We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach and pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice beach and pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Caribe Hilton. We had an ocean view/ balcony on the 11th floor. The room was clean and well appointed. We booked through Travelocity and upon check-in were told we had an unexpected $75 hotel credit--that was nice. There were a couple of drawbacks, if you do not rent a car. Old San Juan is about 1.5 miles away, so it is a bit of a walk. Cabs are about $12 into town, but the local bus is only 75 cents. The hotel food is fairly expensive. Check out the "POWER HOUR" at the Morton Steakhouse bar for a great deal on a lite meal. The local Subway also offers breakfast items--including pancakes and french toast, which we ate at our balcony table.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,011
    1,368
    635
    361
    206
See reviews for
829
1179
112
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The Caribe Hilton is on the beach, a $20 (pre-tip) cab ride from the international airport.

Its grounds, with swimming and wading pools, swim-up bar, and other amenities are large, beautiful, and well maintained. The hotel is made up of at least three separate buildings, one of which is the inevitable "Hilton Towers."

The lobby and other public rooms are grand. There are both up-scale and tame souvenir shops as well as four (or more) restaurants. Among the latter is a Morton's The Steakhouse. The lobby also features a Starbucks.

Our room, in the Towers was a bit worn as were the corridors leading to it.

Room Tip: Hilton Honors or AmEx Platinum Card + pre-booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for your review of our property, we really appreciated. It's great that you loved our grounds we really take pride of it! We are programed to start the renovation of our room this year! Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

Used hair and make up services at the Spa next to hotel for wedding preparation. Person who did my makeup plucked a little on one of my eyebrows to "even them up a bit". She also trimmed the tops of both brows. When I removed my makeup a big chunk of my eyebrow was gone and the hair on both briws stood out like feathers on a plucked chicken! Please don't let them do this to you!
As for tge hotel, beautiful grounds, location etc. We booked room 6 months ago -a room with a balcony. Several days before trip we called to double check room & specifically make sure about the balcony and they assured us our room had a balcony. When we arrived we had a room without a balcony. We ended having to pay an extra $50 each night to get what we were told we had booked 6 months earlier - not cool when you are already spending top dollar!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for taking some of you valuable time to give us some feedback! We're deeply sorry that you experience with the spa was not memorable. I can assure you immidiate action will be taken to prevent this from happening again. We are so happy that you like our grounds. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This resort had everything we were looking for really didn't need to leave Staff was helpful and very nice.Only a short cab ride to Old San Juan.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My wife and I traveled to San Juan for Memorial Day, and we had a great time at Hilton Caribe. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We love the private beach and the pools. I do think the drinks are expensive, so be sure to hit the package store across the street. It's a cheap ride from the airport to the hotel, so no worries about transportation. It's also very close to Old San Juan if you want to visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed at Caribe Hilton three times during past 10 months (all for business travel). Service gets worse with every visit. Last time I had to wait for 55 min to check in. Receptionists did not seem to be in a particular hurry with about 20 guests waiting in line, they were laughing and socializing with each other, disappearing in the back office for 10 min at the time, taking 15-20 min to check in a single person, etc. Also, the "first come - first serve" concept seemed to be alien for those receptionists. The whole check in experience was just disgusting.

I like relaxing in the pool after long day of meetings. This time I did not even attempt to get into the pool after I saw some garbage (plastic bottles, cups) and vomit like substance floating freely in water. They did not clean it until next morning. I'm already making reservations for my next business travel to San Juan, so I'll probably stay at Marriott, or try Sheraton Old San Juan for a change.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for your valuable comments about your recent stay at our hotel. The lack of sense of urgency that you experience during your last stay is unacceptable. Let me apologize for this unfortunate inconveniences that you experienced with us, this is not the kind of service Caribe Hilton is know for. Again let me thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011 via mobile

Unfortunately i was on a business trip and wasnot able to enjoy all the amenities. Great pool, beach access, gym, variety of restaurants.room was excellent as well as wifi access. I got free breakfast as i am a gold member of hilton honors. Overall great experience!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.