We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Family Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Albany ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recent Family Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My family and I returned home after a week at the Caribe Hilton in San Juan. Despite an uncomfortable interaction with another guest, the hotel staff went to great lengths to ameliorate the situation. We deeply appreciated the way in which they handled what might have become an unpleasant day and turned it into a lovely one. I would like to particularly commend one of the staff members, Miguel Cestero for his kindness and professionalism. Miguel is a superb representative of the Caribe Hilton establishment. He took a personal interest in ensuring that our stay was enjoyable; in fact, because of his good work, our stay will be memorable!
We travel often, and get to San Juan about twice a year. Because of the exceptional way in which the staff treated us, we will make the Caribe Hilton our destination of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the seventh floor of the main building. Room numbers 730-738 have the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We thank you for your kind words towards Miguel. We will make sure he knows about this review!.
Here at Caribe Hilton we take pride by ensuring a Memorable Experience for all our guests!

We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    1,430
    655
    373
    213
See reviews for
879
1231
118
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012. Overall, we had a good experience with this hotel. We have two young children - ages 4 and 6 - and felt it was a good deal for what we were looking for.

Location: Close to the airport (15 minutes) and convenient to Old San Juan.

Very pretty outdoor scenery - pool, hot tub, nice scenery of the ocean and the fortes

Nice, modern fitness center

The beach area was more of a lagoon - as there was a rock wall that slowed down the waves - this was great for kids, as we felt the water was calm enough for them to enjoy, without getting knocked over by waves. The beach was small though, so more of a con there.

Lobby was nice and they also have a pretty garden area with swans, ducks, peacocks.

Playground - while small, it was great to have it.

Noise:
We stayed in an "ocean front" room, but we could hear the city noise at night - car alarms at 4am; it did not prevent us from getting a good night sleep though.

AC- they have it programmed to stay on a certain temperature, which was not very cool and a bit stuffy. We had to ask for them to reprogram it, which they did happily, but not sure why they do this.

Room quality - the rooms were a bit run down - worn carpeting; chipped furniture, etc. While fine enough for our needs (with two little kids, we were not in the room much anyway), I would have liked the rooms to be a bit nicer. The price is right though, so overall, I did not feel we were overpaying.


Service: The service was a mixed bag. Some of the staff were great - especially the wait staff at the buffet breakfast; others were not so great. We did have a good experience with the front desk, but the lines could be long there. The concierge was friendly and helpful. One irritating issue was that kids eat for free with an adult meal - but we always had to bring this up with the waitstaff in order to get our discount. If you don't speak up, they will try to charge you the full rates.

Food: Outdoor lunch at the grill was so-so, as was the room service food. I wish they had more typical Puerto Rican food choices. With small kids, we did not have the chance to go to Old San Juan much for meals, and it would have been nice to have had better options at the hotel (particularly with the prices so high).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are glad that your entire familly had a great time with us! We are sorry that you left us wishing to taste more variety of our local food.
We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are sorry that you didn’t fee comfortable with some prices. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

In the original building not all the floors have been remodled we stayed on the 9th floor and while our room was clean and had a great view of the ocean. Our carpet was stained and the furniture was wore out, the hallways were in need of paint and new carpet. I noticed that floors 2-7 have been redone, I would recommend this hotel but if you are going in the near future ask for a lower level room or ask to be placed in the Condado Lagoon Villas.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing the Caribe Hilton during your stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you here. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room accommodations.
We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable.
It is through feedback such as yours that we evaluate our service and processes and continually improve upon them.
We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Vermont
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel and both mornings the garbage truck woke us up at 6 am.
The hotel has seen better days. There have been valiant attempts at updating, but they fall short of four star. The pools and beach are very nice, but also very crowded.
Old San Juan is about 2 miles away. I walked and really enjoyed the walk and the ocean views.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry to hear that you left one day ealier. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is supposed to be an oceanside vacation resort near San Juan.
We found it tired, very noisy, not very clean.
Piped music blares continuously in public areas
The pool area is overcrowded (1000 rooms in hotel).
It has a small and miserable beach which slopes, so lying on the beach chairs is uncomfortable.
The restaurants in the hotel (except for Mortons - predictable steakhouse) are not good.
We left a day early.

Room Tip: In the renovated Garden View section
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We went here on a trip my boyfriend qualified for by spending a certain amount with his supplier for work.

PROS -
The lobby has a modern logo and looks kinda cool - the bar inside is pretty cool too.
Las Palmeras breakfast restaurant treated us really well. Loved the servers and buffet.
Pina Colada lunch place was good too.
Walking distance to a liquor store for water and beer.
Taxi ride to Old San Juan and Casinos.
Nice free chairs to lounge on the beach.

CONS -
We were put in a VILLA vs. the GARDEN rooms. Sounds better, but not..
Villas = long confusing walk to your room, loud hallways and maid doors outside your room, didnt always clean our room or vaccum, view of a bridge and not the ocean, A/C didn't work - wouldn't turn down. Garden rooms were gorgeous - we saw a friend's - more updated/ modern/ nice.

All in all, Puerto Rico was a cool place to say we have been, but I wouldn't stay here again.
I would choose a hotel with a prettier beach too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Piñas Coladas.
We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable at your Villa room. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel is tired and needs a major renovation and clean up. We found it grungy and trash was spilling out of bins for days. The hotel is huge, has a small beach and hence cannot be called a beach resort as there is not enough seating and the chaise lounges are packed like sardines. There is music blaring wherever one goes and the 4 parrots in the lobby screech all day. Our room was ok, large and fairly clean with an adequate bathroom. We could, however, hear the conversations of the people next door to us on both sides.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you left the hotel with that impression.
This is not indicative of our standards of service and quality for which the Caribe Hilton is known.
It is through feedback such as yours that we evaluate our service and processes and continually improve upon them. When we fail to meet the expectations of one of our guests, it causes great concern.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.