We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Hotel with Private Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Poughquag, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Secluded Hotel with Private Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just got back from a week's vacation at the Caribe Hilton. Although the reviews state that the hotel restaurants were pricey, the prices were about average for the area. You have to remember it's an island and many food items are shipped here. The hotel was "dated" but was not a bad experience. Typical Hilton Hotel that is sprawling, reminded me of the Hilton in Hawaii. As for the room, we had a room in the Hilton Towers that was clean, modern with a huge bathroom shower. Our view was ocean view but it seems all rooms overlook a "roof" area down below. The beach area is a nice "cove" that isn't too far from the pool with hammocks nearby. One downfall is that there is an abandoned "Normandie" hotel next door. Boarded up windows and broken windows you could view from the beach area. Hilton should but that property as it's an eyesore to their hotel. If you want hustle and bustle, get a hotel in the "hotel zone" just down the road. Many restaurants to go to at night and people walking up and down the street. We had the breakfast buffet which was always very well stocked. I didn't find any problem with service at the hotel, everyone seemed very accommodating, no wait for check in at all and we came in on a Saturday. If I were to go back, I'd probably stay somewhere in the hotel zone as this hotel with it's abandoned neighbor hotel was a bit creepy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,003
    1,357
    625
    356
    203
See reviews for
815
1171
111
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed for 1 week on vacation. The pool and beach area are awesome, staff is friendly and helpful especially the Bartenders. Has a very nice open lobby and close to things to do.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Situated on a peninsula just outside of Old San Juan, this hotel is a fine place to stay while visiting this amazing island. The customer service is wonderful and the resort sports plenty of places to eat, drink, and satisfy your need to be on the beach. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: There are many options for rooms based on price...there will one to suit your perfect need
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at the Caribe Hilton for 2 nights before taking a cruise. Great hotel! Many different restaurants to choose from on site. Plenty of chairs around pool and beach area. Room was spacious and very comfortable bed. Great selection for breakfast. Beautiful grounds. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Although the pool and gardens at this hotel are quite lovely, the staff is less than friendly and the accommodations quite dated. The facility is in serious need of renovation. Not a good value and certainly below Hilton standards.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

changing rooms and always hair in the tub and sink no wi-fi roof paint falling we had to make sure to close the doors it was damage an got stock had to poll every time we left nice people was the exeption i always do in travel the deference was the view and the bar and lobby staff in one gift chop there is this girl named walesca che had more info to offer than the house keeping manager Alex ho need a supervisor to translate last time i spend that much for so

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I pricelined and by the luck of the draw Caribe Hilton was what we ended up with. Our stay was 9 nights, with my Hilton Honors account they upgraded us to an oceanview room for no charge. We were put on the Garden wing which is what I would recommend, it is on the side of the hotel which has the fort. The Garden view overlooks the small bird sanctuary (which has a beautiful peacock!) and Sweet Grass, it is more private than the other wings. We were impressed by the amenities and condition of the hotel, we caught them painting in different areas during our stay.

The pina colada's are good, but $12 a pop- so, go down to Old San Juan for a drink. The food is pretty terrible in the 2 restaurants we tried, but there is so much wonderful food in San Juan that you should not be eating in the hotel (it was the middle of a downpour both of our exceptions- May is rainy season).

The best part about the hotel was the location! You are just between the popular beach area and Old San Juan. The Condado beach area I would not recommend to stay in. It is more like frat party than a vacation, crappy food and the Conrad we tried for a drink is loud and cheap.

It is a $15 cab ride each way to Old San Juan and it is a hike, it can be done- but, be prepared to be really sweaty!!!

San Juan is awesome! My favorite trip everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.