We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE IT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel was awesome!! Our room was very clean, we had an ocean an fort view. It had a beach and a pool with a swim up bar, hammocks under the palm trees and a nice romantic garden, sooooooo relaxing at night...Not alot of entertainment or night life on premesis. About 15 mins to the airport. Nice place for relaxation and family vacations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    1,511
    708
    394
    223
See reviews for
917
1,314
126
655
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at the Caribe Hilton with my girlfriend, both of us are in our mid to late 20's and we were looking for a location that was convenient to go to restaurants and enjoy puerto rico's nightlife. The hotel was ok. Good for a family. It was old, but location was very close to old San Juan. The hotel is on a lagoon, so very calm waters. The hotel fee was lame, and the cabs are expensive if you want to go to the Condado area where the bars, and restaurants are. I would have rather stayed at la Concha, which was in the middle of it all, and seemed like a very nice and trendy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I am a Diamond Member of the Hilton and before i stayed at the Caribe Hilton i had nothing but good things to say about the Hilton Hotels.
First, the Caribe Hilton is an OLD RESORT and is far from a 3, 4, or 5 star Resort. This resort may be cheaper on the front end but on the back end your better off staying at the Ritz Carlton. The Caribe charges for EVERYTHING.16% RESORT FEE, EXPENSIVE DRINKS $10+ AND FOOD $20+ (water sports..floats $15, kayak $35+, everything else 35 plus...NO JET SKIS AVAILABLE. The lobby is the only place for wifi and has no AC as the lobby is outside. The rooms are NOT up-to-date unless you stay in the Hilton Honors Tower and that update is still a joke as our A/C was broke, the safe did not work and THE FURNITURE IS STILL OLD BUT THE BATHROOM SHOWERS IN THE TOWERS HAVE BEEN UPDATED AND BEDDING AS WELL.
INSULT TO INJURY MY EARRINGS WERE STOLEN AND THEY HAVE YET TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. tHIS PLACE IS A JOKE AND IF YOU LIKE MOTEL 6 ACCOMODATIONS WITH A FEW PERKS THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU BUT KEEP IN MIND YOU WILL STILL SPEND MONEY FOR THINGS THAT YOU COULD HAVE GOT FOR FREE A BETTER RESORT.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and I want to assure you that this is not indicative of the standards of service and quality for which the Caribe Hilton is known. we thank you for your feedback in rooms condition and services prices.

It is through feedback as yours that we evaluate how are we doing and how we can do better to please our guest. Once again we apologize and we would like to welcome you back soon.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Caribe Hitlon. Both times were after a cruise. This time we had requested a HH Tower room because we loved the shower sooo much. The room that they were originally giving us was not in the the tower- so we were waiting for the wrong room. But we walked around and the gentleman at the podium when you exit toward the pool was not going to let us go by the pool becuase we had only the reservation paperwork -as our room wasnt ready yet- The grounds are just as lovely as they were before- they now have turkeys and a chicken. We also made friends with the iguanas. my nephew was shocked to see how big the lizards were. The room has great A/C, but the water pressure for a shower that large wasnt the best- Beds were comfortable but the pillows seemed too soft. We took the rain forest tour through the desk at the hotel. it was pricey but we figured that it left from our hotel and brought you back that it was worth it. Not to the hotels fault, but the tour wasnt the best. We tried to ask questions on the way back - but the driver seemed like he did not want to answer or something. He was too busy on the phone. Breakfast we saw a huge difference in quality. when we stayed there a couple if years ago the breakfast that was for HH members was in the restaurant that looked at the beach. Now its in the Italian restaurant and its continental- mini muffins and some oatmeal and fruit. We just ate in old San Juan - it was better anyway. We would still stay there again if we were in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. Is great to hear that you had fun with our iguanas and all our little friends in our garden! We appreciate your feedback on the water pressure and the breakfast quality.
We hope to see you back in the near future.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were really disappointed with our stay at the Caribe Hilton. We paid for an upgraded ocean view room and had a terrible view of dirty streets cluttered with litter between the room and the ocean, lots of construction, and the room itself and most of the property was VERY old and run down.

Ironically, the cheaper rooms in the tower appeared to be in better shape than the ocean front buildings.

We were woken up before 8 am with jackhammers and drills going off all around our room due to a property being built right across the street. I would not recommend staying here anytime soon, and if you have to, I'd ask to be far far away from the construction zones.

Room Tip: Request FAR from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your experience while you visited us recently. Please accept our apologies. We are very sorry for what you experience not only with your room condition but with the construction noise. Feedback like yours help us to take corrective actions to prevent future guest from experiencing what you did.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us the opportunity of serve you in the near future.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The best part of the hotel is the private beach and cove.
We loved overall how friendly and helpful the staff at the hotel were. In particular the staff at the front desk staff, housekeeping,and at Palmeras restaurant were fabulous! Very kid friendly too!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view and less noise from the jet skis that come around during the weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton for your recent stay in Puerto Rico!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property.
We are very happy to hear that you had a great time!

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed 11 days in June. Wish it were 111. Newly renovated main bldg rooms are wonderful. A/C removes humidity, bath lighting is excellent, something about the decor just makes you smile and feel happy. Want anything else from a hotel room?Grounds are beautifully manicured and sandy beach is combed of litter each evening. Outdoor tables with umbrellas at Palmeras restaurant was our favorite area for breakfast each day. Stunning views, cool breezes, great people watching, fresh sea air -- it doesn't get better than this -- except for the b'fast buffet. Terrific tropical fresh fruits, great omelettes, etc.But Caribe is all about its people. Ask anyone about anything and first response is a smile. And then they get the job done -- from simple requests to great pina coladas. You feel everything is "can do", and you can just relax and enjoy.And that's just what we did.Location is perfect too. 5 minute taxi to Old San Juan ($12). 10 minutes to Plaza Las Americas ($15) or the Condado area.Nearby park is great for doing laps on wide perimeter sidewalk (I do fast walking).Did the beach every day and went to incredible nearby restaurants almost every night. The San Juan restaurant scene deserves its own review -- start with incredible.For us, Caribe Hilton and San Juan have it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.