We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Hilton San Juan

Save Saved
You added Caribe Hilton San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $99
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Plymouth, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I'll be back!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

My husband and I went there for an overnight before leaving on a cruise. It was beautiful. The location was superb, facilities clean (I loved the cushy beds around the pool area!!). We ate at the Thai restaurant and that was great, we had an 1 1/2 wait but that was our fault for not making reservations. But that was ok, there are enough bars to go to to wait. I really think this hotel would be a fantastic family destination. There was a protected beach area for little ones with plenty of activities to do. I will definately be back, maybe this time I'll bring my kids and my grand daughter.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,040
    1,392
    645
    369
    211
See reviews for
865
1200
115
586
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Spent the w/e of March 5 with my spouse at the Hilton Caribe. Loved the grounds and the view around the hotel. We needed a spot to unwind and this is a great location for that goal. The hotel has a nice-looking gym (that we didn't get around to using). Our room was clean and more than sufficient. Our reservation through Expedia included a free continental breakfast and coupons to the Casino at the Conrad Hotel (a short walk away to nearby Condado). Several steps beyond the Conrad is the Ropa Vieja, a nice, reasonably priced restaurant. Keep this place in mind because many of the restaurants in the area, including the ones at the hotel, are expensive. Drinks at the hotel are also pricey.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is a lovely hotel. On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite in the Condado Lagoon villas, and it was spacious and comfortable, with a wall of windows and a large balcony offering a partial sea view. (Not a full sea view, although it was described as such.) During our 7-night stay, we found the service to be pretty good, although the valet arrangement for our rental car was a bit disorganized. We enjoyed the Oasis bar in the lobby and we especially recommend the pina coladas! Wifi is available in the lobby only.

We had two disappointments, however, because of the hotel's misleading claims! The Hilton website states that the Caribe Hilton features "17 acres of lush tropical gardens" and that it is "ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area", which are "just minutes away". We were envisioning spending time exploring these tropical gardens, and walking to restaurants in old San Juan. In reality, there's perhaps half an acre of tropical gardens in total if you count every isolated palm tree on the grounds. And the location is not "ideal", it's actually very inconvenient, because there's almost nothing within walking distance. Old San Juan is 2 miles away - "minutes away" by taxi, not on foot. We were constantly taking taxis to Old San Juan or Condado, which cost $12 each way. (Having a rental car didn't help, as there's virtually no parking in these popular areas.)

We plan to return to San Juan next year, but we'll choose a hotel that's right in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are really sorry that you felt dissapointed with our location and our grounds. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neillsville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This hotel was great in every way! Pricey yes but everything in San Juan area is. If you keep that in mind before booking you will go and have a great time. My daughter and I went and enjoyed the wonderful Aveda spa there everyday.
The restaurants were great Mortons was excellent, they serve an appetizer shrimp cocktail that is just wonderful. In fact if you order one to go, put it in your room refrigerator, you can enjoy it on your balony for lunch the next day. The steak was the best I have ever had and is the restaurant pricey? Yes, so expect it. Worth every penny? Yes! Lemongrass is outstanding, we had the meal complete that they offer. It consists of appetizer, main course and desert. Their shrimp lo mein is excellent. We paid $50 each and it was worth every cent.
The beach was excellent and sunny early and clouds up in the afternoon. So early is good. Taxis are always readily available but pricey, so prepare yourself.
We didn't do tours from here, as we had also spent 4 nights at El Convento and they, upon our request, gave us the name of a private tour guide, James, who let us choose what we wanted to see. He was the best and hired him for the entire day.
Our room was clean, spacious, great balcony with ocean view and nice large bathroom. Room service was super.
The people of Puerto Rico I have found to be so sweet!
Let me tell you this was a trip to never forget! We titled our trip, "The Best of Both Worlds" and it was 4 nights at El Convento in Old San Juan for the old world and 4 nights at Caribe Hilton by the ocean for the new world. It truly was the Best of Both Worlds!
So my advice is save hard, believe me when I say this will be a pricey trip and be prepared and you will have an unforgetable vacation! Enjoy! Life is good!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Caribe Hilton while he was attending a conference. The hotel was a great place for me during the day with many activities and opportunities to relax. Extra kudos to Zulma the yoga instructor who is an excellent teacher and leads a wonderful class (for free!!). The yoga classes on the beach really made my week!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

This is our 6th time in San Juan, and our 5th time staying at the Caribe Hilton. We stayed in the Hilton Honors Tower this trip, and the room was quite delightful. Full ocean view, and breakfast buffet included daily. The staff is always 100% on target, very courteous and accomodating. At the bar the best bartender around is Victor, at the Atlantis Poolside Restaurant/Bar Arleen is the best waitress! Don't forget to visit Ola's Spa, great package deals!!

The only negative thing we can say about our stay was the elevator's in the Hilton Honors Towers have major issues. One was inoperable the entire time, and the other one got stuck 4 times while we were in it for a couple minutes each time. Though brought this issue to the front desk, it didn't appear to be on their high priority list whatsoever to fix.

We will stay again for sure...............until next time Caribe............

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I've stayed at this property several times over the past few years for work and for leisure, my most recent stay being a 7 day vacation. I've always received top notch, 1st class service from the Caribe Hilton staff. There were a few issues during the 1st day of my recent stay. Individually, all issues were minor, but the sum of everything that happened prompted me to file a complaint with Hilton guest assistance. The Caribe Hilton office manager and staff responded very quickly and corrected my issues promptly and professionally. The remainder of my stay was wonderful and all those on the Caribe Hilton staff that I interacted with were 1st class people. This includes front desk, Atlantico, Palmeras, Il Giardino, room service, concierge, and business center. I will definitely return to the Caribe Hilton during future visits to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribe Hilton hotel, one of the most luxurious hotels in Puerto Rico, is set on an exclusive peninsula, made up of 17 acres of lush tropical gardens. This Puerto Rico Hilton is ideally situated between historic old San Juan and the exciting Condado area, offering a secluded beach, lavish accommodations and amenities tailored to families, couples and business travelers alike. This San Juan hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Luis Munoz Marin Airport and five minutes from San Juan's new Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Hilton San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.