We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business and Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good for Business and Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

It's not often I say that a hotel is good for business - and family, yet the Caribe Hilton of San Juan has never disappointed as a good place to stay during business travel and when I have my family with me. The employees of the hotel are all nice and friendly. I would steer clear of the non-hotel owned valet company and park your car yourself; they've dented my rental car on two occasions, are expensive and failed to pay when asked. They also just watch you pull up to the hotel and don't approach your car unless you literally get out and make them notice you. I guess the salary is better than the tips . . .

The hotel has plenty of open space to relax or work - - or just watch the parrots squawk in their outdoor cage. There is a Starbucks in the lobby that opens really, really early in the morning and has great last minute gifts. If you are a Hilton Honors member, you can use your breakfast coupons at the Starbucks vs. cash. The many pool areas are great for kids and adults of all ages and the beach is small enough to enjoy, yet large enough to not be crowded. The rooms are spacious - I recommend staying at one of the Condado Villas or in the Garden Wing of the main hotel if you need extra space or have family with you. Keep the camera near also, there is a great display of peacock, swans, Koi and other wildlife right in the hotel garden area. If you stay in the Villas, avoid the ground level, as workers and people fishing frequent the ally way behind the hotel where there is no barrier between the road and people can look right into your villa room (and see you).

The hotel is about 15 min. ride from the airport and located just a short car ride (maybe 2 miles) to Ole' San Juan area.

Room Tip: The Condado Villas or the Garden Wing rooms appear to be the nicest at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,005
    1,358
    626
    357
    204
See reviews for
816
1173
112
569
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Welcome to Paradise! We stayed here the night before and after our cruise. The staff and grounds are wonderful and well kept. The building and rooms are in good shape - we would definitely stay at the Caribe again. Drinks and food were very pricey here, but that is almost expected in this area. You need a taxi to get to the Old San Juan and the cruise terminal. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the airport (without traffic or a road race). Bring your mask and snorkel for the swimming area, there are quite a few fish that they feed.

Room Tip: Ask for a caribbean sea view window with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Great!! This is wonderful to hear! Hope we see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I say "Very Good" for San Juan...I'd say "Average" for the Caribbean.

Pros:
Private beach
Large pool area
Good Bars (they claim the Pina Colada was invinted at the lobby bar here)
Mortons Steakhouse adjacent to the hotel
Starbucks in the lobby
Convinient (by car) to Old San Juan, Isla Grande Airport, Condado and Hato Rey
Good rates (Corporate rate is $139/nt)

Cons:
Some rooms are a little tired.
Some rooms are a little noisy
Very few offsite shops/restaurants, bars, etc. within walking distance

I am biased towards Hiltons due to their rewards program, but this is my first choice for San Juan hotels when traveling on business due to the access to highways and business districts. It is resort style hotel, but serves all purposes as a business hotel...and when staying in the Caribbean, why not stay on the water and feel like you're at a resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you for your feedback of our property. We really appreciate the honest opinion of our guest. About the rooms, we are remodeling our Main Building as we speak! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My husband, 14-month-old daughter and I just returned from a week-long stay at the Caribe Hilton. We enjoyed our vacation. The lobby was pretty and open and the hotel grounds were gorgeous. We loved relaxing by, and swimming in, the pools and ocean and talking walks to Old San Juan and the Condado. Our room was pretty standard, though it had a nicely-styled bathroom, a balcony and a beautiful ocean view. We found service at the Caribe to be decent except for one instance that made an otherwise fantastic trip simply very good. When we arrived to the hotel at the beginning of our trip, the staff member who checked us in was clipped in her delivery and did not go over any amenities with us or any details at all regarding our stay. We were simply given two sets of keys and left completely on our own to figure out everything we needed to know. When it came time to check out, eight days later, my husband questioned why the two breakfasts we ate at The Palmeras restaurant did not show up on our bill. Well, it turned out the breakfast buffet which typically cost $23/person (and free for babies) was free for our entire stay, yet no one told us!!! This was a major snafu in an otherwise wonderful vacation. Because meals were pricey, we usually just had Starbucks or granola bars for breakfast and our daughter ate jarred baby food. On the two days we enjoyed the breakfast buffet at The Palmeras, we had delicious omelets and oatmeal, fresh fruit and pastries, fresh-squeezed juices, lovely cheeses, bacon, sausage, french toast, pancakes and yogurts and our baby could eat as much as she liked! When we found out we could have been enjoying this breakfast each day of our eight-day stay because it was included in our vacation package, we were so disappointed! So, so disappointed! We had to make two trips to Walgreens over the course of our vacation to get our baby more jarred baby food because we just couldn't find enough fresh and soft food she could eat (like bananas, yogurt, oatmeal, cheese and eggs). She could have eaten these things each day if someone had just told us what we were entitled to as part of our package! When we asked the staff about this issue at our check out, they apologized and comped the "extras" we had charged to our room, drinks by the pool and a pool float for our baby totaling $50. But that would have been worth just one breakfast we were entitled to, not the additional five breakfasts which would have cost $250 more. It just mostly saddens me that our baby could have been eating the kinds of foods she eats at home during our stay if someone had taken the time to properly inform us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay. We will like to know a little bit more about your stay. Can you contact us directly to nitzamarie.escalera@hilton.com. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night before our Royal Caribbean cruise. The employees were all very nice and helpful. We did encounter a slow check-in, but the open air lobby is lovely and the view to the ocean is wonderful. We stayed in a lagoon view room with a small kitchenette. i believe the room was newly remodeled or this section is new, but, we had a few issues. The room was difficult to find and we seemed to be in a maze of hallways and outdoor spaces to reach our room. When we arrived at our room and opened the door there was an overwhelming smell of mildew or something. I do not have any type of allergies, but, if someone was forced to stay in this room that had allergies I would hope the hotel would be able to accomodate them and give them a different room. We immediately asked for another room because of the smell and we were promised an ocean view ( not a lagoon view ) room. we were told that the hotel was booked to capacity. Oh well..one night won't kill anyone!
The location is not the best if you want to walk arouond to find a bar or restaurant to go to. For dinner the one night we were there, we ate at a small bar in the hotel called Pina Coladas-the bartender was super and recommened several items on the menu that were local. The food was fine...nothing outstanding. In the morning, we got coffee at the Starbucks in the lobby and we walked over to an adjacent park and then grabbed a quick sandwich at a Subway around the block from the hotel before we left for the port.
The pool area and sandy beach area are quite beautiful and the grounds were very nice, but, with all the hotels in the area and the price we paid for our one night stay, I feel there are probably much better choices.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing with us, we really appreciate. We like every piece of information that will help us to improve our service. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We got a package deal for air/hotel that included full breakfast. Breakfast at the Palmeras restaurant was excellent. Pool and beach area are great. The hotel has a private beach on a small cove with shallow water good for kids. The resort has all the typical services - spa, bar, restaurants all on-site. Bar/restaurants are pricey!!

Room Tip: Main tower has beach view - Garden wing view is not very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I like this place. Have stayed there twice on business. Very convenient to just about everything and the view of the water is great from many of the rooms and from the main breakfast restaurant. Rooms are well done and the hotel is quiet.

Good selection of restaurants for breakfast. I have not yet tried their restaurants for dinner as there is so much to choose from in old San Juan. There is even a Starbucks on the hotel property.

Very convenient to old San Juan and all of the attractions there. The hotel even has portions of the old fortifications adjacent to it.

Not sure if I would want to stay for a long vacation - but for business or for a day or two before a cruise or such -- you couldn't do any better.

One small complaint -- there is no wifi in the rooms -- for a business traveler, this is a bummer.

Room Tip: Be sure to pick an ocean view room and one on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your great review! We truly appreciated! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.