We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Favorite Vacation Spot"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Floral Park
1 review
“"Favorite Vacation Spot"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Could not have asked for a better vacation! This was our fifth stay at the Caribe in the past 6 years and each year we are delighted to be staying at a property at which the staff makes us feel so welcome. The staff is exremely helpful and sensitive to the guests' needs and does everything possible to accommodate them. The Caribe is an ideal location and if you like to walk you can easily walk into Old San Juan or walk over the bridge that was just completed to the Condado. While our stay was only 5 days, we always leave wanting more. We look forward to our visit next year!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,011
    1,369
    636
    361
    206
See reviews for
830
1180
112
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

I loved the open air lobby. The pool/beach area had a nice spot for anyone. We were on a 20th anniversary trip so enjoyed lounges overlooking the ocean but away from the kids concentrated around the pool. Our room in the honors tower was very comfortable. Everything was clean but a little wear in the hallway and in-room cabinetry. Best hotel bathroom ever. We found the location to be perfect to enjoy both Old San Juan and the Condado area - just a short cab ride to either.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Let me start out by saying that I had two connecting rooms for eight nights all on Hilton points so my view is partly clouded by what I was paying (zero!). That being said, I stayed at the Cancun Hilton last year (paid retail prices) and Barbados Hilton two years ago (also all points) and the Caribe is very comparable and a great stay.
This is a really big hotel and service is predictably middling. In addiition I understand there is great variability to the rooms. We were given a "garden wing" pair of rooms which we entered with trepidation thinking they were out of the way (they are not), that they would have a terrible view (mostly true) and that they might not be up to par (completely not true - in fact they had very recently been beautifully renovated - would make a W proud). In addition, my kids two double bed room connected to my king room which really was itself a suite - it had a living room with a pullout and a second larger flat screen. I got over the view (partly a roof and its equipment and partly the lovely garden) and really liked the rooms (443 and 444). I would actually ask to stay in the Garden Wing again. The in-room coffee is really great too. No wife in rooms though.
Aside from the rooms, the lobby is big, dramatic and open air and has wifi. The pool and beach area is the hotels biggest plus. The pool is pretty big, multi-levels, has a swim up bar, two large working hot tubs of varying heat levels and has a fantastic water temperature in the main pool. The beach is private (the only one Puerto Rico) and had a really neat lagoon since a breakwater shields the beach from all waves (both a plus and minus). On the plus side, their are fish everywhere. The hotel gives out the old bread from breakfast for people to stand on their fish feeding pier and feed the fish - the number of fish is really not to be believed. Their is nothing from stopping you though from walking around the lagoon feeding the fish by tossing little pieces of bread in the water and watching them feed around you - really cool. I brought snorkels and masks from home and thus snorkled right in the lagoon most days - I thin they are available for rent at typically high prices.
They have free float hour every day where you can borrow an inner tube or float for free for an hour, they have a free exercise class every day, free (virgin) pina colada tasting every day from 1 to 1:30, free bingo with nice prizes (like free drink tickets) every day at 2 - lots to do.
The gym is fantastic, perhaps the best I have been to in a hotel. The hotel is also nicely suited for runners, there is a very scenic twenty five minute round trip run from the hotel to the edges of old san juan.
Some might not like the location (older or less active people) since it is between condado and old san juan but in neither. It is an easy although 15 minute walk to Condado - I did the walk to Condado for dinner three times and home from dinner one night (took taxis the other two nights) and felt completely safe. I didn't walk to Old San Juan but the bus is literally a block away and fifty cents each to Old San Juan. I took the bus every time I went to Old San Juan and took taxis back each nigh - again felt totally safe. Some complain about the cost of taxis here but they are far less than in places like Barbados. Also all the tourst taxis are very large SUV's or minivans and easily accomodate famillies of five like mine (in Cancun I think we wedged into a Corolla taxi).
Breakfast for Hilton Honors Gold members was include via tickets which can be exchanged for one of (i) five dollars worth of food at the onsite Starbucks - don't believe the ticket which says Tall drip and danish, SBux will give you anything you want provided it doesnt cost more than five dollars); (ii) the full buffet in the main restauarant with a sixteeen (yes $16) co-pay; (iii) continental breakfast in Il Giardino - wasn't bad, we had this almost every day or (iv) the smaller buffet in Il Giardino for a six dollar co-pay - we had this a few days and it was good but basic.
Drinks are quite expensive at the hotel, $12 for a mojito, $7 for a mediocre local beer, plus tax and tip. Get the refillable drink "shaker" your first day for $22 - they sold out easter weekend before I could get my hands on one.
The pool grill is pretty terrible. Completely unimagintive menu - how can you not have fish tacos, chicken wings or a cuban sandwich on an island menu? It is pretty basic and boring food with truly slow service. After the first day, we just skipped it and I walked one block to Subway and brought back lunch for the family. It is hard to say this I pretty much never eat at one of the nine Subways within walking distance of my NYC office, but the Subway was a lifesaver for lunch. The pool food is probably the weakest part of the Caribe.
All in all, really pretty happy - nice family resort - would definitely consider staying again although would also consider the cool looking Conrad across the way in Condado (we walked through to check it out).

Room Tip: Choose the "garden wing" for no views but really nicely, recently refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I booked a Hotel at Caribe Hilton for my cousin's wedding. She managed to pull it out of the hotel and we stayed at las Villas II at Condado Lagoon, it is all connected. The place is brand new. The view is beautiful and the beds are awesome. If you have a car, it is a nightmare to drive around and park there. They offer self parking for around $16 a day but good luck driving in Puerto Rico. They don't offer breakfast and they sell very expensive stuff in there. From Las Villas you can walk to all the hotel areas and I have to say the beach areas are beautiful! The reception was average, the service was average, but it is all about location, location, location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is like Disney World for adults. Bike rentals, scuba diving, fishing, and drinking can all be done at hotel site. No free shuttles from airport. They do have events every hour like "pina colada tasting hour" or "teach you how to salsa hour". There is live music in the lobby. It is 20 minutes away from Old San Juan. You will not experience a dull moment. The down side is that the service absolutely sucks. The hotel xtras make up for it.

Room Tip: add 100 bucks more to your reservation and you can get rooms that have an amazing view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed one night before departing on a cruise the next day, got a great rate via their website. Room was adequate; small but clean and in working order. Front desk staff helpful and checkin/out was smooth. Tons of taxi's available with standard fees (same from airport) to cruise ship pier. Outside pool and grounds are beautiful and enjoyed watching fish at night from their pier with "fish lights". Drinks/food expensive but tasty and enjoyed Starbucks for breakfast and lunch at the poolside restaurant. Small and nice shopping area at hotel and Tower rooms at least on 3rd floor were good. Would most likely stay again but onlly a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Although my family has Hilton Diamond status, it appears that we have outgrown Hiltons due to poor service. The Hilton Caribe has confirmed this idea. Think Hilton Sandestin when booking this hotel. Think loud people with tattoos smoking everywhere and being loud. Do not think family vacation. There are so many people at this hotel that the staff can care less about you.

I am thinking Fairmonts from now on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.