We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in San Juan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel in San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a nice time in the hotel. The pool bar was fun and the service was great. The rooms (in the villa) were clean. We were supposed to have ocean view but didn't. The front desk was minimally helpful in obtaining a wheelchair for my friend. The brunch was overpriced but good. Lunch at the pool bar was average but the wraps at the restuarant in the front (name escaping me) were very good (and cheaper). Good location. Nice beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,043
    1,393
    645
    369
    211
See reviews for
866
1202
115
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

"OMG" what a wonderful 5 days and 4 nights at this awesome hotel with my two best girlfriends. We arrived around 6 pm and it was such a easy check-in. We were upgraded to the HH towers and we even got vouchers for complimentary continental breakfast every morning. Wow! the oatmeal was so delicious. Although the following days the oatmeal was warm, I had to asked to reheat it. I upgraded my breakfast a couple of days to eggs, potatoes, bacon, for $6.00 you can't beat that price. We ate at Morton Steakhouse one night, which was OK, had happy hour on other night at Mortons which we loved it was so crowed with "MEN" because of the political event happening at the hotel. Steve at Morton's was very friendly and accomandating. Our last night we ate at the Italian Restaurant excellant food. Johnny and Leo were our waiters so friendly and funny. We met a wonderful couple from New York celebrating their 50th anniversary and have been visiting Caribe Hilton since their honeymoon. They suggested a Rigotti dish with hugh shrimp and we order the spagetti dish, caesar salad, fresh hot bread brought to our table everything was soooo delicious. We had puerto rican coffee (decaf) and coconut flan...OMG this was a dinner we will never forget. We ended our last night drinking mojitos at the Oasis bar and met some "cuties"!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Wonderful! Making special celebrations even bigger is our specialty! Thanks for the support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I read some of the poor reviews and was a little nervous what to expect, but WOW was I the most pleasantly surprised ever!!! We were given this trip as a second honeymoon and this was the best vacation my husband and I of fourteen years have ever had!!! The resort was the most beautiful, clean, friendliest place I have ever been! We stayed in the HH Tower upon request with much help from Frances Archilla who also reserved our cabana for a day which was every bit worth it! I have never had someone so concerned and work so hard to ensure I was happy before! She even came and visited us personally our first day there at our cabana to make sure we had everything we wanted. ALL of the staff there was extremely nice easy to talk to and eager to please. Many went out of their way for me and my husband I think simply because we were nice to them and treated them as fellow people, not servants. They were all very knowleagable and helpful with where to go with restaurants, tourism, etc. Our room was the nicest we have ever had with an incredible view of the lagoon as well as Atlantic. If you want a view of the Caribe Hilton's private beach and sunset, then stay in the Main Building. We were looking for a more private, higher view and were not disappointed! We had the most romantic, relaxing, wonderful time and hope we can return again sometime soon!!!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Caribe Hilton's private beach and sunset, then stay in the Main Buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
It's great to hear that we make your special celebration even more special!!! Kudos to Frances Archilla, great example of customer service at it's finest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We recently re-visited the Caribe Hilton for our15th time over 8 years. Although some major renavations are in progress the service and ameneties her at Caribe remain the best. The folks at the Pool Bar and the Oasis Bar are on top of thier game. Nelson the assistant Manager patrols the hotel and is always ready to fix your every need.
The hotels restaurants are wonderful, we especially love IL Giardino an Italian restaurant right in main lobby area, where Franco performs magically with table side ceasar salad.We say the Caribe is the best of the best!!!

Room Tip: we like the main building with Ocean view balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We really appreciate the support over the years! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I really loved this place. Upon our initial arrival I was told they did not have a room with a King Bed available and were placing me in a room with 2 doubles. I wasn't very happy with that as I am tall and find double beds to be on the short side. But if none was available I would see how it went. She did offer us a complimentary breakfast in Las Palmeras. Next I was told I was in the main building. I told the young lady I had read some reviews and if at all possible I really wanted to be in the tower building. She spent some time in the computer and I ended up in room 1264 with the most fantastic view I could have asked for. Luz was great.

We loved the grounds, the hammocks, and the beach and pool areas. I never had a problem getting a chair.

I really enjoyed getting the bread from the towel area and feeding the fish at the end of the pier. It was pretty cool. At night they had a spotlight shining there and we saw small sharks.

I agree with everyone that says their restaurants are overpriced for dinner. Lunches were ok and the Starbucks was decent. I did make a trip up the street to the Subway for dinner one evening which I then took back to my room and ate on the balcony with the fantastic view.

I would stay again

Room Tip: Definately try to get in the tower. We had room 1264 which has a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thank you for taking from your time to share your experience with us. We appreciate the support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Reading the poor reviews of the Caribe Hilton prompted me to respond. As someone who loves PR and the Caribe, I would not stay anywhere else in San Juan. The location is perfect, between the Condado strip and Old San Juan, has a wonderful history, (read up on the hotel before going and look at the pictures in the reception of the executive offices), the only hotel in SJ with a private beach, the best open air lobby, a fabulous staff and a welcoming vibe. I get out of the taxi and immediately decompress. The hotel has a very successful business, social and conference business, and can be busy,but that is part of the charm. I always meet some of the most interesting guests. If you are looking for a secluded all inclusive type of resort, this is not the place for you. I will agree some sections of the hotel are more pleasant than others. Request a room in the newly renovated main building or the tower. I have stayed in the villas, but feel it is more appropriate for families, and there is a smaller pool and beach access from the villas, so you do not have to go through the main lobby. Are there more inexpensive options, yes, but without the charm. Even the Intercontinental and Ritz Carlton, which will run more, are so far removed from the "action"
that the taxi fares do pile up. At Caribe, you can take a great 15 minute walk along the Atlantic to Old San Juan, spend a morning exploring, have lunch and be back in time to enjoy an afternoon at the great pool and beach. The Atlantico pool bar is the best. If you can't have a positive "attitude adjustment" there, it's not because of the environment or terrific long-term staff, who will welcome returning guests by name. I am returning in early January and cannot wait!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
We really appreciate your support! Great motivation for our team members to continue delivering great customer service! We work very hard to make all our guest feel welcome and it's worth it! Thank you again see you in January!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I loved everything about this hotel. The staff were really helpful and courteous, the rooms were nice and clean, everything worked, room service was excellent, there were a great choice of bars and restaurants... The best thing was location, right on the beach, I had a room on the 19th floor overlooking the sea and it was amazing! Even though I was on business, I felt like I was on holiday :)

Room Tip: get one sea facing and higher up if possible as if lower the trees or other buildings obsure the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for taking some of your time to validate that we do deliver great customer service! We really appreciated! This is what we love to hear!! See you on January! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.