We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful way to begin and end our cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
RANDALLSTOWN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to begin and end our cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We decided to fly into San Juan a day early for our Caribbean Cruise and to stay a day after. The Caribe Hilton provided us with a very relaxing and welcoming place for those days. The property was beautiful and the staff extremely helpful. We have decided that the next vacation will be spent at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Great! We love to have you back with us! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,003
    1,358
    625
    357
    203
See reviews for
816
1172
111
567
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

After much research for our stay in San Juan we chose the caribe Hilton and I have to say I was not a single bit disappointed with our stay there everyone we in countered there that works is beyond friendly and accommodating. Jose at the reception was amazing very helpful. Victor and roberto at the pool bar were amazing best piña colada ever and the food is great too and inexpensive. The breakfast buffet was very rich and yummy. The rooms are very contemporary with a clean lines just loves our stay there and it is walking distance from old San Juan would def stay at the hotel again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Yay! We love to hear this! It's feels good to know that all our good work it's paying off! Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst, ny
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Staying at the Caribe Hilton for 2 nights prior to our cruise, we found it to be the perfect starting off point for our winter vacation. Check in, was easy, fast, and friendly. Our room was typically Hilton, modern and comfortable (especially the bed, I love Hilton beds). A bit of construction noise in the morning got us up early. As we got in late, grabbed a bit to eat at the bar. Spent the next day on the Caribe's beach. For an in town hotel, the beach is great, along with good service, and powerful rum punches. Has dinner that night in Old Town, just a short cab ride away. We ate at Marmalade which as modern and marvelous. The next day we still had time for an hour on the beach, before heading to the nearby cruise port. Overall a really nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower will be away from the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Great!! We love to hear this!! This is our goal making every guest feel like home. We hope you enjoyed your cruise! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Caribe. The beach and pool area were fabulous. It was beautiful. Bar and grill was fantastic.

Room Tip: We were in teh Villas with a full kitchen. It was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Great to hear! Thanks your sharing this with us! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My friends and I were taking a cruise out of San Juan and decided to spend the night in Puerto Rico a day before our ship's actual departure. Glad we did. I really loved this hotel on so many levels and I regret that I didn't have more time to stay here and utilize all of it's nice little extras and explore nearby Old San Juan. That aside, I enjoyed my stay.

The hotel is expansive, housing a ton of rooms in multiple buildings and this would probably be my one minor complaint. This place is a maze and. while there are signs throughout, they're not that easy to follow, especially if you've just arrived in town after a long flight and are a bit tired. If you do book a room, DO make sure that the front desk tells you which building you are in (villa 1, villa 2, etc.) and DO request of map if available because I'm a fairly decent navigator but I had to stop to ask a couple of the super nice staff to point us in the right direction.

The rooms are nice and while not everyone gets a spectacular ocean view, you're not exactly overlooking the city dump either so you won't be stuck with a really bad view no matter where you are. Our room came with a mini fridge, a microwave, sink, and plates. For some reason, there was no dish detergent to wash the dishes we used so I felt like a bit of a rat leaving a couple of dirty plates for the maid (I could almost hear my mother now). Another nice touch is the Peter Thomas Roth shampoo, conditioner and lotion in the bathroom. Good stuff.

The Caribe has several restaurants on the premises to suit different tastes and needs and there is a pricey but tasty breakfast buffet offered each morning (you can order a la carte too but it runs up to be nearly the same price, FYI). For coffee-a-holics like me, there is a Starbucks on site and few gift shops as well. If you chose to stray off of the hotel grounds, you are still in the city and can probably get a cab or even walk to nearby restaurants. That's the beauty of this place's location.

Finally, the grounds. As I alluded to earlier, this place is pretty large. It has a couple of interconnecting pools, an outdoor bar (and plenty of places to get sloshed indoors as well), it's own private beach (that's mellow enough for the kids to splash about in; no massive waves, anyway) and a ton of places to lounge about in the sun. Though there are chairs and chaise lounges all over the place, one of the cool things that they had were these giant foam beds to sunbathe on up near the footpath that parallels the ocean. They were usually occupied by the early birds but that doesn't mean you should'nt try to nab one of these comfortable places to snooze/read/people-watch. As for the footpath, it's a nice place to stroll by the water and check out the modern city skyline as it contrasts with some of the amazing, much older ruins of the ancient forts that share space in close quarters. You are relatively near Old San Juan and you can either walk there (it's about a mile, plus or minus) or, again, hail a cab.

I really liked this place and I can't say enough about the extremely friendly staff that works there; they made us feel very welcome. I would absolutely return to the Caribe Hilton to stay for future trips.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear that in only one day you felt this way about us! We are very proud that you feel this way about our property! Thank you again for your feedback! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

My wife and 3 adult children stayed at the Caribe Hilton for a week this Feb-Mar. Wonderful hotel services. Pleasant staff always made us feel welcome. They treated us like family. The Concierge staff made perfect suggestions for activities and especially Old San Juan restaurants. (We give Marmalade 5 stars too). We utilized the gym, tennis courts, most restaurants, the main bar, the swim up pool bar, wait service at the pools/beach, and the spa. Wonderful time. If you stay in San Juan stay at the Caribe Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Great!! This is what we love to hear!! This is our goal making every guest feel like home. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I went in a business trip to Puerto Rico and this Hilton was very convenient located. The property encloses a beatiful beach but the service is not at the same level of other Hilton properties. It has a very good bar with live music at night. There are three palces for breakfast, including a Starbucks, all very expensive for what they offer. Rooms are a bit outdate and renovation in the property is long overdue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thanks for the review! We are right now on a renovation process; we just finished half of the Main Building! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.