We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Ventura, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“we will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great hotel, nice pool, good food and close to Old San Juan. We will be back. They had a problem with elevators but they fix it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    1,433
    656
    373
    213
See reviews for
882
1,235
118
605
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

While the hotel itself wasn't bad, I really didn't like the way we were treated by the hotel staff, namely the front desk. We were put in a room directly next to some construction going on, but not informed of the construction at check-in (strike 1). When the construction woke us up at 7:30am the next morning (which everyone loves while on a relaxing vacation...), I complained to the front desk. No apologies, no offer to change rooms, just a whole lot of excuses (strike 2). Since the next day was a Saturday, I confirmed with the hotel that the construction would cease over the weekend and kept my original room. They confirmed that no construction would be going on over the weekend. WRONG! The next morning, the construction continued. I didn't even bother complaining again because I knew they wouldn't care.

On top of the construction, our room was poorly cleaned on a daily basis (strike 3) and I felt the hotel was really overpriced for what it offered. The location wasn't great either - you're pretty much stuck at the resort unless you want to pay exorbitant cab fares. I should have stayed with my original reservation at a different hotel.

Last thing - there were kids everywhere at the resort. Which would have been great if we had kids with us, but this was supposed to be our alone time for just the two of us. Probably a better resort to stay in if you have kids.

Room Tip: Villa rooms are bigger and more modern, but also next to the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The pool and the Beach sold us on this hotel!

The room was nice, nothing extraordinary. However the bathroom was AWESOME!! Staff was friendly.

This is a great place to stay if you want easy beach access and a nice pool to hang at.

The only truly negative thing about this hotel is it really isn't in a comfortable walking distance to anything, so bring cab money!

Best tip I can give, DO NOT BUY beer/liquor at the bodegas near the hotel, one wanted $21 for a 6 pack the rest where $15-18. There is a CVS in Old San Juan. Before you head back to the hotel stop there and you can get a 12-case for under $10. They even sell liquor at comparable US prices. There are mini fridges in the room to hold all of your pregaming drinks!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wasn't sure about some of the reviews, but since I was traveling with my mother and brother and it was one of the only NICE places in San Juan where I could rent a two-bedroom suite I booked. (You really have to watch where you stay in SJ.) Stayed one night (6/30) before our cruise and had no complaints whatsoever.

The check-in line was long but since I am Hilton Honors I checked in at the HH line and there was no wait. I asked if the room had been renovated and was told that the 10th floor of the main building hadn't been renovated yet but the room was nice and had the best view. She was right!!! The suite consisted of room 1031, 1033 and 1037. We had 2 full bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms (one was gigantic enough to have a whirlpool tub, double sink and a giant glass shower stall), a large room between the bedrooms that contained a conference type table and chairs and also a nice sized living room-like seating area with furniture. There were also many closets and we had 4 balconies. The view was of the ocean, the fort on the property and the area. (Front desk was right about the amazing view!)

The room could have used a bit of updating but it actually really wasn't bad. No stains on the carpeting, furniture and the beds were comfy, comfy, comfy.

Italian restaurant in the lobby was nice too. Ate lunch and dinner there. The prices were a bit high but what you would expect to pay in a resort of this kind or touristy city. Morton's was WAY overpriced so we skipped it.

All in all, I would stay here again. Great staff. Great rooms. Great views. Great Food. Great property. Great location. No problems whatsoever. I got what I paid for. They really need to clean the windows and doors in the lobby though.

Room Tip: Either ask for a renovated one OR stay in a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I will not be staying here again because my room was not clean, the terlephone did not work and it took a whole day to have it fixed. There are too may good hotels in the area (eg El San Juan, Intercontinental, La Concha... to name a few, that are much better!
I rather pay more for a better room.

I do have to say that the staff was very friendly and this made up for some of the problems.
The pool area is very nice, but does need renovation.

Finally, who placed the screeching birds near check-in???
They are beautiful, but make too much noise in an area where you are trying to listen and speak.
PLease! relocate them to somewhere else where they will be an asset not a nuisance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Caribe Hilton is definitely a great stay for families (great place for those with kids/teenagers) or those desiring privacy. During the evening, this is a very romantic Hotel. The hotel is much like mini resort and has a lot of positives such as the proximity to Old San Juan, great swimming pools, gym, private beach, on site restaurants , and wonderful views. The staff (Mildred is the greatest!) is extremely professional and a pleasure to work with. The reception staff was very professional and ensured all concerns and issues were addressed promptly. The rooms are very clean and the cleaning staff was very accommodating. The issues that I noted were the following: extremely small refrigerators (they are mini's to the mini fridge), limited in-lobby wifi (not rooms which is unacceptable for todays standards), very pricey foods (save some money and visit a local grocery store for your needs ...especially water, spirits, and snacks), and you have to pay to utilize the in-room safe. The reason that I mentioned these is that other hotels (EL Convento / Doublletree which I believe are also Hilton properties) provide these items free but you do not get the view that the Caribe Hilton provides. El Convento gives free water and has a small wine taste each day at 6 P.M. Also, there was a DJ on occasion (at the Caribe Hilton) but I got the feeling that evening entertainment was not a priority for the hotel. If you have kids, this is a very nice place to stay as it's safe, clean and has very well maintained grounds. For singles and nightlife, ESJ Hotel is a great place to stay. I will rate this hotel a 5 when the items mentioned above are addressed. Overall a very positive stay!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for higher (main facility) elevation that overlooks the pool as during the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Really bad experience, not coming back to a Hilton property ever.

We were there only one night (we were coming back from spending a week in Puerto Rico east coast and US Virgin Islands), and it was really a bummer.

The hotel is located in the typical resort area, with nothing close but the resorts per se. Not close to the center at all.

I don't know if it works that way in other Hilton properties, but they charge you for everything. We even had a resort fee added to our credit card, even though our booking was supposed to be fully paid...

We had dinner in their Italian restaurant. The food was really disappointing and it cost us close to $80, no wine and no drinks.

The room was big, but boring and a bit dirty. They even left open a door to somekind of air conditioning room inside, and it was really noisy. And worst of all, the room was about 10-15 minutes walking from the hall. I don't know who designed this place, but I hope this was his last one ...

Best idea: choose something else...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.