We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place, Unique staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Milan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unique place, Unique staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Hilton Tower magnificent view, quiet, comfort, spacious shower
Hotel Caribe Hilton has a rare 60ies atmosphere very much Fleming flavor that immediately make you feel in a James Bond movie, but with updates standards. The only private beach of San Juan coast, the best Pina Colada in the planet. Besides the good food of the restaurants, the many activities offered every day, from Yoga morning sessions to Pilates to Sand Castles, organized in a discreet way, the point that make the difference of this hotel is the way the client is served: a customized service. Their kindness is truly genuine, their care to satisfy their hosts is taken is a serious way and you can feel it.
You recognize a great hotel from a big hotel not when things are going smooth, but when something go wrong. In my personal case I hurt myself in the beach and immediately the Security staff appears and took care of me with competence and kindness. They kept taking care of my little injury since the day I left. In this respect a special thanks to Mr Hector Merced. During our stay, my husband and I anytime we asked for help or info or the many request a client during a long stay (almost two weeks) may have Hilton Staff attend with prompt efficiency and friendly smile. Highly recommended: Hilton standard with a family care.

Room Tip: Hilton Tower magnificent view, quiet, comfort, spacious shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,003
    1,357
    624
    356
    203
See reviews for
814
1171
111
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

I've grown up staying at the Caribe Hilton and each time it continues to improve. Family friendly. Clean grounds and hotel rooms. Friendly staff. Beautiful pool / beach area with hammocks too. Food is your average raised price menu (I suggest visiting Old San Juan for traditional dishes at better cost). Quick taxi to OSJ ($12) or Condado, you can also walk the distance. I really have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Hilton need to speed up the renovation of this hotel and do something about lunches.

Booked in for a conference we specified a 2-bed room, ocean view with balcony. Allocated a smelly room on the 16th floor of the tower which had a filthy carpet, tired furniture, and an inadequate shower. They proposed a room on the 17th floor which was only marginally less disgusting. Finally they provided a room on the 8th floor of the main building which was acceptable, though all rooms had double, not twin, beds and the bath tub (at last) showed signs of recently treated mould. Due to the eccentric lift I found myself on the 6th floor which is having a substantial makeover . . . . not, I suspect, before time.

An essential requirement of a conference hotel is good quick lunches at reasonable cost. This Hilton provided:
- a small pseudo-Italian restaurant with seating for around 80 people. Av. price $40 per person
- the Pina Colada bar which provided meals only at weekends and then took ages to deliver even the simplest of meals such as a (tired) cheese-plate
- the Lemongrass "Asian-Latino" restaurant. This was not open at lunch and in the evening was expensive and given to mistaken adventures into fusion food.
- a tiny but welcome Starbucks!

Pricing was real nickel & dime. A "special" room rate of $180 turned out to be $221 inc. fees and taxes, and continental breakfast was an additional $17.25 each. Fortunately the conference organisers had arranged full refund of the extortionate internet access from the rooms.

Staff were varied in quality, only really acceptable in the Palmeras breakfast restaurant which was inexplicably closed at lunchtime. Checkout was: "Here's your bill, we've got your credit card, have a nice day"

The site is magnificent and the outdoor facilities seemed good. But major refurbishment is needed, staff attitudes changed and as a conference hotel Hilton need to do a serious re-think.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This was my 3rd stay at the Caribe Hilton and probably the best, actually. Typically we like to stay in Condos in Puerto Rico but we did discover a real jewel with something we did different this time.
I highly would recommend the cooked to order buffet breakfast. Espresso bar, stunning views of Puerto Rican beach, they make a cooked to order breakfast and probably the best array of fruits and breakfast items that I have ever experienced. It was well worth the money to add it to the room, and believe that you can plan it w your itinerary even cheaper if in advance.

Orlando, their employee at Palmera Restaurant gave us exceptional service. He offered great service even by the Puerto Rican standards which are way superior to most places in the U.S. We had such a wonderful breakfast and the best tasting papayas and mangoes ever....!

Be aware that if you bring a car there is a daily parking fee. It is well worth getting off the plane and taking a cab for a couple of days from the airport just to avoid for a couple of first beach days. Tip:
We got off the plane and the taxi prices are fixed. Don't even bother negotiating those. But if you find tourists like yourself standing outside waiting for a taxi, just discreetly ask them if they are also going to the Caribe Hilton. That is exactly what we did and instead of paying $25., we split the fare of $30. (they charge a flat rate and then add for each suitcase and person). Tourism is basically the main stream of income in Puerto Rico. Just accept that and make it work for you.

Why not just stay at Caribe buy the great breakfast buffet, get a snack for lunch and then go to one of the restaurants there on site for dinner for your first few days? Restaurants are Morton's -wow wow- w shrimp alexander and check online for web specials as they do not mention them unless you do....-the other is an italian restaurant but I order Comida Criolla -basic churassco steak, habicuelas=beans and rice w avocado. yum.

One thing to consider: Avoid at all costs the Hertz desk-we booked a full sized car and the snippy Neuyorican lady behind the counter insisted we keep the reservation and take a compact. What?! for a full sized price?? Sorry, but why would we do that? For a rental car the best price in San Juan these days is at the Enterprise place. Take a shuttle or taxi back to the airport. You'll be glad you did. The other rental agency is only for like a one day rental. Enterprise offers better week rates, and a much better selection.

Bell Service was excellent, front desk efficient and the parrots on site are hilarious. Also there is a starbucks on site. You can go to the business center 24/7, or get internet in the lobby.

If you are taking a cruise, this is the best place to go. Really. You just have to know these little tricks to make it your best vacation ever!

Room Tip: Get a Villa or Reserve an ocean room view in the tower, not the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Excellent hotel......great service and wonderful employees!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

With everyone saying how great the hotel is because of the people I guess I was there the night they were all off.

Check in
They were bombarded when I arrived to check in but it still took them an hour to check in the 5 guests in front of me. This is totally unacceptable. It was so bad I write the hotel to complain to which I did receive an apology letter.

Finding the room
After I finally received my room key I was off to my room. Well little did I know the mumbled directions I was given by the front desk employee were worthless. It was something like go straight, turn right and you'll see a sign turn there and you room is ahead. That would have been sufficient if this place was huge. I ended up going back to the desk to get a map and I was not alone I saw at least 8 other people that were also lost trying to find their rooms.

Room
The room itself was fine. Standard Caribbean decor.

Bathroom
No problems even with hot water in the morning.

Food
There are no close restaurant to walk to so you are stuck at the hotel without taking an expensive cab ride (they are all expensive no matter how close). The food was OK and the beer was cold but it was VERY EXPENSIVE! I ended up paying like $30-35 for 2 beers and fish tacos.

Price
The price was not bad at all but it not really close to Old San Juan so you are going to pay $25 round trip for a cab from the hotel and back. I would rather stay close to Old San Juan and pay more a night.

Overall I was very disappointed with this Hilton. I really got the impression no one really cared and everything was lip service to the tourists.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed for a day at the Caribe Hilton on each side of our cruise. The check in was very easy. Dinner at Morton's was as good as any Morton's I've ever been to. The views from our room were spectacular. I can't imagine staying at another hotel when we return to San Juan.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.