We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

When we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised with the huge, open reception area where parrots squawked away. The check in staff were very friendly and we were offered an upgrade to an ocean view but declined due to not wanting to pay any more money plus we were happy to stay in a room with a garden view. When we got into our room, we were not happy with the view (all you could see was the top of a restaurant, not very nice) and we were promptly moved without any fuss. The room was clean and the cleaners were in every day changing towels and replacing toiletries etc. We were so pleased with their service that we left them a tip.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, with fish, peacocks, lizards, iguanas, geese and swans. The birds are night were happily singing away. There are plenty of pools to choose from and also the beach area. The pool bar was expensive and please be aware that they take payment by card only. We didn’t try out all of the restaurants but we did go to the Italian restaurant twice and it was very nice. The steak was beautiful and the staff were helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We also went to the Pina Colada Bar twice (can’t remember the exact name), the coconut popcorn shrimp were amazing! Don’t pay for cabs to get to Old San Juan, take the bus, it’s a short ride and only $0.50. The only very small thing that I would mention is that it would take nearly an hour for room service to arrive. We asked for a corkscrew and it took an hour. Another night we ordered food and that took about an hour too. I would like to point out though that when the staff did arrive they were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We are so please that you truly experience the real soul of our hotel! From the open air lobby to the great pool complex! Hope to see you back soon! Thank you for sharing this experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    1,462
    663
    380
    217
See reviews for
893
1,256
120
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed here one night prior to a cruise. Check in was smooth, our room was in the tower looking west with a view of the ocean and Old San Juan. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The public areas were very nice and the employees were very pleasant. We would not hesitate to stay here again. The only negative thing was that our balcony was located over the restaurant air conditioning system and it was a bit noisey, we did mention this to the front desk at checkout and they deducted the hotel fee from our bill. We will be back! The location and views are great!

Room Tip: Higher floors looking east are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! This is our daily motivation to continue our duties! It's great to hear that all our efforts are worth it! Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel.they have an awesome beach w no waves perfect to float all day long.the service is awesome the drinks are the best ever(very expensive )but good.I think this is my new favorite place to go.they have lots of activities .the grounds are so well kept.can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for you support, we really appreciated! We are so glad that you love our property that is the best motivation to keep working everyday! Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for 8 days and were so happy with every aspect of this hotel. The front desk staff initiated assistance with a room-type problem and carried through quickly and pleasantly, the restaurant wait staff were efficient and appropriately chatty, and others we encountered always had a greeting and a smile. The pools, beach, and gardens are very nice and well kept, lots of palms trees, and a small reef viewing area. The hotel is convenient to Old San Juan ... about a 30 minute walk or take a frequent city bus a block from the hotel for 50 cents. Our only complaint would be that there were few restaurant options for lunch and they weren't open for dinner until 6:00. However, the food was good and the pina coladas were great !

Room Tip: We recommend a "tower" room ... newer and with large balcony and spectacular views. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your review! It's a pleasant thing to hear that although there was a misunderstanding with your room type we manage to solve it! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

I love this hotel is beautiful,stylish and sooo relaxing.the drinks at the pool bar are the best I ever had at any hotel .yes the drinks and food are expensive management should at least do some happy hour prices .i usually don't stay at the same hotels cuz we like to try new things but the caribe Hilton keep making us want to return .the staff are very courteous and helpful.I will be back in December :)





  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Nice hotel with lovely grounds, pools & beach. Stayed 1 night before a cruise and 99% of the service was excellent. Kudos to Max at the front desk! He was polite, professional, kind and courteous and resolved a check in problem to our full satisfaction. Nice Business Center with great view of ocean. Delicious Sunday buffet. Nice size room. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Tower II with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Great!!! Another team member that has gone above and beyond!! We really appreciate that you took the time to emphatize good service! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We booked this hotel to stay for one night when we flew into Puerto Rico before boarding a cruise ship. I made my decision based on the "Hilton" name and the pictures on thier website. The hotel was EXACTLY as it appears in the pictures. It is beautiful, clean, and the rooms are so spacious and beautiful. We knew the moment we got there, that we would be taking our next vacation at this hotel.

The service was excellent. A special shout out to the first person we made contact with, Julio, at the front desk. He seemed as happy to be there as we were. He was all smiles, kind, fun, informative, and a pleasant surprise to our day. Also very appreciated was the male server withing Starbucks in the lobby. I'm so sorry I didn't get his name but my husband and I loved talking to him and the service was great. The bartenders out at the swim up bar were right there to take your order and even the girl at the towel desk was very kind.

This must be a great place to work because the employees are terrific! Would advise anyone to go and enjoy this hotel. You will love the beach area, the lounge chairs at the pool, but most of all, the service.

Room Tip: Don't think there's a bad place here. We did a standard room and absolutely loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that Julio made such a good impression on you! We are very proud!! This is why we work everyday! Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.