We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting the Record Straight about Caribe Hilton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Setting the Record Straight about Caribe Hilton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I know that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but I do not see what all the fuss is about?
After just coming back from a 6 night stay, I am here to tell you that the Caribe Hilton is alive and well! I'm sorry for those of you who had bad experiences here, because I saw nothing of the sort. First of all, you guys need not to complain about the front desk check-in. My family and I checked in within 5 minutes. Front desk at any hotel is a catch-all for complaints and problems and you probably have no idea what those employees have to put up with--give them a break, please. If check-in is long or the rooms are not ready yet, it is not their fault. We got in a 12 noon and I knew the room was not going to ready so we happily went to the beach until 5:00.

Every employee we encountered was friendly, professional and helpful. Thanks to the bellman who first greeted us with "Good morning and welcome to Caribe Hilton", Arlene, who got our drinks on the beach, housekeeping, front desk, concierge, security (who smiled and gave me a thumbs up when I finally figured out how to unlock the tower door) and everyone else in between. You guys made a great first impression!

Let's talk about Starbucks...Once again, I don't see why others have complained. I knew ahead of time that the other restaurants were costly, so we had breakfast every morning at Starbucks. There was always at least 4-6 employees working and the longest we ever had to wait was maybe 7 minutes...not bad at all. Another note about the hotel's restaurants, you can go on the Hilton's website and preview most of the menus so you are better prepared about where you want to eat and whether it is in your budget. Don't get caught off guard.

The hotel itself is beautiful and very modern looking with a panaromic view of the pools and the ocean. The front desk and lobby actually open up to the main driveway with Starbucks situated across on the other side. The pools and the private beach have to be the best in Puerto Rico with plenty of chairs and towels to use. Toys, rafts, etc are free to use until 11:00 am. While I'm thinking about it, for those of you who complained about the 17% resort fee that the hotel charges, you clearly did not do your homework! I found out about the fee prior to our trip and it ended up being a measly $16/day---well worth it for all the amnenties and private beach! Like I said before, you can't ask for anything better than this hotel. The hotel is a big attraction for families, so there are a lot of kids around (as long as you don't mind). We also saw a lot of convention people there, who were equally enjoying themselves.

I called the hotel a week before we got there are requested one of the renovated rooms. To my delight we were set up in the Hilton Honors tower on the 12th floor in a corner room overlooking the ocean, tennis courts and old hotel that closed a year ago (sorry, forgot the name). The beds and pillows are plush and feel soooo good. The entrance to the Hilton Honors is beautiful with marble and granite, a winding staircase across from the elevators, The Pina Colada club to the right and beautiful white orchids adorning the middle and side tables. We felt and were treated like VIP's.

Despite what most people say, it is a good location. Across the side street from the Hilton Honors tower is a Subway (slow service) and around the corner to the left is a mini-mart (bottle waters only $1) and the bus stop. Busses 21 or M3 will take you straight to the bus terminal in Old San Juan next to the marinas. Kids take the bus for free and adults pay only $.75 each way. We took them even at night and they are totally safe.

I have worked in 4 and 5 star hotels in Las Vegas for the past 11 years and know what to expect and what to look for in guest service standards. Caribe Hilton met all of our expectations and I think it is first class! If you are reading this review and are thinking about a trip to Puerto Rico, I strongly urge you to give this hotel a chance. Most importantly, do your research and homework before you go. I loved this hotel and miss Puerto Rico already! A note to Mr. Nelson Torres: Thank you for your hospitality and a beautiful property. We will be back to stay at the Caribe Hilton.

Room Tip: Do your homework and research ahead of time. If you have any questions, call the hotel before you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
What a pleasure to hear that you had a great time with your family! We are very happy to hear that you got to enjoy not only our beautiful hotel but our surroundings. We are always here at your service and we invite you to let us know when you are coming back!

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you!

See you soon
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,012
    1,371
    636
    361
    206
See reviews for
831
1181
112
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Caribe Hilton is a mix of hotel and resort. It is pricey after they add tax and gratuity to every single transaction. Room service for a little breakfast begins at twelve bucks easily turns into about $25.
My family liked the room but felt the hallways needed major updating. The beach was nice and there was the option of two pools safer than the ocean waves. The staff was very nice and spoke both Spanish and English. The cab ride was always 12$ to Old San Juan. That begins to add up after a while and I felt like I was being nickel and dimed for every little thing. It was a good trip and if money is a hang up then you need not go. Just be prepared to spend a lot of it.

Room Tip: The rooms that have the ocean view are for more desirable than the balcony but be prepared to pay fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. Your feedback is very important for all of us. Our purpose and commitment is to provide you with impeccable and consistent hospitality and service.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I just returned from 5 days at the Caribe Hilton. The public areas at this property are beautiful and make visiting this location worth it. The rooms, hallways, front desk system, parking, restaurants, will make you think twice however. When we arrived, I was pleasantly surprised to see how nice the open air lobby was along with the pool area. I then waited in line at the front desk for about 30 minutes to check in and I was only 4 people back. People kept walking up to the front desk clerks to ask questions and the front desk staff would help them, knowing there was a line growing to check in, which made everyone have to wait. The front desk person made an error with our reservation apparently, which required us to move on the second day. Not sure how, but they double booked our room for our 2nd through 4th nights? Anyhow, the sink backed up in the first room and when we were moving, there was a leak in the bathroom ceiling, so it all worked out for the best, as we were moved to the Hilton Honors tower which was very nice. The restaurants are very expensive for what you get. Higher prices at resorts should be expected, but these are out of control. We ate in Old San Juan each day as a result, which turned out to be a really good thing as there are some excellent restaurants there. The shops and Starbucks on property were very nice with good people working them. The Hilton employees were friendly enough, but they could use some instruction with giving people what they want without them having to ask for it; for example, the wifi codes in the lobby, instructions about parking, pool hours etc... all have to be figured out on your own. All of this being said, the property is laid out very nicely and I will probably return because of its location and the grounds themselves. The pool, beach area, lobby are so nice and the central location make all the other things seem tolerable. I would sum up things this way if you are considering this hotel; if you are ok with average, clean rooms, do not need to be tended to closely, but are going to San Juan for the beach, pools and want to be close to Old San Juan, then you will be very happy. If you want Ritz Carlton, or Four Seasons type of service and rooms, don't stay here, go to the Ritz or Four Seasons....

Room Tip: Ask for the Hilton Honors tower and a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you here in the Caribe Hilton during your recent visit to beautiful Puerto Rico!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We appreciate your feedback and will share with our Management, We hope to see you back in the near future.
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

One expects Hilton Hotels to provide good accommodation and this one was no exception.

I attended a convention there and enjoyed the time enormously. Several areas to dine either formally, less formally or al fresco. There is a Morton's Steak Restaurant there that was superb but make sure you are REALLY hungry if you go there because the steaks are huge ! They are also juicy, tender and tasty

Decent beach, loads of hammocks for people to use and a good pool bar. My wife was happy to sit at the pool and on the beach while I was at lectures.

Convention facilities wsere good and location excellent for a quick trip into the old city and not too far from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We are very happy to hear you had a great time!
We hope you come back soon!
At your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The resort grounds are well kept. I had three different rooms (nothing the hotel was responsible for) but all the rooms were newly modeled: flat screen TV, small frig, thick/new linen, great vanity space in bathrooms and even double sinks in one room. Our carpet needed vacuuming which they and took care of right away. No wifi in the room which was a bit inconvenient for our family. The resort layout is nice, which allows for the guest to spread out. The beach was clean and the reef was great! The hammock area was nestled among palm trees, nice placement. I tried two restaurants, the fancy bar and grill (can't remember the name), but it was good, but overpriced. The Italian restaurant (again, can't remember the name) was a bit bland but still overpriced. Had two Long Island ice teas, $26 w/o tip... Starbucks is on site, nice amenity for coffee lovers. The paddle boats were like $45/hr, a bit much for a paddle boat. The swimming pool was a little murky and needed cleaning in the corners by the filters (lots of sun tan/block lotion floating on top). The resort is very close to Old San Juan, Condado Ave, and a great burger place, El Hamburger, which made the location ideal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments here. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Your feedback is important for us at the Caribe Hilton. this help us in the right track to know the areas where we can improve.

Again thank you and it will be a pleasure to serve you again soon
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife has stayed at the Caribe' many times during the past ten years...I have over 20 visits. The Good:...
The property is outstanding...the only private beach in PR... You can snorkel here [average] & the pool & grounds are well maintained. The workers are friendly & efficient. The Gym is well equipped. The food in all the restaurants is good & priced reasonably for San Juan [Not cheap] For a Hotel built in the 1940's it is remarkably maintained.
If you are bothered by noise, pick your room carefully. Their is a small airport nearby that has flights starting around 6 am....[more noticeable from the Hilton Honors Tower] If you are booked in the Main Hotel on the poolside, you may have a party going on down by the pool with music in the evening. . Self parking is about $15 per night.
The hotel is about 20 minutes from the Airport & less to Old San Juan...[Definitely worth a visit.]
Years ago they had a private Hilton Honors Mangers reception. That gave way to a room in the main tower that provided breakfast, a Computer terminal & soft drinks...At HH they had reasonably priced drinks..
That stopped several years ago....I can see why, with people loading their bags with sodas, food, etc..
A practice that continues today where the only benefit left is a Continental breakfast...Cereal, fruit & pastries. All quite good, but barely above Hampton Inn standards...The staff is excellent. For $6.00 you can get scrambled eggs, & a small selections of meats...Cruise people stay at the Caribe, & that may be part of the "hoarding problem". In another room, they have a Breakfast Buffet that you could previously pay $12, or so with your Hilton Honors & have a nice buffet...That stopped this year...Now you have to pay $3 per glass of champagne, $4 for a mimosa, $5 for Smoked Salmon, & Serrano ham w/ fruit..
At check in, you will be lucky if you receive your Hilton Honors Amenity: dry pretzels, or if you're lucky chcolate.
Seldom will your water be in the room....They have Wifi in the Lobby...
Good Hotel, but don't count on perquisites, even if you are Diamond status.

Room Tip: If you have status ask for a room on the 15th floor or above....Corner Rooms are --65. Some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed our first three nights at the Caribe and other than the food and drink prices we were extremely happy. The room was very spacious, had a great view (19th floor) of the ocean, and the bathroom was enormous (giant shower with sitting area). The staff was extremely nice and always willing to help. The pools were great (although they should not allow children at the pool bar area (they kick and splash putting water in your drinks). The beach area is FANTASTIC!! I suggest buying a mask and snorkel before you get there as they are almost 30 dollars here (speedo but cheaply made). There is plenty to see and a large area to swim that is protected with a rock wall all the way around. We had a blast and will be coming back again. They have a great tourism department that offers most of the tours cheaper than the places we found online. The drinks and food were the only issue, drinks ranged from 8 to 15 dollars and food for 2 ranged anywhere from $40 to over $100 depending on where you ate. there are several shops located just out front but all are way over priced. There is a fantastic Asian restaurant located around the corner next to subway that has great food and fantastic service (pricing isn't bad either). All in all a great family spot with plenty to do.

Room Tip: If you have a car be sure to travel a little ways away from the hotel area to make your purchases. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Awesome! We certainly look forward to welcome you back.
We appreciate your feedback on food and beverage prices. Rest assured this will be shared with our Management. Your remarks are highly valued.

at your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.