We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Swimming Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stay here for the awesome pool and private beach, as well as the lovely grounds and gardens. This was our first night in PR and they upgraded us all the way to the presidential suite. Even without our luxurious two story suite, the swimming was great, we enjoyed the feel of the open air lobby and were surprised to encounter some wildlife too; fish, birds, geckos, frogs etc. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,006
    1,358
    626
    358
    204
See reviews for
817
1173
112
570
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The lobby and pool areas are nice looking. The valet staff were very kind and helpful. The room was standard... If you want views from the room don't stay here. It has a beautiful beach and forts on the property but our room overlooked an old roof, which we didn't mind, but if you are expecting ocean view, it's not the best. The room was clean and ok, but the bathtub/sucked. This placeisalso VERY expensive! We got two drinks for $45! That's when we went to a nearby store and got our own alcohol and put it in the room. They charge for everything here! There is a little restaurant to the right of the building that was amazing! We loved the food though it was a little pricey, it was worth it. Not my favorite place but it was ok.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I would never stay here again or suggest this to anyone i know or deal with. From the minute we arrived, there was problems. Room was dingy, so outdated, no ocean view,
ac did not work, rug torn. Transferred to another room, over the week, the following
happened to us, balcony door did not open, housekeeping did not clean, key got deactivated several times, once by an employee by accident, two time we do not know why, toliet overflowed 2x. This is just a few things that happened....Staff has a little bit of an attitude....pool was nice and spa gorgeous.....Would not stay here again or send anyone i know or like$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Room Tip: do not check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your valuable comments about your recent stay at our hotel. Let me apologize for this unfortunate inconveniences that you experienced with us, this is not the kind of service Caribe Hilton is know for. We will use your comments for re-training purposes. Again let me thank you for your comments.

Note to all TripAdvisor users: If you want to share more detailed information with us and help us improve our customer service, you can contact us on 787-721-0303 or at Nitzamarie.Escalera@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Spent a long weekend with a girlfriend and was pleasantly surprised. We are both Hilton regulars, and a got a very nice rate for our stay in a oceanview room in the original tower. Rooms were spacious, well appointed, and the view was truly special. While the hotel is older, we found it immmaculately kept. The pool was lovely, and beach was beautiful. Better yet, the private lagoon is great for swimming, even when surf is high. Service was also great. We found all the staff to be cheeful and responsive. Special shout out to the concierge who was especially helpful.

Food and drinks were good, but expensive, even for a resort. While we did eat at several of the restaurants on property, but we quickly found a more economical option for drinks. Just across the street from the hotel is a small market where we purchased a big bottle of local rum and some Diet Coke for the same price as two or three drinks at the pool. We also took advantage of the 'Power Hour' special at the Mortons on property. It's a great deal, so I'd encourage others to check it out. Overall, in spite of high prices for food and drink, I would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. I'm glad to announce that we are in the process of renovating the Main Building of our hotel. Also I want to clarify that unfortunately shuttles are illegal on the metropolitan area of the island.This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Caribe Hilton from May 13 – May 16. We were in San Juan for a wedding, and it was the first time either of us visiting this amazing island. The Caribe Hilton is a beautiful property right on the beach. While it rained every day during our stay, we were able to enjoy a couple of hours at the pool for a little R&R. Our room was updated and fairly clean (som mildew in the shower grout and around the shower frame). The pool area and grounds are gorgeous and really helped us to unwind a bit. We enjoyed a few meals at the restaurants on-site and each meal was high-quality. While the food is pricy in comparison to the states, the pricing is on par with most tourist-filled restaurants. The service was good. Nobody stood out good or bad. My only service complaint was when housekeeping came to clean our room in the early afternoon we were getting dressed for a wedding. So we asked them to come back later and when we returned to our room that night, it had not been cleaned.

In hind-sight, we should have rented a car (though I am not sure if the hotel charges for parking and how much that is per day). Cabs are very plentiful, but they cost adds up. And while the location of the Caribe provides a little seclusion, you really are not within walking distance of restaurants, shops, or sights. A cab to Old San Juan is $12 ($24 round-trip). So if you want to go to El Morro and other historic sights during the day, return to the hotel in the afternoon to rest and clean up and then go back for dinner, that’s $50.

Improvements to the hotel to make it a 5 in my book really are very simple. They should offer free internet service in the rooms, free-wi-fi would be great. Your spending minimum of $120/night and they charge for internet. Pretty lame. A shuttle/trolley to the airport and Old San Juan would be nice as well. While the service was good, it could be great. And lastly, mold in the shower is pretty gross in my book. All in all, I will absolutely return to the Caribe Hilton, price permitting. We fell in love with San Juan during our brief stay, and the Caribe was certainly a part of that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. I'm glad to announce that we are in the process of renovating the Main Building of our hotel. Also I want to clarify that unfortunately shuttles are illegal on the metropolitan area of the island.This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

It was a pleasure to stay there. Nice private beach, Hilton’s employees were really working to make your vacation easy. There were several concierges available during the day ready to help you with your problems and you could schedule any activities you want. Taxi was waiting for you any minute.
Taxi from the airport is $19, to old San Juan is $10, to Condado is $12.
I would like to mention the Rotisserie Il Giardino that is located inside the hotel. We went to dinner on our first night just because we were a little bit tired. The service was great. The dinner room looked wonderful too. The food was good but pretty ordinary and pricy. You would not remember the food after you left. In my opinion the food, the service and prices do not connect with each other. The glass of wine was $10.
On other day we ordered their take out. Skirt steak with rice was $16. They have different prices for take-outs. This price was closer to the quality of food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinators at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011 via mobile

We stayed mon to Friday and there were 7 of us including 2 kids aged 3.5 and 3 months. Loved the pools and overall a nice hotel. Close to old San Juan which is a short can ride. Nothing much else closeby in terms of walking distance.... Except for a subway across the street. The restaurants are decent but as expected a bit pricey. We ended up eating mostly out. While breakfast was not included, definitely good to have part of your deal... Else it's 25 pp.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.