful in helping us to find restaurants outside the resort. In Old San Juan there was a restaurant we fell in love with called Punto de vista or something similar. Delicious food and great mojitos. A bus ride is 75cents and a cab ride is anywhere from $10-12. We did everything from scooters to paddleboarding and kayaking, all at a good price. We also walked over the bridge where you find the water activities, a dennys, unos, burger king and a couple other familiar places.
We ate at the hotel a couple times. We were aware that it was pretty overpriced so we werent caught off guard with the steep prices. There's happy hour in the main lobby with good pina coladas and mojitos which we went to a couple nights. The breakfast buffet for $25 a person was kind of disappointing. Nothing special. We went to Mortons which was very expensive but we went there knowing that much, as it was his birthday and a celebration. They made it very nice with a personalized menu and a picture of us.
The beach area was beautiful and never crowded. There were plenty of hammocks chairs and any area for lounging. There was also a swimup bar.
There's so much more to write about but All in all we were very happy with the hotel and location. I deffinately plan on returning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Wow! thank you for your kind comments!
we are so happy that you and your fiance had such a great vacation time with us.

You certainly enjoyed your visit to Puerto Rico and the Caribe Hilton and that fills us with joy.

We look forward to your return soon.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I've stayed at this property routinely during the past 30 years and it hurts to have to say it has really diminished in all aspects of good hospitality service. In fact, I've finally decided to stop staying here, as have most of my colleagues. I'm a long time Hilton Diamond member, but that doesn't get you any special consideration at this property. The rooms are damp, musty and worn. Elevators are erractic in their operation. Hilton Honors lounges were closed several years ago and have not reopened. Check-in can be a nightmare....very understaffed front desk a peak times. Hot water availability can be a real problem in the Tower building. HVAC systems are not consistently operable in the guest rooms. Hilton Honors complimentary breakfast is second rate & the "waitstaff" has an attitude of "its good enough". They want to charge you extra for scrambled eggs! The clientele is also a different level of guest....I guess they've lowered room rates so low that it is reflected in the type of guests they're attracting. The fitness center is the shining star of this property. It is pleasant, well run by friendly staff and has a great ocean view. Morton's is great, but very pricey. This property does have the nicest grounds of all the SJ hotels, but they don't overcome the hotels operating shortcomings. This place needs a major overhaul of both facilities and management.

Room Tip: If you have a room prefernce, don't request it because this hotel certainly will not be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered while in our property. We take appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Brand and would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
It is through feedback such as yours that we evaluate our service and processes and continually improve upon them. When we fail to meet the expectations of one of our guests, it causes great concern.

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I went on a last minute trip to Puerto Rico and bid on Priceline.com on a 4 star hotel. Not once did I expect such an AMAZING Resort. I must say ... I did NOT want to leave! It was an amazing stay! Granted, the hotel restaurants were a bit pricey, but what can you expect from a resort?
My favorite was the private beach, we spent majority of our stay trying to figure out if we wanted to be in the pool or the beach. The room was immaculate, the view was impeccable, the staff was nothing but friendly. The sunburn, not so much excitement behind that but what can we expect from the Caribbean sun? On the last night we decided to relax on the hammock & to my surprise, was awoken 2 hours later by rain drops on our faces! Needless to say, this hotel was amazing!

Thank you Caribe Hilton !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hello there! thank you so much for your comments and feedback. We are very glad that you and your boyfriend had such a great time. Our hammocks are the best so relaxing.

We hope to see you guys again soon!

At your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot. I was concerned about the hotel after reviewing the other reviews. I was really happy and surprised at the hotel. I am Hilton Honors gold and was upgraded to a beautiful corner garden suite (which has a slight ocean view). It was spacious and comfortable. The resort was very pretty and the staff was friendly. The drinks at the outside beach bar are really expensive. The food was good and we loved our stay. We will be back!!!!!! Thanks Nelson for making sure the trip was awesome...

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are very happy to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us! It is our goal that each and everyone of our guests leaves 100% happy and satisfied.

We hope to see you again soon

At your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just stayed at the Caribe Hilton for 6 nights from 08/28 to 09/03 with our 9 years old daughter. It was our fifth trip to Puerto Rico and third time staying at the Caribe Hilton in 10 years. Needless to say, the hotel, while still a 3 star hotel with fantastic beaches and some of the best snorkeling in the Caribbean, is starting to dramatically fail in terms of what you would normally expect from a "4 star" Hilton hotel.

The ride from airport to the hotel is about 20 minutes and $24. We arrived before check in time but George, a very nice guy at the front desk didn't keep us waiting. We got a room in the tower building on the 8th floor. Everything in the room was so worn out and cramped. You couldn't even open the safe without the door banging into the bed. You would think that Paris Hilton spent all the money on a shopping spree for the renovations that this hotel so desperately needs. The view that we had was not an ocean view and after looking at it, we started to get very depressed. We went back to front desk and an angel Angel helped us to upgrade for an additional $20 a day to a much better room in the Hilton "Villas" The Caribe Hilton has a main building, the Tower and the Villas which is actually a multiple storied building with better rooms and is only 5 years old unlike the other older buildings. This room was a much needed improvement with a vastly superior view of the Condado Lagoon.

Accommodations:

Positive

The room was big enough, has a balcony with a view of the Condado Lagoon and the bridge. The beds are very comfortable, LG flat screen TV, safe, Internet access for $8 per 24 hours, a/c worked perfectly and the bathroom is a good size too. There was a mini kitchen counter with spacious cabinets, a decent size refrigerator and huge microwave. There is also a connecting door to the next door room which is convenient for large families.

Negative

No bathrobes, Q-tips, cotton balls, shoe polish, sewing kit or tea bags in the room. There is a coffee maker in the room but you can only brew coffee from custom made small bags which are provided

Also, the Hilton is cheap with toiletries. They leave you only one bar of soap for the whole family and if you don't run after the maid for a new one they keep the same bar for the rest of your stay. There are two pieces of machinery behind the kitchen cabinets which could be a potential danger if you stay with little kids because its not locked. There is an extra locked refrigerator in the closet which consumes a good chunk of space. Minibar? But no price list.

Food

Negative

All the restaurants are so overpriced that even we new Yorkers can get offended. The same with room service. The breakfast buffet is a total disaster and the menu has only cereal, oatmeal, bagels, scrambled eggs (add $5 if you want eggs cooked a different style), muffins and danishes. There are no cold cuts, no cheeses, no smoked salmon, etc. For a whopping $25 for adult and $11 for a child. We ended up with $70 total with tips. Do they add gold powder in the oatmeal? No wonder people go to eat somewhere else.

Positive

God bless Starbucks as there is one conveniently located in the lobby. They have four types of hot sandwiches, baking goods, oatmeal, yogurts and of course coffees. So we paid twice less for our breakfast and felt much more filled and happy. Another breakfast option is the Subway restaurant right on the corner outside of the Hilton. They serve all the breakfast items you would expect. For lunch and dinner a couple of new places next to Subway just opened. One is "Ikura" with Chinese and Sushi. Another one is "Nativa Sauce" with local cuisine. Both places are reasonable in terms of prices and have very fresh and tasty food. the service was kind of slow but this is common for all the Caribbean islands . For more options we recommend Old San Juan or walking over the bridge into Condado. Old San Juan is a small and beautiful town with tons of restaurants so you can walk around and find a place that you feel like having dinner in. It's worth to mention Barrachina Restaurant in Old San Juan to add some spice to your trip. They have a Flamenco show on Fridays and Saturdays. Better make a reservation ahead of time to get a better table. We chose this place over the trendy "Dragonfly" because food and prices are better. The show is free.
The nearest Walgreens (24 hour service) is a 25-30 min walk the opposite way to old San Juan (over the Condado Bridge on Ashford Avenue). There are also a couple small convenience and souvenir stores just outside of the Hilton and a car rental also.

Amenities

Positive

There is a "mini zoo" behind the main building with two small ponds with a lot of fish, peacocks, turkey, swans, ducks, geese, chickens, turtles, lizards and iguanas. A lot of fun for children! There is also a small playground for kids , basketball ring and volleyball court. A major plus for the Hilton is it has one of the only private beaches on this part of island and it has a man made reef which protects the beach from the rough Atlantic waves and "unwanted ocean creatures" The water by the beach line is very shallow and is ideal for little kids. For older children and adults the reef is a PERFECT snorkeling adventure. So many different kinds of fish and marine life. You can also rent snorkeling and SCUBA diving gear on the beach. The beach and pool are right next to each other AND the hotel which is very convenient.

Negative

People are smoking on a beach even if they are hiding and as a result it smells and there are a LOT of cigarette butts in the sand.

We didn't do any field trips except to Old San Juan because we've been to Puerto Rico so many times but if you are in the mood to explore the island then plan a
trip to the Rain Forest; it is interesting and beautiful but the road to get there is kind of bumpy so keep the Dramamine handy!

Most of the guests are families, a lot of them with small children and couples.


Puerto Rico is a beautiful place and the people are very nice. You fall in love with it under the magic spell of the island almost immediately. Hope you enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Caribe Hilton during your recent visit to Puerto Rico.

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and overall experience while staying at our property. I would like to apologize to you for any inconvenience we caused to you during your visit. We take your feedback very serious and will share them with our team members and Management. Feedback like yours help us to evaluate ourselves and see the areas of improvement.

Again, thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Overall we had a really nice time at this hotel. The staff was friendly and the room was spacious. We stayed in the main building and had a nice ocean view. The pool was nice.

The food was very expensive. We had lunch one day and spent $95. Luckily there is a Subway across the street so that helped. So if you are on a budget make sure you eat outside of the hotel.

This hotel is not on the main Condado strip (where you have access to restaurants and entertainment). That was a bummer. It also didn't have much for the kids to do. We stayed for 7 days and after the first few days the kids got tired of the pool and beach. They have a small kids park but the kids got bored of it pretty quickly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. Appreciate your feedback on entertainment for kids. Rest assure we will share this with our team.
We hope to see you back in the near future.
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.