We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay at the Caribe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Plainville, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay at the Caribe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our family recently stayed at the Caribe. We were impressed with the property and enjoyed our stay. Everything was clean and fresh. The staff was always pleasant and went out of their way to be sure their guest were happy. Kudos to the management for staffing the right people and offering great service. Love it and we will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our property. Thank you for the feedback!! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    1,433
    656
    373
    213
See reviews for
882
1,235
118
605
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hugz415
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Caribe Hilton for five nights. We are frequent Hilton customers so we were looking forward to this highly recommended resort. The resort is beautiful, but a little off the mark in some aspects.

1) Room: we stayed in the Hilton Honors Tower and had an ocean view. The room was smallish but modern and seemed clean. We had a small balcony as well. The bathroom was pretty spacious and nice. There was construction noise from the parking garage each morning but it wasn't overwhelming. It would be much more annoying on a lower floor I imagine. Oh and the pillows are giant. As in, if you sleep on only one pillow you will wake up with a stiff neck. I am normally a 2 pillow girl, but these were kinda ridiculous! My husband had the same issue.
2) Pool area: The pool area is huge. There are plenty of umbrellas and lounges. The lounge chairs are not the most comfortable though. My biggest complaint is that the pool was freezing. We had nice weather, about eighty degrees, but the only people in the pool were little children because it was too cold. More people were swimming in the ocean than in the pool.
3) Service: Now this is where they really need to focus. My husband and I sat down at the pool one afternoon for lunch around 1pm. No one came to take our order until 2pm. The food we got was just ok. My husband had a chicken sandwich and I had the shrimp skewers. The shrimp skewers were over cooked and very dry. They were served with "garlic bread" which was wonder bread with garlic butter on it. We each had 2 drinks and the total before tip was over $100. I understand paying resort prices, but for the quality we really felt like we were getting ripped off. The drinks at the pool are $12 each. If they were fancy tropical cocktails, fine. But they taste like they are mostly sour mix and don't have much alcohol in them. The second day we found out they have shakers available for $22 and you can refill them for sixteen dollars. You get about 4 drinks in each so that is a pretty good deal.
4) Location: I will give them great points for location. The view is beautiful and the resort is close to the airport and Old San Juan for touring.

I am fine paying the resort prices if you feel you are getting a value and are being taken care of while on vacation. I didn't get that vibe here. Not alot of smiles or hellos from the staff, with one exception. Arlene, at the pool was very nice. She waited on us our second day and was the one who told us about the shaker special. She was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this property in January before taking a cruise. We thought we'd be safe booking a Hilton Hotel, but were terribly disappointed. The grounds were nice, but the rooms were worse than a one star property. The carpets looked ancient and worn; the paint around the door frames was all chipped; the furniture in the room looked like it was 50 yrs old and all nicked; and the room had a very musty odor. The buffet breakfast was very poor quality and overpriced. We definitely would not stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone, even if the price was considerably less than the $300 per night we paid.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks for the review! We are right now on a renovation process; we just finished half of the Main Building! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton before and after our cruise. The property is absolutely breathtaking.We received room upgrades before and after to balcony ocean views.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Great! We love to have you back with us! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I go to Puerto Rico often and if possible I will always stay at the Caribe Hilton. From the tropical feel of the lobby to the tremendous staff who always recognize me and go out of their way to make sure I'm happy it is my favorite place on the island.

Room Tip: The rooms with ocean views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Great!! We love to hear this!! This is our goal making every guest feel like home. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

the Caribe Hilton is a wonderful place to spend a week of relaxing holiday.
People see Puerto Rico as a place to start a cruise but it is a lot more than that.
Caribe Hilton has a fabolous set up. the beach and the pools are just gorgeous, the customer service throught the hotel is second to none.The staff is trained to do all they can to make your stay relaxing and pleasant.
The view from each room is magnificent, and all together, we had a wonderful holiday.
The weather is ideal, warm but always a refreshing breeze, just perfect.
We will definitely go back.
M K

Room Tip: I thinkg all rooms are ocean vew
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very proud that you feel this way about our property! Thank you again for your feedback! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My organization had a mid year meeting at the historical Caribe Hilton. The exterior of the property is well cared for. The staff is friendly. The gym is lovely. So some of the cylinders are firing. Here is where they miss - The rooms are very tired. They are not well cleaned. The banquet food is inedible. The ladies lockers havent been updated since the 1950's The spa charged first class prices but does not have first class amenities. There is no nightlife in the hotel so one must take a cab to other properties. I think management has to have conversation with itself and determine what kind of a hotel the Hilton wants to be - a first class convention property or a faded grand dame who's time has come and gone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks for the review! We are right now on a renovation process; we just finished half of the Main Building! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.