We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded in the middle of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Secluded in the middle of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I recently stayed here, from February 16th to the 21st, 2012. I loved it and would definitely come back. I've stayed in the Marriott in Condado, and at El Convento in Old San Juan, but this was my favorite place as a place to stay for a whole trip to Puerto Rico. We spent this trip in the San Juan area (besides an excursion to El Yunque, booked through the hotel concierge for $77/person). The Caribe Hilton has it's own private beach, unlike the other hotels in Condado (one long public beach with private pool areas) or in Old San Juan (no beach). We could walk 40 minutes west to Old San Juan or 30 minutes east to Condado, or 15 minutes south to Miramar, or take a fast $12 cab ride from the hotel to Old San Juan (not sure how much to Condado, since we walked it. We didn't rent a car, but if you did, they have a parking lot.

As for the hotel itself, it's clean and chic, and we stayed in one of their "renovated rooms". Not sure if the check-in woman just wanted to make us feel better that our floor still had a little dust from putting in the new carpeting, and they just finished putting up the artwork by the elevator on our floor the day after we checked in. But it was good to know everything was brand new, and the hotel room was beautiful! But beware, we stayed on the 3rd floor on the west side, and it was right over the mechanical roof of the lobby, so when our door was open, we could hear a droning sound. But it wasn't anything too bad. If you are on a higher floor, you probably wouldn't hear anything.

All of the hotel staff were pretty friendly, including the three parrots in the lobby, who know how to say "hola" and "hello". At night, you can hear the coquis all around outside. Something you'd miss if you stayed in Condado.

The beach area was so great, we didn't even go in the pool. They used riprap to create a sort of lagoon, with a gradually sloping beach facing north and west. It's not a very large beach, but even though there were a lot of people (president's day weekend), there was still plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas, and room to swim. The hammocks tended to get filled up until the afternoon (but they are awesome for when you want to get a break from the sun in the dappled shade of the palm trees), and the couches out over the water also got claimed early in the morning. We were hitting the beach around 9am each time we spent the morning at the hotel. The bar food is surprisingly plentiful, which made the price not so bad (I'm from New York though, so if you're from somewhere else, you may think it's expensive). Pina coladas are $10, from a mix, but pretty good and refreshing, with a maraschino cherry in each one.

All in all, it has a great location right between Old San Juan, Condado, and Miramar, the private beach is great, and the room was chic and comfortable. I will definitely plan to come back here on my next trip. Only took me three trips to Puerto Rico to find it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, since the 3rd floor is a bit noisy from the mechanical roof over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking from your valuable time to share your experience with us. It's great to hear that you truly enjoyed our facilities! On the other hand I will like to apologize for the lack oc customer service that you experience, I want to assure you that we take all the feedback very seriously. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    1,512
    708
    394
    223
See reviews for
917
1,315
126
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was a very nice family option near San Juan if you want the beach and resort experience. The porters were excellent. The mojitos and pina coladas were excellent. The food was only so so.

Room Tip: We got 521 which overlooked the ocean in part and the little fort I like it a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very proud that you feel this way about our property! Thank you again for your feedback! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed here on Feb 17 - 19 and 26.

LOCATION: On the ocean front, about 20 mins from the airport in taxi, 10/15 mins from Condado (taxi), 15 mins from Old San Juan (public bus - $.75).

HOTEL: Main hotel is great, really well presented. Beautiful bar area with glass windows. Stocked bar and lots of seating. Stayed in The Tower. Its about a minute walk from the front desks. Key card operated lifts up to the rooms. Massive rooms with 32"+ LCD TVs with a good selection of channels, including ESPN/2. Comfy beds and sheets. Decor a bit dated and could do with a refresh. Bathroom massive with twin sinks, regular shower and rain shower. Empty fridge great for drinks. Small safe included. Parents had a room in the Garden Wing - had exactly same facilities but more modern decor.

FOOD: Had the buffet breakfast, which was included in my deal. Costs $25 per person otherwise. Great selection of fruit, breads, cereal, hot food and omelette station. Starbucks is on site. Ate dinner at Pina Colada Club. Thought the food was okay average. Wouldn't recommend eating there but DEFINITELY try their Pina Colada. Its the best one I've ever drank but does come in at $9.

GETTING FIT: Fantastic fitness centre, fully equipped and modern. Get there early as it gets full. Mini golf is nice touch but don't expect a PGA course, its just some holes in astro turf! Full size artificial tennis courts are available. If you don't want to run in the gym you can happily run around the hotel complex or the local area. Spa and massage facilities are also available.

CONNECTIVITY: Free WiFi in the lobby, signal only covers the lobby. Connection speed good enough for Skype video calls but not video (Hulu etc) streaming. Cat5 connections in the room, believe they are free but didn't have laptop to check. Free room-to-room calls.

Has a boarding pass printing station that allows free access to airlines websites for online check-in and free attached printer. Very useful!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

Located a little to out of the way, noisy in the morning from nearby airport and construction. The grounds were well maintained, pool and beach were great. We thought the food was overpriced and not that great definitely plan to eat off premise although there is a Subway on the corner for an inexpensive lunch.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate that you share this input with us. Thank you again for your feedback! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

We travel a lot with our two children. We were apprehensive about staying at this Hilton based on some reviews. Yes, we had a few problems , eg. Had to change rooms to get the one we reserved, inconsistent charges in Palmeros for breakfast, had to have AC serviced, etc... that said we had a wonderful time. restaurants were expensive, but food was good. The staff was courteous, pool was nice, weather was spectacular. We like Mexico and found PR to be just as nice. We'd go back. Take a walk towards old San Juan to go to el hamburger.....great burgers really cheap!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
We are waiting for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The outdoor ameities and location are superb and so I would recommend staying here. However, the property is under-managed. The balcony on the side of our building overlooks a very loud fan ten floor below, so we were unable to enjoy the balcony or leave the sliding door open. The food was disappointing in quality and expensive, so eventually decided to walk or take taxis to other locations. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, but the hotel is understaffed, so service was slow (including fixing problems with the room, at restaurants, and the concierge desk). Also, they were strictly unwilling to provide a rollaway bed or futon, so be prepared to squeeze the family on the double beds.

Room Tip: Choose the quiet side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My family and I returned home after a week at the Caribe Hilton in San Juan. Despite an uncomfortable interaction with another guest, the hotel staff went to great lengths to ameliorate the situation. We deeply appreciated the way in which they handled what might have become an unpleasant day and turned it into a lovely one. I would like to particularly commend one of the staff members, Miguel Cestero for his kindness and professionalism. Miguel is a superb representative of the Caribe Hilton establishment. He took a personal interest in ensuring that our stay was enjoyable; in fact, because of his good work, our stay will be memorable!
We travel often, and get to San Juan about twice a year. Because of the exceptional way in which the staff treated us, we will make the Caribe Hilton our destination of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the seventh floor of the main building. Room numbers 730-738 have the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We thank you for your kind words towards Miguel. We will make sure he knows about this review!.
Here at Caribe Hilton we take pride by ensuring a Memorable Experience for all our guests!

We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.