We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a paradise...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“what a paradise...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We decided to stay a few days in San Juan before our ship left for the southern caribbean. What a wonderful, low key, peaceful hotel. The hotel has a beach and numerous pools. The bar is jumpin'. The view from the room beautiful. It is a short walk to old San Juan. A great hotel to use to begin your wind down before departing on a cruise.

Room Tip: Close to the pier where the cruise ships depart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing the Caribe Hilton during your stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you here. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. Hope you had a great cruise trip!
See you again soon here in your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,004
    1,358
    626
    357
    203
See reviews for
816
1173
112
567
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Me and my wife spend 3 days at Caribe Hilton in San Juan, Puerto Rico. This hotel is located about 15 minutes drive from Muñoz Marin Airport, and offers a variety of areas to stay: regular rooms and villas. After spending 3 days here is my review:

This place is very nice for the following reasons:
1) has a nice private beach; and an excellent swimming pool area.
2) it has an excellent location from where, with a rental car you can visit most places;
3) views are great and place is rooms are very quiet.

However think about the following before you make reservations:
1) Is one of the most expensive hotels in San Juan: rooms and food.
2) It might get crowded, having as a consequence a very slow service.
3) Hotel is not that big, and common areas might get crowded too.
5) The hotel was built during the 1970's, some rooms are old.

Depending the season (low or hight) and if you're traveling or not with family I would select Caribe Hilton.But if you're just waiting for the cruise or spending a couple of days in PR, give a shot to Hilton Double tree in Condado. They accepted my Hilton Honors Points, the place and service was way much better.

Room Tip: Rooms at Villas are very quiet and far from the crowd, but walking to the room and room service will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing the Caribe Hilton during your stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you here. We are sorry to hear that you left with that feeling about the hotel and rooms. We would like to have the opportunity of welcome you here again.

It is through feedback such as yours that we evaluate our service and processes and continually improve upon them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The resort area was beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in the Tower, floor 9 and had a nice view of part of the ocean. The main building located in front of the Tower obstructed some of our view. (see picture). We liked the hotel location and walked to Old San Juan the first day, then decided to take the bus the second time we ventured into the old city. The room was clean and adequate for our 4 night stay. We looked at a 5th floor refurbished room in the main building, which was beautiful, but we decided to stay on the 9th floor Tower room because the view was better. Food was expensive, as most reviews claim. We ate in Old San Juan several times and frequented the Subway around the corner for quick lunches. Somehow, we were locked out of our room safe, called the front desk and within 10 minutes a maintenance man came to our room and opened the safe. We were more careful while entering our lock code number after that!! We would stay here again!
We chose this location because we like the idea of walking to Old San Juan, tree lined streets and beautiful parks along the way. The "city" atmosphere of Condado's high rise hotel district and night clubs did not interest us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a very pleasant luxury hotel with an absolutely huge, beautiful crescent beach that is accessible only to guests and residents who buy memberships. The hotel provides--free of any charge--lounge chairs (completely adjustable), towels, huge umbrellas and has about a dozen hammocks that are a lot of fun to fall asleep in, or just to swing in the breeze. The views of the ocean are wonderful; the beach is completely protected from rough waves by a reef (but still has some swell to permit you the sensation of waves). The cleaning service for rooms was uneven; on 2 days, our room was not cleaned by 5 pm (they did send someone when we complained). Also, leave absolutely nothing of value in your car in their garage; a friend's car was burglarized while parked there, and the management response was not very helpful. I am not sure this is different, however, than elsewhere. (The thieves used an RFID reader, it appears, to break into the car by "reading" the code when the car was being locked electronically.) The hotel is c. 2 miles from Old San Juan; easily reachable by car, of course, but parking availability is very poor and traffic in the Old city is horrendous. Avoid it on holidays; roads are blocked off and access is slow and difficult. Even so, this hotel is by far the closest luxury hotel to Old San Juan that is on a beach and a fabulous beach at that. It also has large swimming pools, with a swim up bar. They won't tell you, but some drinks are 75% off at the inside bar before 7 pm. ($5 instead of $12).

Room Tip: We had a package vacation and the room we got, in one of the towers, did face the ocean but also ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing the Caribe Hilton during your stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you here. we thank you for your kind comments and we are very happy to hear about your great experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in February 2012 and were very impressed with the improvements made to the hotel. We have chosen to stay here 3 out of the past 5 years on our business/personal annual trip. The friendly accommodating staff, the room decor, the location make this a top-notch choice. However, the muzak sound system that was installed poolside this past year is loud, ubiquitous and annoying - a real buzz-kill. Reminded us of the intrusive "boom box" on the beach or pesky cell-phone-use-in-public. It was hard to soak in the sounds of the ocean: the crash of surf, the slap of palm fronds - let alone read a book. Ironically, there is no muzak (elevator music) in the elevators. Why not restrict the piped in music to a few pool locations: the bar, the hot tub, or far-from-the-ocean locations around the beautiful pools? In any event, turn it down. You have a fabulous facility and truly wonderful location. Take advantage of it and limit the sound system!!

Room Tip: The 6th floor has been redone. Lovely, sleek, and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Great! We love to have you back with us! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Main building rooms in need of update, service dreadful starting with porters who took 1.5 hrs to deliver bags, and the front desk that offered Cava instead of the champagne ordered and pre- paid. On complaining was told that was the normal bottle offered to their customers, they eventually accepted they were in the wrong and instead of having the wine on arrival it arrived at 10pm at night with blunt apology, not what you'd expect from Hilton hotels.

Room Tip: Book for the tower block, you pay more but rooms are newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing the Caribe Hilton during your stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you here.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and We want to assure you that this is not indicative of our standards of service and quality for which the Caribe Hilton is known.
The opportunities you experienced in reference to your service requirements have been addressed with the appropriate departments so that we may prevent a re-occurrence.
It is through feedback such as yours that we evaluate our service and processes and continually improve upon them. When we fail to meet the expectations of one of our guests, it causes great concern.
We look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London CT
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is by far the best hotel in San Juan. Clean, efficient, friendly staff. Wonderful (PRIVATE) pool and beach side amenities, loved the reef dock that lets you look at the fish in the ocean both during the day and at night, also loved the bird and fish sanctuary in the center courtyard. Everytime I stepped out onto our deck I had to pinch myself that I was not dreaming. We stayed in the Tower, it was quiet and modern, fellow members of our group in the main building had complaints. We were there during Valentines week, it was all couples and business travelers, the mood was relaxed but by Presidents Day weekend lots of families were checking in the tension level was rising and the pool area kaotic. Location is perfect for bus or taxi trips into Old San Juan or a walk across the causeway bridge to the casinos in Condado. The staff did a wonderful job on catering the meals for our group when we dined at the hotel. My only complaint would be that the gardeners start using power equipment at 7 am.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.