We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and enjoyable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
San Diego
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and enjoyable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during the Easter holidays. We had previously stayed in the Conrad Hotel which is very close to the Caribe. The Caribe is much nicer. We expected it to be a bit more crowded due to the holidays but you can definitely still find your own quiet area to lounge and relax. It has nice pools, beautiful views, and a great staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable with great views. They were also relatively quiet.The hotel has a private beach area (calm for San Juan standards because they built a little cove area but don't expect the water in San Juan to be like the other side of the island....you are still on the Atlantic side), swim up bar, several jacuzzis, and very nice lobby.
I would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    1,433
    656
    373
    213
See reviews for
882
1,235
118
605
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Caribe Hilton in San Juan, Puerto Rico is a marvelous hotel if you're looking to book a large group or just want a centrally located jumping-off point. My wife and I were there from April 19th thru the 23rd and the conferences seemed to change daily. Lots of people and Caribe seemed to do a great job in keeping up with the traffic. The wife and I had been looking for a quiet getaway and unfortunately, Caribe was not what we wanted. That said, once we adjusted to the throughput of people that descended on the hotel daily, we settled in quite nicely. The Caribe is about 15 minutes from the airport and easy to get to. (TIP: Plug the hotel address into your smartphone GPS and you'll have no problems. But don't try to locate the hotel on GPS by its name...uggh!). They have some great restaurants at the Caribe. Our favorites were the Pina Colada Cafe (casual) and Il Giardino (Upscale Italian). Both were very nice with excellent service. They also have an attractive Morton Steakhouse ($$$$$) and a breakfast and lunch place as well. Poolside, drinks and a bar menu of burgers, & snacks will do most everyone nicely. And the burgers there are very good (great buns!). Rooms are nicely appointed. We had a 1st floor villa room with a very comfy king sized bed and a view overlooking the bay and causeway. The villa rooms are at the end of the property and are pretty much out of the fray of conference traffic. Housekeeping was timely and efficient. Valet parking at $20/day is recommended since self-park is priced at a discounted $16/day. (The $4 difference makes the valet parking a no-brainer). The hotel has a number of swimming pools and its own private beach with free towels provided at the beach-side cabana. Next door is a now defunct "Normandie" Hotel which the we used for snorkeling. Since the Normandie is no longer in operation, the local families use this as their own getaway. We liked it because of the tropical fish and turtles that hang out just a few feet off the bulkhead that seperates the hotel swim area from the open ocean. It's less than 5 minute drive from the Caribe to Old San Juan where we spent an entire day sightseeing and taking pictures. The Fort there is a definite must-see and there is an infinite selection of restaurants and bars for all tastes and price ranges.

Room Tip: Villa rooms offer nice garden areas on the 1st floor and balconies above. Given there's nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

If you want to stay in a hotel that has all the charm of a mobile home campsite, and you like standing in line, this is the place for you. Positives: The beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious. The location is beautiful. Neutral: Several swimming pools that are clean, grounds that are nice enough although with a very cluttered layout. Internet works. Negatives: Terrible bar/restaurant amenities, with a choice between fast-food style poolside junk served in plastic or good but very pricey Morton's inside a gloomy room. A bad "trattoria" with grumpy staff in a site with no windows is another choice. The only real bar is open in the evening and is basically part of the lobby. Another one, at the entrance to the hotel, sports plastic chairs and blaring music with arriving people walking in between. Elevators work some of the time, and using the stairs is like a quick trip to hell and back because the cleaning staff have not visited them for at least a decade. All of the outside staff seems to be on holiday or pushing noisy machines around. There is no one to help with heavy lounge chairs. Poolside service is theoretical. If you need aspirins, newspapers (except for half a dozen copies of NYT that sell out immediately on arrival), toiletries, notebooks, anything except cheap t-shirts, you have to take a taxi ride into San Juan ($20 at least). Room service is very slow to arrive, and trays of half-finished food put outside stay for days on the hallway floor. The business center closes at 3 p.m. and before that staff are away for indeterminate periods, leaving it abandoned and without service.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, but one whole side of the main building is over a very noisy air-conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We will pass this information to all the departments involved for immediate action. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days for our anniversary. The grounds are well maintained and are very well laid out. We were given a room in the Hilton Honors tower, the bathroom was spacious (no tub) but the shower has more than enough room for two people. There was a large flat screen with all the American cable channels, mini-fridge and a small balcony facing the water.

The lounge area is very sleek and modern, although it didn't ever seem to have a lot of people in there, whenever we cut through there to get to the pool. Speaking of the pool--gorgeous and there are plenty of cabana's/seating areas that you can use without paying the additional premiums that some other hotels charge. Although there is a daily resort fee--so I guess it's built into that. The hot tub is also conveniently located right beside the pool and at night the pool is brightly lit, while the hot tub is kept at a more subtle lighting level. We had some really good frozen drinks at the pool bar I think it was made with mango and coconut--delish!

The hotel is located right on the beach and to my surprise the rather larger fish swim right up to the shore, but then I noticed that there is a daily fish feeding activity run by the hotel. There are hammocks and pathways to explore.

Be prepared to haggle with the taxi drivers to get the right price, actually be prepared to haggle with everyone to get the right price--vendors, tour operators, some restaurants attempt to charge different prices for non-Spanish speaking people and finally be prepared to find some hidden gems in Old San Juan. Food was awesome and definitely recommend that you try the mofongo. We also loved the Jibarito burger at the Chicago Burger company--you gotta try it.

The only thing that I did notice after we returned home was that both myself and my fiance noticed that we both had developed a rash, which I'm pretty sure was a result of something in PR.

Overall beautiful exterior grounds, nice rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Thank you all at Trip Advisor for recommending this resort which is home to the very first Pina Colada ever! All our worries regarding the condition of the room were uncalled for except the airconditioning that failed to cool adequately. We had a beautiful view of the Caribbean sea from our balcony and the resort accommodated our request for a room on a higher floor without a problem. All in all, it was a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room in the Main Tower of the resort which is close to the parking area, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Could not have asked for a better vacation! This was our fifth stay at the Caribe in the past 6 years and each year we are delighted to be staying at a property at which the staff makes us feel so welcome. The staff is exremely helpful and sensitive to the guests' needs and does everything possible to accommodate them. The Caribe is an ideal location and if you like to walk you can easily walk into Old San Juan or walk over the bridge that was just completed to the Condado. While our stay was only 5 days, we always leave wanting more. We look forward to our visit next year!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

I loved the open air lobby. The pool/beach area had a nice spot for anyone. We were on a 20th anniversary trip so enjoyed lounges overlooking the ocean but away from the kids concentrated around the pool. Our room in the honors tower was very comfortable. Everything was clean but a little wear in the hallway and in-room cabinetry. Best hotel bathroom ever. We found the location to be perfect to enjoy both Old San Juan and the Condado area - just a short cab ride to either.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.