We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This property and the staff are a first class operation. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is superb, the hotel is extremely clean, great rooms/suites, the showers are amazing, very nice restaurant. They also have onsite shops selling many touristy gifts. I would definitely stay again. There were also many kids activities available too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Glad to hear that you liked our Hotel! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    1,425
    654
    373
    212
See reviews for
878
1227
117
599
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in January. The Positive: The resort location and grounds are superb. Located right on the beach with a protected lagoon for swimming, the setting is beautiful. We enjoyed swimming in the ocean and then in the pools. My son also enjoyed the tropical garden with the birds. The staff was friendly and nice. The Negative: We stayed in a 2 queen room in the villas. It is an easy walk from the villas to the lobby and Starbucks. The room was small and in need of an update. There were many stains on the carpet, mold around the bathtub caulking and seals, and chips in the paint. The package I got had a $100 resort credit. This was not shown on the final bill, and I had to take care of it with the front desk. We will not stay here again until the rooms are refurbished.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way. We really hope to welcome you again here at the Caribe Hilton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, Nj
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel has different environments, all very nice. You have the small, quaint private beach to one side and a quiet place in the back where the Japanese restaurant is located (forgot the name of it) The food in that restaurant is something else - delicious and very different from any Japanese food I've ever eaten. The chef is a true artist. There are little birds walking around lose in that part of the hotel and the sounds of crickets. The rooms are okay. Mine faced a very nice green area.

I had a problem with the floor as I walked in - I almost slipped badly a couple of times. When I called to let management know they told me all the floors were like that. The next day when they noticed how many towels I had placed on the floor they dried it and I never had that problem again during my stay. An elderly person could have had a big problem if they slipped on the wet floor. The cleaning staff has no idea about the meaning of towels on the floor in the bathroom (which means you want them replaced, at least in the US) and would hang the dirty towels back on the racks. But the hotel deserves four stars because the location is absolutely gorgeous.

Room Tip: Make sure you complain right away if you get a damp floor. Don't believe when they say there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you left with that impression about the cleanliness. We will address this to the Housekeeping Manager. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our family recently stayed at the Caribe. We were impressed with the property and enjoyed our stay. Everything was clean and fresh. The staff was always pleasant and went out of their way to be sure their guest were happy. Kudos to the management for staffing the right people and offering great service. Love it and we will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our property. Thank you for the feedback!! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugz415
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Caribe Hilton for five nights. We are frequent Hilton customers so we were looking forward to this highly recommended resort. The resort is beautiful, but a little off the mark in some aspects.

1) Room: we stayed in the Hilton Honors Tower and had an ocean view. The room was smallish but modern and seemed clean. We had a small balcony as well. The bathroom was pretty spacious and nice. There was construction noise from the parking garage each morning but it wasn't overwhelming. It would be much more annoying on a lower floor I imagine. Oh and the pillows are giant. As in, if you sleep on only one pillow you will wake up with a stiff neck. I am normally a 2 pillow girl, but these were kinda ridiculous! My husband had the same issue.
2) Pool area: The pool area is huge. There are plenty of umbrellas and lounges. The lounge chairs are not the most comfortable though. My biggest complaint is that the pool was freezing. We had nice weather, about eighty degrees, but the only people in the pool were little children because it was too cold. More people were swimming in the ocean than in the pool.
3) Service: Now this is where they really need to focus. My husband and I sat down at the pool one afternoon for lunch around 1pm. No one came to take our order until 2pm. The food we got was just ok. My husband had a chicken sandwich and I had the shrimp skewers. The shrimp skewers were over cooked and very dry. They were served with "garlic bread" which was wonder bread with garlic butter on it. We each had 2 drinks and the total before tip was over $100. I understand paying resort prices, but for the quality we really felt like we were getting ripped off. The drinks at the pool are $12 each. If they were fancy tropical cocktails, fine. But they taste like they are mostly sour mix and don't have much alcohol in them. The second day we found out they have shakers available for $22 and you can refill them for sixteen dollars. You get about 4 drinks in each so that is a pretty good deal.
4) Location: I will give them great points for location. The view is beautiful and the resort is close to the airport and Old San Juan for touring.

I am fine paying the resort prices if you feel you are getting a value and are being taken care of while on vacation. I didn't get that vibe here. Not alot of smiles or hellos from the staff, with one exception. Arlene, at the pool was very nice. She waited on us our second day and was the one who told us about the shaker special. She was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this property in January before taking a cruise. We thought we'd be safe booking a Hilton Hotel, but were terribly disappointed. The grounds were nice, but the rooms were worse than a one star property. The carpets looked ancient and worn; the paint around the door frames was all chipped; the furniture in the room looked like it was 50 yrs old and all nicked; and the room had a very musty odor. The buffet breakfast was very poor quality and overpriced. We definitely would not stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone, even if the price was considerably less than the $300 per night we paid.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks for the review! We are right now on a renovation process; we just finished half of the Main Building! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton before and after our cruise. The property is absolutely breathtaking.We received room upgrades before and after to balcony ocean views.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Great! We love to have you back with us! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.