We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort - your oyster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Resort - your oyster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Don't rent a car, you could stay entirely within the resort without a need to leave. The bus is 50 cents (5 mins walk away) to old San Juan or across the street to other destinations. You can take the bus across the street to the giant mall but can take 1 hour total trip time between 2 buses. Rent a car for 1 day at a time if needed for other parts of the island.

Hotel and everything within the resort is beautiful and clean. There are alot of pools and places to be relax day or night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,005
    1,358
    626
    358
    204
See reviews for
816
1173
112
570
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was my 1st Trip to PR so I stayed here based upon price and reviews. But I don't know that I would stay again.
Upon arrival, it was raining, and there are no restaurants in the area, so we had no choice but to eat at the over priced hotel restaurants, where food was not very good.
We walked off the grounds of the hotel, but the only thing really close are two small marts, and about a mile away there is a Sizzler and Denny's.

The grounds of the hotel we nice, the private beach was small, and a bit rocky but it was nice nonetheless. The pools were nice, but close at 9pm (which seemed a bit early).
The standard room was fairly modern, with a balcony -- pretty typical layout, but very clean.
The food was overpriced, and not very good.The cocktails were all about $12 each, but pretty good, at the hotel bars.
Overall the hotel was on the higher end of Average.
Concierge was extremely friendly, and helpful, so that was a plus!

The hotel is somewhat isolated from the major attractions and cab fare adds up quickly. Cab to Plaza Las Americas was $32 round trip. Cab from airport was $44 roundtrip, cab to Isla Verde $44 round trip. cab to Old san juan $32 round trip. Cab one mile away to sizzler $24 round trip (plus tips for each way of these rides).
So cab fare adds up quickly. Which is another reason, I may choose a better hotel location next time. (you can rent a car, but the locals drive veryyy crazy, beware!)

The hotel overall was not a bad place to stay, and there are some pretty enjoyable amenities (i.e, swim up bar, Morton's Steak house on location, spa/ fitness center, daily activities, starbucks in lobby, excellent concierge).
BUT the location was not ideal for us, and the cab costs get everywhere are really a pain (there is a bus, but concierge says its no good on weekends, and to get many places you will have a long wait, or have to catch 2 busses.)
There was a rental car location on site but the representative said they had no cars!

Overall I will probably not stay here again. I was not greatly disappointed by grounds, more so by location. I will move to isla verde on next visit. But the Caribe Hilton is a pretty cool hotel, no major complaints. Pretty standard, with overpriced hotel restaurants and stores, but not a bad place at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are 2 miles from Old San Juan and a mile from Condado, we do try to offer an oasis of calm in a busy city. There is always room for improvement and that is why we love feedback! Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in San Juan at the Caribe Hilton. It was the first trip there for both of us and we can't wait to go back. The staff at the hotel was excellent,, especially Eric Ponce, the Head Concierge. Visiting his desk each morning to get ideas on where to go or to check in for excursions he had set up for us was a highlight. The hotel has its own beachfront area and several pools, so it never felt crowded, even though we wound up being there during a holiday. The hotel is within a short drive of Old San Juan, so visiting Spanish forts or other historic sites was easy. For our next trip to the island, the Caribe Hilton is at the top of the list of places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Great!! We love to hear this!! This is our goal making every guest feel like home. We will let the Concierge Management know what good service Eric is providing! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The overall experience was decent. Staff was friendly and helpful, especially the conceirge team. The biggest problem to us was the charges. A breakfast buffet was close to 60 bucks for two and did not include much, just very standard omelette, bacon, some muffins and sweet treats, minimal choices of fruit and juices. We paid at the table and tipped the waiter and thought that was it (i mean what else there is to it anyway?!) but noooo when checking out 3 days later a charge of 17 bucks was included in the final checkout bill and to our surprise it was "the orange juice that you had at the breakfast buffet plus tip" said the receptionist. I insisted that we already tipped at the table and the guy was "kind" enough to take $2 off of our bill. We also tried Pina Colada Club right in the hotel and were very disappointed. $20 for a tasteless fish taco that had 3 pieces of fish the size of my finger. We did venture off to Old San Juan and Condado strip (where all the other hotels and good restaurants are) and have a much better luck with the food at much better price

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was skeptical of staying here after reading past poor reviews! However, I must say I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton and I couldn't really find anything worth complaining about! MOST IMPORTANTLY, MY ROOM WAS MODERN AND CLEAN. The lobby and pool area is exceptionally beautiful! The staff appeared friendly and attentive. We arrived early and was allowed to enjoy the activities until our room was ready, which was ready by 4pm, as stated in hotel policy.
The prices are a bit steep, but as expected when traveling. However, the resort hosted daily specials on food and liquor, and there are a few less cheaper stores directly across the street from the resort and also within a 10min walk. Oh, avoid Denny's...service and food sucked!
There were about 20 of us spaced throughout the resort and it appeared comfort levels depended on the exact location of the room. For example, I stayed in the new main building, but as I walked to visit others, I did notice "wet" odored hallways. However, their room appeared clean and smell-free!
One thing went wrong....a pipe busted in my cousin's (the bride & groom) room and they had to quickly evacuate. However, the Hilton went overboard to appease them by providing them with an abundance of comps and a room upgrade to Governor's Suite.
Overall, I will stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Request Renovated Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for the vote of trust! This is why we work hard to make sure we make everybody feel at home! Thank you for your review we reaaly appreciated! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great Private Beach made this place a No-Brainer to return. The gym, starbucks, restaurants ( Pricey), Friendly Staff, Instant Taxi Service or a Bus stop a short walk, Tourism Department, Rent a Car Facility, and Location, really all excelled.

Our favorite destination was Old San Juan to site see and for the Great Restaurants.

Favorite Restaurants in Order : El Jiberito on Sol street, Barachino, Puerto Rico Cafe, La Princessa. The Food and Deserts at all these places was awesome.

Room Tip: select the tower for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are very happy to hear that you had a great time! Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon!
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is used for locals as a country club leaving very little room for travelers. My husband and son were at the pool bar and watched a man openly urninate in the pool and no one did anything. He should have immediately been kicked out. Valet people couldn't understand us (didn't speak English). The food in the Italian restaurant was average at best and extremely overpriced. We were sat and then forgotten even though we were right in the path of everyone. We finally had to say something to the manager and then of course they fell all over us. The problem is this is probably one of the nicest hotels on the island. We stayed for 2 nights and had 2 rooms. Even though we asked for connecting rooms, we were not given them and our children were across the hall and down a few rooms. They are older, so not a huge deal but not ideal either. The Starbucks was nice. Not a huge selection for sandwiches but nice to grab a cup of coffee and a snack. We tried to rent a car at the Hertz rental on property but they were sold out so plan ahead. They were not helpful at all, we ended up renting from the airport.

Room Tip: Like the rest of the travelers have said, ask for a room in the main tower. They are freshly renova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your experience while you visited us recently. Please accept our apologies. We are very sorry that you had to experience this during your stay. Feedback like yours help us to take corrective actions to prevent future guest from experiencing what you did.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us the opportunity of serve you in the near future.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.