We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in San Juan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in San Juan
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at Caribe Hilton prior to our cruise. This is a great place, a real resort with hammocks and beach beds, pools and Jacuzzis, bars, restaurants, beautiful park with swans and a change room. We arrived in the morning and before our room was ready we stored our luggage with a bellman and used the special changing room to put on our swim suits. What really makes Caribe Hilton unique - is that the hotel has its own bay separated from the rough waters (all around San Juan) by a strand of rocks. So, the water is calm and warm, you and children can swim in the bay, feed fish, you can even snorkel right there, because there is plenty of fish around. Service is implacable. Rooms have fantastic views of the bay and the ocean. Beds are so comfy, you don’t want to get up. Our experience there was so wonderful, we did not want to leave for a cruise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear that you feel this way about us! We are very proud that you feel this way about our property! Thank you again for your feedback! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,011
    1,368
    636
    361
    206
See reviews for
830
1179
112
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Just wanted to thank Julio at the front desk for getting us the best room and caring for us throughout our stay! Also, can't say enough about Maria who manages the Pool Towel stand, who not only made sure we had enough towels, but acted as a poolside concierge and advised us on the local culture, great restaurant recommendations and provided a friendly smile (every day!).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Great!! We love to hear this!! This is our goal making every guest feel like home. We will let Julio and Maris know what good service they are providing! Kudos to them! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Beautiful grounds and an ideal location. Private beach for hotel guests was a plus! We actually stayed in Lagoona Villas (got it at a great price on e-Standby Upgrade as Hilton Honor members).

Even though there was some street construction near Fort Geronimo during our visit (right in front of our room), management reduced our rate due to the inconvenience, even though that was a government construction project, not the hotel.

Hotel had the most amazing views of the ocean! Every time I "check out" mentally, I "check in" to the Caribe!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was my first time staying at the Caribe Hilton and I was so pleased. Their location is great because it is walking distance to Condado that has a lot of restaurants and the beach and is a $15 cab ride away from old San Juan. The outdoor amenities are amazing, both the pool and private beach have plenty of space and you can always find a spot. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although not overly impressed with the room, it was clean and the outdoor space more then makes up for it. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would ask for an ocean view in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you again for your feedback, we really appreciated! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

Please say hello to Raul who is a super server and who makes you feel right at home while delivering superior food and service!! He's the reason we dined there twice in a row including our last night here. :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Great!! We love to hear this!! This is our goal making every guest feel like home. We'll let the I’l Giardino Management know what good service Raul is providing! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I was there for one night only after a superb one week cruise in the Caribbean with my family (2 adults + 2 teenagers).
I really enjoyed my stayed there: it was the perfect place for our last night of vacation!
-Checking: we were at the hotel at 11AM and we had been able to get our room as soon as we arrive: unusual and lovely! It was also fast and efficient.
-Room: I was in the tower, the “economy section” of the hotel. Big room, balcony (but not the best view!), mini-fridge, large bathroom with an amazing shower (well appreciated after the tiny shower of cruise boat room!), 2 large and really comfortable beds. In regard of the price paid, it was perfect.
-Fun: many pools, tiny beach with a lot of activity. As we wanted a lazy day before coming back home the next day, it was also what we needed.
-Internet: free in the lobby. Only wired (with fees) in the tower rooms. Typical for 4* hotel…
-Business center: no services on week-end. I couldn’t print there my boarding pass for the next day. On weekdays they charges you $0.50/printing pages. Expensive…
-Location: except a small convenience store (perfect to buy coke for teenagers and beers for me!) and a Subway (it was our lunch), nothing else is really at walking distance of the hotel. As taxi are expensive in San Juan, you must consider it if you plan to stay for few nights there.
-Restaurants: 4 or 5 restaurants from burgers place to top notch meals. I personally enjoyed their room services for the dinner.

I will definitely enjoyed going back at this hotel, if the price matches my budget as it happens this time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Great! As you mentioned our Business center is close on the weekends but we have a self service kiosk on the Front Desk where you can print your boarding passes for free, also on the weekdays the boarding pass printing is complimentary on the Business Center. We love to have you back with us! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at the Caribe Hilton for one night pre-cruise. Two adults, using Hilton Honors points to pay for our stay. It was a quick ride from the airport and we were checked in quickly and given two vouchers for continental breakfast the following morning. The room was lovely, updated and clean with a tiny balcony and a view of the ocean. We went down for lunch in the lobby: a quesadilla, shrimp skewer appetizer and two glasses of iced tea were $38. Ouch. It was windy by the pool, but otherwise pleasant with both shade and sunny places to lounge. My pre-dinner bacardi mojito was delicious. We had dinner at the onsite Italian restaurant. It was okay. Service was good. We had breakfast there too and chose not to upgrade to the full buffet (theres plenty of buffets on cruise lines; we were fine with the continental breakfast). I went to mass right in the hotel, very convenient and appreciated. Then packed up and set off to the cruise port...also very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#20 of 47 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 2,533 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
4.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
2.0 mi away
La Terraza Hotel
La Terraza Hotel
#1 of 47 in San Juan
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Quiet, Pool, Lu...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,654 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.