We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families with Small Children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for Families with Small Children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have spent our winter vacation at the Caribe Hilton for each of the past three years. We have two children, now ages 6 and 4, who love the hotel and the beach. In our experience, the staff is especially nice to children -- several people remember the children's names a year after our last visit. We plan to keep staying there every year.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Great! We thank you for the support! We love to have you back with us, see you next year! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,003
    1,356
    624
    355
    203
See reviews for
813
1171
111
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Md
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed her for 4 days out of an 8 day vacation. This hotel is conveniently located but the staff was rude, customer service is non-existent and the prices are out of control. One staff member at the beach rudely asked us how many rooms we had at the hotel so that he could limit our umbrellas to just one. His tone was ridiculous. We were 8 people in 2 rooms and all we asked for was another umbrella so the baby could sleep in the shade. When we told him to not be so rude, he explained he was from Trinidad and this is how they talk.

I read the reviews that stated food was expensive, but I did not realize it meant $100 for breakfast for 4 people. Virgin Pina Coladas were $9 but with alcohol was $10. Show me a place where you can get a shot for $1.

Stay somewhere else. Hllton should be ashamed.

Room Tip: Tower rooms were fine but the view from 723 was of the ocean but mostly the roof of the building bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable. This information will be sent to our Swimming and Tennis Manager to avoid this situation from happening again. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

While the Caribe is a beautiful hotel and a wonderful location, its current management is currently not up the the Hilton Standard. As an airline pilot (we stay there on layovers) I have had to go through multiple rooms to find an acceptable one (water leaking from airconditioning and carpet saturated, moldy smells, overlooking car park and car alarms sounding, keys not working, etc). I just received a fraud alert from my bank and we were able to pin the problem on a waiter at the Caribe Hilton as the culprit. Large amount of tourists stay here on cruises and other vacations but I'd recommend another hotel if you're able.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank your for sharing this information with us. We are deeply sorry for all the inconviniences that you experienced. About the fraud alert, this is a very serious matter that we will like to handle as soon as possible. Can you contact us to nitzamarie.escalera@hilton.com? We will like to investigate this to the last detail. Hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and another couple arrived on the 31st of March for a 5 day combination business/pleasure trip. We stayed in the villas and our friends stayed in the main hotel. Our room in the villas was nice with a refrigerator and microwave and a nice balcony, but basically just a hotel room. Bath was nice with a walk-in shower. Temp in room was either too hot or too cold, never just right. Walk to main hotel was definately a turn-off and I would not reccomend staying in the villas for that reason. Our friends had a room in the main hotel which had been renovated but was still just a basic room. One of the elevators was broken which made it pretty miserable. The hotel is in need of desperate renovation in all public areas. Very shabby and worn. One of the biggest things to note is that there were tons of children around and they were not monitored by parents or hotel staff. The hot tub was useless because it was constantly filled with children all under the age of 10 and many with floaties on. The wall around the upper and lower pools has an infinity edge and children raced around it constantly. They also climbed to the top of several walls and then jumped into the pool from the walls. In our opinion, this is a major disaster waiting to happen. It had a major "Disney World" feel to it. Towels were located only by the beach so if you were going to the pool you were required to walk all the way over to the beach to get towels. Service was OK. Could have been much quicker, however, one of the waiters at the beach and pool really stood out. His name is Yuriy and he was excellent! All 4 of us are in our early 50's and like to have a good time. I teach first grade so I am clearly not opposed to children but the way they were monitored was ridiculous. We stayed at the Westin on St. John last spring and they managed a great Kid's Camp for the children! We will be in San Juan 2-3 times a year and I would not reccomend this hotel. Go to the Conrad or the Renaissance right across the lagoon in Condado. Both are beautiful and without the craziness of the children.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest including children; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable. We do have a camp during the summer and holiday season. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The property was really nice! We had a newly renovated room. In regards to San Juan....the first day was not good the concierge guy at the hotel was Very rude!! Every question that we asked he was very sarcastic and rude as if we were suppose to be familiar with San Juan. Once we got settled in and went to eat, the people at the restaurant was very RUDE!! The food was NOT good...the waitress took forever to come wait on our table...then when it was time to checkout the entire waiting staff allowed us to stand by the cash register forever and did not acknowledge our prescence. The next 2 days was much better!! There is a lot of good sightseeing in old San Juan! The tour of the Forts was really nice!! Do not pay for a tour of Old San Juan...because you can get on the city trolley for free and ride around the area. It is really a very small place so you can basically get a map and tour the are on your own. Make sure you go to the visitors information center near the CVS by the pier. They are very helpful in there. Go to the Parrot Club for dinner...they have good customer service and decent food.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that we couldn't deliver the customer service that you deserve. Our head concierge will be notify about this so he can take immediate action. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband & I loved this resort. The staff was very helpful and accomodations were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Great! We love to have you back with us! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was excited to go there. The have a great outdoor lobby - great lounge chairs, bar, ambience, etc. HOWEVER, I found service to be less than average. I never expect anyone to jump for me but they weren't minimally enthused to be there, much less help you. Nor apologetic when they made a mistake.

The grounds are gorgeous. The rooms are VERY comfortable. Views......delightful. I just wasn't impressed with the staff

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. I will forward this infomation to our management to avoid this to happen again. We thank you for your feedback, we work very hard for a 100% but there is always room for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.