We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely & Accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Redding, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely & Accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Just spent a week on business in PR, and stayed at the Caribe Hilton. I hadn't been there in ten years, and I'm sure glad I returned. First, the room/resort spaces values were amazing. Not that my room was luxurious, but it was pleasant, and clean, and with a great view of the ocean. The hotel lobby/hanging out and pool/beach areas are very nice, and actually my favorite parts of the hotel. The location is perfect - a 20 minute walk to either Old San Juan or El Condado, depending your mood. Pina Colada restaurant was superior - and no surprise since I heard it was owned by the same chef of wonderful Agua Viva and Dragonfly (both in Old Town). Staff super too. Highly recommend for both business or pleasure travel.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
We would like to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,003
    1,357
    625
    357
    203
See reviews for
816
1171
111
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on our way to our cruise for one night on Saturday 4th February, room great, hotel very busy & noisey on the Saturday night, drinks very expensive, great location though!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you left feeling that way regarding the drink prices. We will love the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Long Island
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights prior to and a day following a cruise. It can be a busy place, but it's big and accomodating. The waterview rooms can be either lagoon or ocean. The grounds are nice. Terrific food at Coladas. Be sure to ask for a quiet room. Some of the rooms are better maintained, nicer than others, The waterview rooms can be either lagoon or ocean so inquire if you book here. If you want true oceanview, ask which rooms are best for that (Though the lagoon was quite nice!)
Pools were nice. Beach was small but adequate.
Staff was very accomodating! I could see they are well trained and aim to please.
All in all, a nice stay for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: See above comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello! thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We would like to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We loved staying here! Beautiful property, a wonderful place to hang. Well kept. The staff could not have been more helpful with anything we needed. Very friendly. Beautiful views from our room. Great location. The few cons were:1) the elevator near our room was broken (no sign), 2) when we first arrived it was hard to find both the building & our room, there was limited signage - we would have liked a map of the area - we stayed in the Villas, & we were lost getting there.( & we met other folks who had the same concern with getting lost 3) no wireless in the rooms, which we think could have been a nice perk since it is a modern hotel in a big city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience! We take pride to see our guests leaving with the best memories! We look forward to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at the Caribe Hilton for one night before a cruise, flying from the UK and getting to the hotel early evening. We stayed again after the cruise for two nights that enabled us to get on the BA flight schedule again. I had read varying reviews of this hotel and therefore had an open mind as to what to expect. I found in general the staff helpful, They provided early check in on asking when we came off the cruise ship and provided late check out when we had an evening flight back to the UK. The room was comfortable and not as noisy as I had expected from other reviews.
The restaurants were a little indifferent. The Italian I would not bother with again. They are trying to be Italian however the evening we went they really could not be bothered and the food was not of a high standard. Mortons is typical Morton's steakhouse, expensive but good quality. Lemongrass restaurant was a good standard but overpriced in my opinion.
Breakfasts were of reasonable quality but quite pricy for what you got.
The beach bar/ restaurant was Ok but nothing special.
Overall a good hotel for transiting between cruise ships and flights however not somewhere I would actively stay at for a full holiday.

Room Tip: Choose on of the refurbished ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you left feeling that way in regards of the prices and the Restaurants. It is our goal to fulfill all our guests needs. We love to see all of them leave with the best memories. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I booked a room for the Caribe and asked for an upgrade. Since there is a language barrier I thought the desk help said there were none available. So when I got a room in the attached property of the "Villas" and found it to be old, in need of paint and far from the rest of the property, I thought since I didnt get upgraded I wouldnt complain. Then when the bill came I found out that it was an upgraded room with the charge for it. I called to complain that this was not what I would call an upgraded room, but they said I had initialed the check in paper so therefore the charge would stand. When I ask to talk to a manager , they said one would call me back, but never did. So I overpaid for an old tired room, with an ocean view if you leaned out over the balcony. I would have rather stayed in a lower priced room in the main hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel not the Villas unless you want things like a stove, dishwasher etc and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We had a room in the tower. We left after one day. Disgusting. Breakfast was horrible - cold.
Drink order was all messed up. We checked out early and moved to the Ritz. We ran into another couple that had also checked out. I am a Diamond Member and still think this is a big joke. This is NOT a 4 star hotel. What a joke !!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.