We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Caribe Hilton before our Puerto Rico Cruise vacation in Feb 2012 and wish we had stayed longer. Arrived by Taxis from the airport (Puerto Rico is divided in zones, fare $21 dollars up to 6 people in a taxis/ van, plus $1 per large suitcase). Staff was very friendly and organized. Kingsize room was clean and bed very comfortable. Poolside bar, Beach "beds" to work on your tan. I enjoyed the hammocks under the palm trees. Pina coladas were amazing. Going back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! we are very happy to hear that you like our Hammocks! We hope to see you again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    1,425
    654
    373
    212
See reviews for
878
1227
117
599
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Firstly I am well overdue in writing this review!

I stayed here as a pre-cruise hotel, on Sat 11th Sept 2010. Travelled with family consisting of - Mum, Dad (mid-late 50s), Brother (23yrs) & me (28yrs):

Transfer from the airport was fairly painless, drivers were waiting at the luggage collection point. It was about 10-15 min ride, very smooth on the motorway, down to the port area.

We got to our hotel 'Caribe Hilton' about 9pm, and the first thing you notice is that the lobby is open spaced & bathed in pretty blue light - nice touch for weary travellers! Check-in was quite busy despite the time of night; seemed quite a few cruise passengers we checking in. Service was swift, but front desk staff seemed indifferent & devoid of any real welcome or warmth... We made our own way to our room - there was a bell boy service for those that wished to use it.

Our rooms were a decent size & spotlessly clean - we were on the 15th floor which allowed for amazing views of the private beach, the sea/coastline & lake/bay area - this is what makes this location! As there really isn't much else to looks at...

We had two lovely double beds, tea/coffee facilities, built in wardrobes, seating area with a flat screen tv & a desk area. Had a nice size bathroom with crab tree & Evelyn goodies, walk-in shower with two types of head - one massive one attached to the celling and another more standard one on the wall- water pressure was ok - expected it to be more powerfull.

we were too tired and hungry to really appreciate or explore the area, we weren't missing much since there wasn't really anything nearby - a pretty lake/bay - but no bars/entertainment. And besides, after nearly 12hrs travelling, we could not be bothered to take a taxi to Old San Juan; plus we had torrential (albiet warm) rain within half hour of our arrival, so that further put us off going anywhere.

Decided to just grab something to eat & then chill in the lobby area/oasis bar for a while. We ate in the Piña Colada Club, attached to the Honours towers - decent latino based food, watered down & wasn't spicy AT ALL - didn't have time to check out the Steakhouse Morton's, but it seemed that non-guests can also make reservations there & come quite dressed up...

I woke up early to catch the sunrise over the beautiful grounds - it was worth it! The tropical garden, sun deck, cabana's, hammocks, pool area and beach are amazingly peaceful and empty at 6am so you can really explore & enjoy without anyone else there, only me & a few keen joggers. By 7:30-8am it started to come to life a bit.

Note about the beach - there is two sides to the 'coastline' one side is rocky & a bit rough but it's not easily accessible to guests, there is a old fort there as well so makes for good scenic pics. The other half, is a small but nicely sectioned off & therefore makes for a calm, still water, sandy beach - yes, good enuff to build sandcastles!!! There were plenty of loungers available even at 11am.

The hammocks were a quirky addition - I had a giggle with some random american chicks when we were all trying (not to elegantly) to get in them!

The cabana's were nicely set apart from the beach, but close enough to all amenities, these are charged per day ($90) - good cross-breeze...

Tropical gardens are very small & are situated out the back near the childrens pool, cool peacocks, lovely flowers & a lil pond area, got some nice pics.

By the lobby there is a parrot cage - lovely birds, good temperment & caged was being cleaned out; they weren't there upon check-in so assume they only come out for the daytime.

Met the rest of the family for breakfast in the Palmeras Restaurant - think this is the main restaurant. Nice views over looking the main pool & beach. All four of us had the buffet breakfast, that was a bit pricey $26 !!! Was just ok, usual fare to be honest, my dad said the coffee was amazing! It was puerto rican, but can't remember the name of it though...

Had to leave the hotel quite early as we needed to get to the port & officially start our cruise. Shame really, as would have liked to have seen what the spa was like.

Overall Caribe Hilton was a lovely stay, a beautiful, compact hotel & the staff were pleasant enough.

However whilst I found it to be an asthetically pleasing hotel to stop at for one night, given the lack of entertainment (not even a singer or piano?) & the prices - I would be less inclined to stay there for a full two wk vacation, as I know I'd probably get bored! And realistically could find something with more variety, that's more holiday orientated & just as lush for the prices they were charging - I mean come on for $595 for a night & $26 for breakfast! Really?!? All I can say is I was extremely glad it was part of our cruise package!


Read my full review for Serenade of the Seas (Royal caribbean) at: http://www.cruisecritic.co.uk/memberreviews/memberreview.cfm?EntryID=72795

Room Tip: Oceanview if possible & higher up the better as the restaurant is based at the base of the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review. We're glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights over winter holiday.

Pros:
- secluded beach
- free umbrellas, chairs and tables
- they put up rock barrier to calm the water a bit as it approaches our area of the beach which is safer for kids who want to swim
- rooms were surprisingly quiet and we were right next to the elevator!
- kid-friendly
- nice pools
- used the breakfast coupons (for DIamond members) at Starbucks and got many more food items than had we eaten at the buffet
-movie theater for kid movies and adult movies
-Subway is within walking distance from the hotel - they also serve individual small pizzas which was good for kids and cheaper than hotel food.

Cons:
- expensive mediocre food (but that's what we get for staying at a Hilton)
- not many healthy food choices for kids
- Starbucks' line is ridiculously long and if they run out of something, they might be out for several days while waiting for their next shipment

We would stay here again. The rooms were clean, the place was clean, and overall a really pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience with long lines at Starbucks. We will address to the Management to improve our Service. We are sorry that you left feeling that way in regards to the food situation. We would like to welcome you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

...than the Caribe Hilton. We enjoyed it so much that we already booked our pre-cruise stay for February 2013!

We see no reason to look any further in San Juan. The Caribe Hilton has its own beaches, hammocks, beach chairs, beach beds, a swim-up bar, and much more. The views from the property are spectacular! The restaurants on the property are top-notch and the entire staff are driven to ensure your stay is everything you hoped for and more.

You folks do a fantastic job!

Room Tip: Any oceanview room is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are very happy to hear that you loved the Hotel. See you in February 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night prior to boarding our cruise. We arrived in the evening after a long flight and the reception area was chilled and the staff very helpful, check in was very easy. The bar area was very pleasent and we had a few drinks before heading up to our rooms, we also ordered a pizza which was lovely.
The rooms were very nice, the bed was massive and very cozy. The bathroom was very spacious and the shower was brillient - it was a walk in with side jets etc.
In the morning the lobby area was a lovely place to chill out with the tropical parrots in the centre which we thought was a lovely idea and it certainly entertained all the children around.
There is a starbucks in the reception area which has a great choice of breakfast items, we were not B&B so this was ideal for us. Some of our party had a walk to the nearest shops for their breakfast which was about a 20-25 min walk.
The pool area was very nice and the pool looked lovely - we never got time to use the pool with us catching the ship. But we did chill out on the terrace area with a jug of Sangria which was lovely.
The gym facility at the hotel was excellent. Lots of equipment (cardio and weights), very organised and fresh towels on entrance.
My mums case didn't appear when we got to the airport on arrival, everyones worst nightmare. However the staff at the airport were very helpful and ensured us that it would be on the next flight 2 hours later. The hotel were informed of this and that the case would be coming to them in an organised taxi from the airport. In the morning when we woke we had a telephone call from recpetion to inform us that the case had arrived and that it had been kept with them securly over night so that they didn't call and wake us during the night.
Over all we were very impressed with this hotel and we would have been happy if we were staying here for longer. Nice decor, very clean and modern.
It was a great way to start our holiday!
We travelled with a party of 6 adults and every one of us had the same review of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted that you had a great time. We are very glad we were of assistance with your luggage situation. Look worward to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Just spent a week on business in PR, and stayed at the Caribe Hilton. I hadn't been there in ten years, and I'm sure glad I returned. First, the room/resort spaces values were amazing. Not that my room was luxurious, but it was pleasant, and clean, and with a great view of the ocean. The hotel lobby/hanging out and pool/beach areas are very nice, and actually my favorite parts of the hotel. The location is perfect - a 20 minute walk to either Old San Juan or El Condado, depending your mood. Pina Colada restaurant was superior - and no surprise since I heard it was owned by the same chef of wonderful Agua Viva and Dragonfly (both in Old Town). Staff super too. Highly recommend for both business or pleasure travel.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
We would like to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on our way to our cruise for one night on Saturday 4th February, room great, hotel very busy & noisey on the Saturday night, drinks very expensive, great location though!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you left feeling that way regarding the drink prices. We will love the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;