We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort in San Juan!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 Fall Rates
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort in San Juan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Caribe Hilton in San Juan. The rooms were very nice, though they were going under construction which made for a few restless nights of sleep. The restaurants on site were very good. I highly recommend the Italian restaurant/Rotisserie Il Giardino. Their Oasis lounge was also great and the staff/bartenders there were very friendly. The pool area was great, the beach area ok, but had a dock with lots of lounge area! We would recommend this resort and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the noise inconvenience. We are always at your service. Waiting for your next visit to our Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    1,489
    694
    388
    222
See reviews for
906
1,291
122
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I were there on a vacation. We wanted to go on vacation but at the time my husband did not have a passport so we had to settle with Puerto Rico. The one really negative thing about it is that it was not all inclusive. We had to pay for every meal and it was a hassle.

The beach is rather small. There is only a portion of the hotel that is accessible to the beach although the hotel is surrounded by the ocean which is very pretty to look at but inaccessible. If you are on one of the top floors, you can have a great view of the beach.

The food was okay. My husband and I ended up going to the store a block away and getting food for lunch so we wouldn't have to pay hotel prices. There is also a Subway down the street. We spent good money on dinner but figured we could do away we a cheap and light lunch.

The hotel is only a bus ride ( or if you feel up to it about a 2-3 mile walk) away from down town San Juan which was great. If you are into exploring the city and going shopping it is the place to be. They also have authentic Puerto Rican restaurants and supermarkets downtown.

The tropical gardens are beautiful and so are the birds.

We had dinner at the sushi restaurant there and it was EXCEPTIONAL. It was by far the best sushi dinner I have ever had. I was there in August 2008( not 2011, the calendar does not go back that far) and my husband and I still talk about that dinner. It was rather expensive but everything about it was amazing( the food, the service, the location). I can't recall the name of the restaurant but it is the only sushi restaurant on the hotel grounds and it is located by the gardens.

Overall, it was a good time. I was looking for something different and more secluded but that doesn't make this a bad hotel. If you are going to San Juan, this is the place to stay but don't expect a luxurious, totally relaxing, fun Caribbean vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at the Caribe Hilton Dec 12 thru Dec 15, 2011 and had a terrific time. The food at the resturants are expensive but there is a Subway around the corner that cooks breakfast on a hot plate. Also the trip to Old San Juan is not real expensive by taxi and you can catch the transit or even walk to old san Juan if you are in good health. I'm 69 and I did it. The Oceanside view from the main building was terrific. I believe room 840. The other side is OK but not as great. The weather was great. Low 70's at night, low 80's during the day. We slept with the sliding glass open and listened to the Ocean 24/7. Many conventions are held at the hotel and the ex-president of the Dominican republic was there having a breakfast to kick off his re-election bid thursday morning..

Room Tip: There are Ocean View rooms and then there are "OCEAN VIEW ROOMS". If you are not happy wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you had a good time with us!
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at this property as part of a conference and extended our stay for a few days afterwards. Service was acceptable during the conference, but once the conference was over the staff was clearly changed to their second tier staff. Service deteriorated to below average and became unacceptable. Below is a list of issues with this hotel and why we would choose not to return:
1. Although the pool looks nice on pictures and in reality, the fact remains that it is freezing cold!
2. Wireless internet is only available in the lobby.
3. Internet access in your room costs $ 8 per day and is extremely slow..not business friendly.
4. Business center is rarely staffed.
5. Although there is a beach it is small. Thank heavens the ocean is warmer than the pool!
6. Breakfast buffet at Palmeras is extremely slow, as the hostesses seem to be working at a snails pace. On weekends there can be dozens of empty, set tables, yet there is a 20 minute wait for you to be seated! Food is good, especially the made to order omelettes.What you are charged for breakfast seems to be based on a magic eightball, since every day I was charged something different, despite the same people going and eating the same things!
7. Household service is inconsistent: one day they replace your in room coffee, the next day they replace your shampoos, but no day is ever the same consistent service.
8. There is a Starbucks, be prepared to wait as this one must be in the guiness book of records for world's slowest Starbucks!
9. The concierge is quiet arrogant and does not offer many alternatives beyond the rather pricey menu of bus tours they have on their list.
10. Security? Is there any? The open plan of the lobby allows anyone to wander onto the property at any time, so if you have kids, keep an eye on them at all times!
11. The property is located in an isolated area and there are no stores within walking distance. You'd have to take a taxi everywhere, including old San Juan.
12. There is a small airport nearby and small charter planes start taking off right over the hotel beginning at 6am!

Thank heavens for tropical drinks...the Atlantico Pool bar has an offer whereby you buy a shaker with whatever tropical drink you want for around $22 the first time. You keep the shaker and bring it back to the bar for refills that are $16 and fill about four 16 ounce glasses. They may count on patrons having a couple of these to help them forget about the poor service at this property.

And last but not least, they do claim to have invented the first Pina Colada which has caused a feud with a restaurant called Barrachina, in old San Juan. Apparently the same bartender, don Ramon Portas Mingot, worked at both places back in 1963. Having done a tast test of both in the same evening, we concluded that both recipes have since diverged significantly and personally we preferred the version at Barrachina.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you left the Caribe Hilton feeling this way. We apologize for each of this experiences that you shared with us. We will address to the different areas for our Management to help us maintain our levels of Service at all times among our staff. When we fail to meet the expectations of one of our guests, it causes great concern. We hope that you give us another opportunity to welcome you to the Caribe Hilton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The beach here is one of the best in San Juan. The pina coladas, supposedly invented here, are delicious. The wired Internet, $8/day, is not fast enough to make it easy to use modern Web services such as Gmail (and of course you can forget about streaming video!).

My renovated room in the main building has pretty nice furniture. I haven't figured out how to get the room cleaned, though. I called the guest service "hot line" at noon, saying that I would be out to lunch and could they please clean the room. They did not. So I went down to the front desk at 4:40 pm and asked that the room be cleaned while I was out to dinner. It was not.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we would like to apologize for the experience with the cleanliness of your room. It is our goal to make every guest happy and to fulfill their needs. We really hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the Caribe Hilton as part of the pre/post cruise experience we had with Royal Caribbean through the aforementioned company. We paid extra for the after cruise stay as the hotel looked fabulous on-line and it did not disappoint in reality.
However we were disappointed by the service which for such a big name (and price) was poor. We arrived after 17 hours travelling time and were directed, rather than personally escorted to our room, having to carry our own luggage. That would have been OK if the room numbers were correctly or logically arranged, ok perhaps we were suffering from sleep deprivation but they didn't look any clearer when we were fully compus mentus! Oh and then we were woken at 7am after 4 hours sleep for a mistaken alarm call with no apology.
The concierge was also only interested in offering advice if it involved booking a pre-arranged tour or a taxi but if we asked how to do it ourselves a map was roughly shoved in our hands and we were summarily dismissed. Everywhere was "10 minutes by taxi" whereas in reality many places were within walking distance and public transport is good, cheap (sometimes free)and reliable.
Just because you want to treat yourselves to a lovely hotel after a hard year's work does not mean you are rich enough to throw your money around. Think we'll backpack next time!

Room Tip: The garden villas have a lovely view over the bay without being in a high rise block however the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t feel comfortable. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Caribe Hilton has the best location of all the hotels we saw and the staff are all friendly and provide outstanding service. I wish we could have stayed longer but next time we will. The hotel is very close to historic Old San Juan and it also has a nice clean beach if you want to hang out. I was also pleased to find their were several options for dining and drinking.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.