We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Panama City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Caribe Hilton in San Juan, Puerto Rico has beautiful swimming pools with a swim-up bar. Nice sandy beach. Loved laying in the hammocks tied between the palm trees. Good location. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,003
    1,358
    625
    357
    203
See reviews for
816
1172
111
567
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Caribe Hilton for four nights. When you arrive you will be in awe with the lobby. It is absolutely beautiful. As you walk through the lobby and to the outdoor space you will find a beautiful landscape full of great seating, bars, pool, hot tub, beds, and hammocks. The view of the ocean and the Condado area is breathtaking. The grounds have a pond with swans, I saw an iguana, peacocks, wild turkeys, and some crabs on the ocean wall. In comparison to the other hotels in San Juan, I feel that the Caribe has the best outdoor amenities.

Once you enter into your hotel room all that luxurious ambience takes a quick turn left. WAY LEFT!! We stayed in the Villas which are part of the "old" section of the hotel. Although the room appeared to be clean our initial room reeked of urine. We called the front desk and immediately the housekeeping manager came to inspect the room and she agreed that the smell was no bueno! As a result we were moved next door to a first floor villa which also had a "funk" to it. Exhausted from a six hour flight, my husband and I said forget it because we did not plan on spending that much time in the room anyway. The room was simply decorated, the bed was comfortable, and the french doors led to a quaint patio with a spectacular view of the water. All of that said I must elaborate on the smell of the room. I believe that since the hotel is so close to the water all of the dampness creates a mildew type smell. So if you are a person who can't tolerate smells I would not recommend the Caribe.

As for the onsite amenities, this place is super expensive!! $20 for a burger, $20 for a quesadilla, and $10 for drinks, oh and did I mention $5 for a bottle of water. The bad part is the hotel doesn't accept cash so you have to charge everything to the room. At check-in when they placed the $300 hold on my credit card I was thinking that I would not be anywhere close to that in hotel incidentals. Oh how wrong I was, upon check-out $277 in expenses! Not to mention the $20 cab rides into Old San Juan. One day my husband and I decided to hike instead of pay of the money. It is a good 2.5 mile walk. At first I was like we are not in Kansas anymore then we stumbled upon the capitol building. We walked inside and were given a tour. This building was amazing, italian marble throughout and we learned about the political history of the island. We proceeded up the street and made it to the first fort. Honestly you need to only pay for one fort instead of the two. I mean I found that a fort is a fort. Once we exited the fort you are right in Old San Juan. I highly recommend eating at Cafe Puerto Rico. The food was great! We also ate at El Jabirito in OSJ and Waiters in Condado.

With all that said, if you are looking to stay at a resort with a beautiful outdoor space this is the place however if you like luxurious rooms, go to the Ritz.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while in our property and apologize for any inconvenience. I remember to attend to your call when you arrived and mentioned the room had a bad smell. In deed our HSKP supervisor went to your room and immediately showed you another room which you liked and agreed to stay in, I personally went to you room and spoke to you to make sure everything was ok and you were happy, you said yes. Later I went in to the original room you were in and found no signs of urine; we changed the area rug which was the only carpet we had in the rooms since they are tiled floors, to make sure we had no unpleasant smells. Nevertheless, we apologize again for the inconvenience and hope you come back and give us the opportunity to serve you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hall, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

we were moved twice due to construcition noise and manager gave us off 25 percent for two nights. Third room had noise of probable elevator noise but this was manageable at Caribe Hilton San Juan Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: ask for quiet room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear guest,

I would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered while in our property with construction noise from the nearby development. We take appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Brand and would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Trip to celebrate friends b-day and last minute!! I did not spend a lot of money about $500 for plane ticket, food, and hotel. Check out JetBlue from JAX airport ticket $280. Shared room so cost reduced had trouble with AC one night so they credited one night free. Area ok bit felt a little possible unsafe. Clubs ok. Hotel away from other hotels. Very nice though swim up pool bar and on beach.. PR beached beautiful. Family oriented hotel so not like if you looking to club or HANG!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear guest, your remarks are highly valued. We are very glad we were the chosen Hotel for your first time in Puerto Rico!

We appreciate that you took time to share your experience and nope you visit us soon
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a six day stay at the Caribe Hilton in San Juan, Puerto Rico. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the location is perfect--only 2 miles from old, historic San Juan, the private beach is sandy and perfect for everyone's enjoyment-young and old!! The facility also boasts a tropical wildlife garden, two large pools, a jacuzzi, a couple of seperate children's pools, and great ocean location. The hotel has a variety of restaurants including a Starbucks. There are also a few shopping boutiques on the premises. Our first king size bedroom was very nice with a large marbled double sink bathroom and walk-in shower, but we were nicely accommodated when we asked for another room with an ocean view-although we sacrificed the larger bathroom for it. The only drawback of our stay was the fact that both our rooms in the two separate buildings needed some updating. We recommend the Caribe Hilton in San Juan and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Great amenities and beach to enjoy. Old San Juan is historical and picturesque with lots to explore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your recent visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. Feedback is extremely important to us. This is what keep us focusing in getting better and better to serve you.

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just came back from a week stay at Caribe Hilton. The resort is beautiful but like other reviews said the service is terrible. At least I knew what to expect. The checkin process took 45 minutes and of course it was 4:30 and room was not ready. Once we got the room, I asked for room in new tower, I was nicely pleased with a gorgeous room. Food was super expensive, so were the drinks so we had our meals outside the hotel and bought rum and beer and stocked our cooler which we would bring to the beach (allowed). All in all beautiful resort but the service is bad, why stay here when there are sooo many other hotels to pick from.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Caribe Hilton Hotel during your recent visit to Puerto Rico. Please accept our apologies to you. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our product and services; and your feedback is very important in achieving this.

We are deeply sorry that you left our hotel this bad taste. We take pride in delivering the best experience for each and every one of our guests.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

At your service, Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchula
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our room was at the very end of a very musky, dingy hallway. And the musky, dinginess carried on into our room. The smell in the bathroom, although it appeared to be clean, was quite unpleasant. The AC vent/door was open. And we could see it hadn't been clean in a very long time. There was a thick layer of dust on the filter. I know its an old property. But it doesn't have to be dirty. The pros of this hotel were the beautiful ocean view. The pool area was very nice. With a wide variety of seating, sunning, lounging areas and the hammocks all made for a relaxing time out doors. The staff were curteus and friendly. Old San Juan is beautiful. With the buildings restore to their original state. It has nice restaurants, shops and the old castle was just amazing!
All in all, we would definitely go back to San Juan. We just wouldn't stay at the Caribe Hilton. again.

Room Tip: Keep in mind the age of this hotel when booking your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
It was a real pleasure having you as our guest in our beautiful hotel. Thank You for taking the time to write this review to let us know about our facilities. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our services and areas of opportunity.

We are currently in the process of delevop action plans in maintenance as well as room product initiatives, to better cater to your needs as well as future and prospective guests, all in the effort to provide you with the quality product you have come to expect from a Hilton Resort.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
At your service
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.