We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach, Great Water!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Fall!
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, Great Water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

When I go to the Caribbean, the most important thing I am looking for is a great beach and great water. The Caribe Hilton has both. The beach is crescent shaped and a good size with plenty of lounge chairs for everyone. It is in the sun from sunrise to sunset, although late in the day (5:30 or 6:00) we moved to the sunny area for the last few minutes of sun in the day. Beach umbrellas and floats are available to rent. The water is warm, calm, clean, clear, and a beautiful blue. It is not stagnant however, the ocean washes over the rock jetty to provide a slow current of calm ripples and a small tide effect. The ocean bottom is beautiful soft rippled sand. It is one of the nicest beaches I have been to in the Caribbean, and I have been to many. The beach is private, so no one is wandering by or bothering you to buy from them. The pool, also beautiful, is nearby and uncrowded. We enjoyed five wonderful days, sitting in the sun, floating or swimming in the ocean and dipping in the pool .

Our room was on the 15th floor of the Tower Building facing West, and we had a fantastic view of the beach and ocean, and the sunset. The room was small but adequate, and the bathroom was large with a great dual shower.

The common areas need some updating, but we spent very little time inside. The food was average for breakfast and lunch. It is in a great location between Old San Juan and Condado, so we took turns going to both of these areas for dinner. Each one was a five minute, $12 cab ride. It was fun to get out and see other parts of the city in the evening and enjoy a variety of restaurants.

I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone, especially those for whom beach and water is a top priority.

Room Tip: A high floor in the Tower Building for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    1,431
    656
    373
    213
See reviews for
882
1,234
118
603
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We have stayed at the Caribe Hilton twice, both times with two couples. Depending on the room location, the room can either be hotel good or not so good at all. Rooms are either pretty clean or not so clean. Rooms can be either quiet or too noisy to sleep well. The pool area is wonderful, as is the small private beach area. The drinks are yummy. The dining is expensive and not nearly as good as going into Old San Juan or even as good as a few other hotels. If you want a good, inexpensive breakfast, grab a Subway sandwich right down the street. The concierge desk was actually rude both visits; at first we thought it was just a fluke, but not on the second visit; someone told us that the concierge/tourist desks are contracted by the Hilton. The business center was loud, did not work all the time, and had children using the center. The staff was barely okay; we have experienced so much better in Puerto Rico.We are unsure if we would recommend this hotel; it was recommended to us with the same reservations; too bad there is not a "maybe" choice. This is just an expensive hotel with not particularly good service in a really pretty setting. When we head back to San Juan, we will look elsewhere. In this price range, there are many other choices.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciated. I'm deeply sorry that you had mixed experience during your stays with us. We always work to ensure the complete satisfaction of our guests. Thank you for giving us your feedback this way we can improve our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at Caribe Hilton. The rooms are immaculate and the customer service is awesome. We had a few bumps with thinking that we reserved a double bed (which were all booked when we arrived), but Francesca did absolutely everything imaginable to accommodate us. I will definitely stay at Caribe Hilton again!

Room Tip: Call to ensure you booked what you think you did
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stay here for the awesome pool and private beach, as well as the lovely grounds and gardens. This was our first night in PR and they upgraded us all the way to the presidential suite. Even without our luxurious two story suite, the swimming was great, we enjoyed the feel of the open air lobby and were surprised to encounter some wildlife too; fish, birds, geckos, frogs etc. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The lobby and pool areas are nice looking. The valet staff were very kind and helpful. The room was standard... If you want views from the room don't stay here. It has a beautiful beach and forts on the property but our room overlooked an old roof, which we didn't mind, but if you are expecting ocean view, it's not the best. The room was clean and ok, but the bathtub/sucked. This placeisalso VERY expensive! We got two drinks for $45! That's when we went to a nearby store and got our own alcohol and put it in the room. They charge for everything here! There is a little restaurant to the right of the building that was amazing! We loved the food though it was a little pricey, it was worth it. Not my favorite place but it was ok.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I would never stay here again or suggest this to anyone i know or deal with. From the minute we arrived, there was problems. Room was dingy, so outdated, no ocean view,
ac did not work, rug torn. Transferred to another room, over the week, the following
happened to us, balcony door did not open, housekeeping did not clean, key got deactivated several times, once by an employee by accident, two time we do not know why, toliet overflowed 2x. This is just a few things that happened....Staff has a little bit of an attitude....pool was nice and spa gorgeous.....Would not stay here again or send anyone i know or like$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Room Tip: do not check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your valuable comments about your recent stay at our hotel. Let me apologize for this unfortunate inconveniences that you experienced with us, this is not the kind of service Caribe Hilton is know for. We will use your comments for re-training purposes. Again let me thank you for your comments.

Note to all TripAdvisor users: If you want to share more detailed information with us and help us improve our customer service, you can contact us on 787-721-0303 or at Nitzamarie.Escalera@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Spent a long weekend with a girlfriend and was pleasantly surprised. We are both Hilton regulars, and a got a very nice rate for our stay in a oceanview room in the original tower. Rooms were spacious, well appointed, and the view was truly special. While the hotel is older, we found it immmaculately kept. The pool was lovely, and beach was beautiful. Better yet, the private lagoon is great for swimming, even when surf is high. Service was also great. We found all the staff to be cheeful and responsive. Special shout out to the concierge who was especially helpful.

Food and drinks were good, but expensive, even for a resort. While we did eat at several of the restaurants on property, but we quickly found a more economical option for drinks. Just across the street from the hotel is a small market where we purchased a big bottle of local rum and some Diet Coke for the same price as two or three drinks at the pool. We also took advantage of the 'Power Hour' special at the Mortons on property. It's a great deal, so I'd encourage others to check it out. Overall, in spite of high prices for food and drink, I would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. I'm glad to announce that we are in the process of renovating the Main Building of our hotel. Also I want to clarify that unfortunately shuttles are illegal on the metropolitan area of the island.This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 916
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;