We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start for a cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great start for a cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I've just returned from a Caribbean cruise where we boarded the ship in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We had 1 night at the Caribe Hilton Hotel beforehand and the grounds & facilities were amazing. The Caribe is right on the beach & we were lucky enough to have a room on the 9th floor so the views over San Juan and the coast line were excellent. The hotel rooms themselves could've done with a makeover, but the bed was super comfy & room was clean, which is the main thing & the reception staff were lovely. The hotel reception area is open plan & a few shops sit directly opposite check-in, (Starbucks was great for a well deserved coffee injection, after a long time flying) however Subway round the corner, wasn't that helpful as they seemed to have only Spanish & not very good English skills, so ordering was a bit eventful. Altogether a good start for a fabulous cruise.

Room Tip: Higher floors with an ocean view are must, the view is beautiful early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for sharing your time with us it is a wonderful thing to know that we took part on making your vacations memorable! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,006
    1,358
    626
    358
    204
See reviews for
817
1173
112
570
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I recently stayed at this Hilton and it was not for me. If you like corporate hotels or mega-complexes, you will have fun, but I thought the staff were, by and large, quite rude, the rooms were mediocre, and the place was simply too big. My room was so far away from the lobby that there was a shuttle operated by the bellhops- well, there was supposed to be. I arrived on Saturday night, when there was such a loud party in the lobby's restaurant area that the receptionist and I had to shout at each other to be heard (it was like being in a nightclub). The bellhop told me they were simply too busy valeting cars to operate the shuttle. Room service is eye-wateringly expensive, and was the only choice for late arrivals as the restaurants close at 11pm.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Condo Villas -- they are the furthest from the entrance and pool/beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are deeply sorry that you felt a lack of customer service during your stay with us. This is not what we work for everyday. This feedback will helps us to improve our service and for that we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

When we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised with the huge, open reception area where parrots squawked away. The check in staff were very friendly and we were offered an upgrade to an ocean view but declined due to not wanting to pay any more money plus we were happy to stay in a room with a garden view. When we got into our room, we were not happy with the view (all you could see was the top of a restaurant, not very nice) and we were promptly moved without any fuss. The room was clean and the cleaners were in every day changing towels and replacing toiletries etc. We were so pleased with their service that we left them a tip.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, with fish, peacocks, lizards, iguanas, geese and swans. The birds are night were happily singing away. There are plenty of pools to choose from and also the beach area. The pool bar was expensive and please be aware that they take payment by card only. We didn’t try out all of the restaurants but we did go to the Italian restaurant twice and it was very nice. The steak was beautiful and the staff were helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We also went to the Pina Colada Bar twice (can’t remember the exact name), the coconut popcorn shrimp were amazing! Don’t pay for cabs to get to Old San Juan, take the bus, it’s a short ride and only $0.50. The only very small thing that I would mention is that it would take nearly an hour for room service to arrive. We asked for a corkscrew and it took an hour. Another night we ordered food and that took about an hour too. I would like to point out though that when the staff did arrive they were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We are so please that you truly experience the real soul of our hotel! From the open air lobby to the great pool complex! Hope to see you back soon! Thank you for sharing this experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed here one night prior to a cruise. Check in was smooth, our room was in the tower looking west with a view of the ocean and Old San Juan. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The public areas were very nice and the employees were very pleasant. We would not hesitate to stay here again. The only negative thing was that our balcony was located over the restaurant air conditioning system and it was a bit noisey, we did mention this to the front desk at checkout and they deducted the hotel fee from our bill. We will be back! The location and views are great!

Room Tip: Higher floors looking east are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! This is our daily motivation to continue our duties! It's great to hear that all our efforts are worth it! Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel.they have an awesome beach w no waves perfect to float all day long.the service is awesome the drinks are the best ever(very expensive )but good.I think this is my new favorite place to go.they have lots of activities .the grounds are so well kept.can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for you support, we really appreciated! We are so glad that you love our property that is the best motivation to keep working everyday! Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for 8 days and were so happy with every aspect of this hotel. The front desk staff initiated assistance with a room-type problem and carried through quickly and pleasantly, the restaurant wait staff were efficient and appropriately chatty, and others we encountered always had a greeting and a smile. The pools, beach, and gardens are very nice and well kept, lots of palms trees, and a small reef viewing area. The hotel is convenient to Old San Juan ... about a 30 minute walk or take a frequent city bus a block from the hotel for 50 cents. Our only complaint would be that there were few restaurant options for lunch and they weren't open for dinner until 6:00. However, the food was good and the pina coladas were great !

Room Tip: We recommend a "tower" room ... newer and with large balcony and spectacular views. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your review! It's a pleasant thing to hear that although there was a misunderstanding with your room type we manage to solve it! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

I love this hotel is beautiful,stylish and sooo relaxing.the drinks at the pool bar are the best I ever had at any hotel .yes the drinks and food are expensive management should at least do some happy hour prices .i usually don't stay at the same hotels cuz we like to try new things but the caribe Hilton keep making us want to return .the staff are very courteous and helpful.I will be back in December :)





  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.