We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Carribean Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free $50 Resort Credit
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Carribean Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was our fourth stay in this beautiful resort. As always, service was outstanding, food good and probably the biggest bang for the buck in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Great!! Thank you for the support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    1,492
    697
    390
    222
See reviews for
907
1,294
122
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

After staying at this hotel for 7 days, I found it to be a nice get-away from the busy life back on the main land. However, when I wanted to take in a little sight seeing on foot, it became more of a problem.

I will provide some good and bad below, but here is the bottom line. If you want to relax and enjoy the private, well-equipped pools and beaches on the site, this is the place for you. If you want to get a flair for the the rest of the island and eat at places not on the grounds, which were a bit pricey, then stay in the coronado area.

GOOD: The grounds are nice and there is a laundry. The staff is ok, but seems a bit over worked. The pool and beaches are well stocked with every kind of water toy needed. Of Course you can swim-up to the bar. Nice.

Also the rooms are ok. There is only one large cover on the bed. If you are accustom to sleeping under a sheet, you need to request this. The pillows are feather. Every room has a view of the beach. Nice :-)

BAD: I guess my biggest compliant was the location. Again, its far from anything on foot. There is a Subway on the corner, but it made me sick my 1st night, so I would AVOID this place. After getting over my sickness, I was forced to eat on-sight for many of the days. The food will cost you. Example, Morton's salads were $20. Sandwich and fries were $17, Breakfast buffet for one is $20.

When I did get off the reserve, the food is much cheaper and much much better. Next time I will try another place.

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Caribe Hilton during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. I would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered while in our property.

We take appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Brand and would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.

Nelson Torres, Manager
Caribe Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Went with two children who had a great time in the pool with fun slide. The hotel is clean, modern, accomadtions are comfortable, clean, and gorgeous balcony view overlooking the ocean. staff are very helpful. The beach area is tiny, crowded, dirty sand, and NOT the place to go for swimming in the sea. The restaurants were ridiculously overpriced. We found the location convenient with $8 taxi ride to Old San Juan, and 20 minute walk to restaurants.

Room Tip: ocean view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear that you had fun with your family, we are deeply sorry for the lack of cleanliness of the beach area.Thank you again for your feedback! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a package deal on Expedia at a great rate. ($530/per person for round trip airfare form Dulles International plus 4 nights in the hotel.) We stayed in a room overlooking the garden which was beautiful and sat outside for a bit every morning looking at the swans, turkeys, and peacocks. The pool layout was fantastic and had multiple levels, and a kid section. Hammocks on the beach under the palm trees were a nice touch. The drinks at the bar were very pricey ($12 for a regular sized pina colada or margarita), but you're really paying for the experience. This hotel is a solid 30 minute walk from Old San Juan or the Condado shopping district. There really aren't any restuarants or good shopping covenient to the hotel location. The taxi to Old San Juan or Condado is about $12.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. We truly regret that you left us with tht feeling in regards to restaurants and shopping places near by. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Everyone was very friendly and helpful, views were phenomenal but there's little to no shops or dining options without a two mile walk or a $15 cab ride. Rooms needed major updates, fort was closed for remodel, pools close at nine, restaurants are outlandishly priced including a $50 cheese and cracker tray for two. Our last night a live band blared Spanish music until midnight outside... So much for the standing room only balcony doors open.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We just arrived home last night and my last time staying at the Caribe Hilton was 35 years ago. It was the most enjoyable stay! We have family down there and the hotel was so accommodating even to our guests. We ate, drank and all of the facilities were excellent. Our room faced the garden and ocean, and my husband and I loved hearing the birds, turkeys, etc. in the a.m. The Lemon Grass was not only a beautiful setting but the food was excellent as well. We will definitely be back. Bravo to the staff ~ so gracious.

Room Tip: Great hotel but if we didn't have family to pick us up all the time, we would have had to take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are delighted to know your stay was a pleasant one.

We thank you again for staying with us and would be thankful to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is by far the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Me and my brother took my mom there for her 60th birthday since she wanted to visit Puerto Rico and after weeks of research, I chose Caribe Hilton. All I can is....I made the perfect choice ! All 3 of us could not get over the extraordinary view from the balcony in our room. The room was spotless, the room attendants and all staff we encountered were pleasant, the restaurants on premises were top notch, the front desk was welcoming and accommodating, the outside pools were clean.....need I say more !! If anyone wants to feel pampered and feel like they're in heaven, this is the hotel you need to stay in. Hilton outdid themselves with this one !! Jose Campo, General Manager, and Noemi Claudio Cruz, Reservations Manager, personally stayed in contact with me to ensure that this was a flawless stay and made my mom's birthday the greatest she's ever experienced. What service !!

Room Tip: Something on a higher floor facing beautiful Condado....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let Noemi and Mr. Campo know that they helped you have a great stay with us. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.