We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed Executive Lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Closed Executive Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

There is much to like about this resort. My grandson loves the waterslide (open 11 to 3) and the beach is right there and terrific. There is a resort fee which covers a lot of things that were once free and the executive lounge which was once on the top floor closed this year--just before we visited. A pity because the views were terrific. The restaurant. though pricey, is more than OK. (And there are great places nearby.)

Nevertheless, assuming the price is right, I would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Texastravveler;

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are happy to hear that your grandson had a great time on our waterslide! Thank you for your loyalty, we look forward to your future stay.

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,773
    1,383
    342
    114
    68
See reviews for
938
1,392
103
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I cannot speak enough kind words of the hotel and their staff! From the moment we arrived all the men up front are so nice and great greeters. Emmanuel at the front desk quickly checked us in and helped with an upgrade to an ocean view. I definitely recommend the upgrade to an ocean view in the cabana side. He also helped in getting our friends room and ours next to each other. They offer free $30 play coupons and 2 drink vouchers upon checking in which is great. Throughout the stay, Lissette helped me daily at the front desk to figure out what to do and where to go. The pool bar is amazing! We stayed there for hours to eat and drink. Jaenette and Jason are the best bartenders and just fun to be around. Do get the "Shakers" to save some cash on drinks. They are delicious! The casino had the friendliest dealers, except the Roulette table since I lost all my money there! But they were easy to explain games and tips of the island. Jaime was very knowledgeable at the Craps table and guided us through the game. The beach was wonderful and clean! Overall, I can't wait to plan my trip back to the Marriott! Disregard the few bad reviews here, because I can't find one bad thing about the Marriott! It was clean and beautiful and central to anything you may need.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear nat0223850;

We really appreciate your amazing feedback form your recent vacation with us. It is our pleasure to hear that you had a great time and that the service provided by our associates was a highlight during your stay. Thank you for all the positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We decided to come down to San Juan to get out of Dodge for a few days for some sun and beach time. I've stayed at many Marriotts and have had generally great experiences at all of them. This hotel was very nice with a lively lobby, great curb appeal and a fun atmosphere. The food, drink and sundries in the hotel were quite pricey but I don't think Marriott stands alone in taking advantage of a captive audience. But $17 for a Wendy's quality burger and fires? Such is the hotel industry, I guess. But, what threw me for a loop was the hidden $50/day "resort fee" that is made no mention of when booking the room. It is a mandatory fee that the hotel mandates and is presented to you on a piece of paper (photo below) in a way that I believe is underhanded and downright dishonest, hence the 3 stars. Granted, the $50/day does include features such as 2 complimentary welcome drinks, in-room wi-fi, beach towels, $30 credit to the casino, 4 bottles of water per day in your room as well as a special discount to the breakfast buffet which was adequate yet nothing special. However, I must give a shout-out to Angelo, who was a great server and made our breakfast experience entertaining and fun. That said, I'd love to give this place 4 stars but I can't get past the fact that my room rate was jacked up virtually 25% as soon as I checked in due to this hidden resort fee. You may as well have the concierges greet you with 9mm Glocks with a friendly "stick 'em up." Not nice, Mr. Marriott, not nice at all...

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to beachfront. Nothing to lose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansRohrbein, General Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear dlvassallo;

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us and other Trip Advisor members. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our location, facilities and the great service provided by our La Vista associate Angelo- we will certainly share your “shout out” with him, as we know he will be very happy to know about it. We would also like to let you know that we take our guests comments very seriously, so you can be certain that we will share your observations with our Management Team in order to identify any areas of opportunities for improvement.

Should you decide to stay with us again, please feel free to contact us at mhrs.sjupr.social.media@marriotthotels.com for assistance.

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Beautiful resort! The rooms are spacious, pretty, & functional with great balconies. We stayed in the cabana building! The pool is fun & the ocean waves are great to play in! The chicken fingers & fruit plate at the beach restaurant are yummy with a great view! You can't beat this location! Walking distance to good restaurants. Ride the bikes into Old San Juan in the morning & taxi in the evenings. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Cabana building rooms are ocean & pool front with easy elevator access & large balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear DawnZ;

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent vacation experience with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly upgraded rooms as well as the great location!

We really look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

when you arrive by either car or taxi, being greeted by Felix is like no other greeting before... He is a true ambassador of the hotel delivering impeccable customer service. Then proceeding to the front desk, check-in and check-out is very quick and with the same great smiles and cheer as Felix. Then after after a long day in the sun or in case a long day of work, Jimmy or Kristine will serve you with a very nice beverage in the lobby bar. When at LaConcha you are surrounded by cheer, smiles, service and just a great energy to be in... Enjoy

Room Tip: Ocean view up high, best room to have by any beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear D0ug-T127;

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you had a great vacation at our property, thank you for sharing your positive feedback! We really hope to see you again very soon!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Very friendly Staff throughout the hotel. Our waiter in the restaurant, Angelo, was outstanding! He went above and beyond taking care of us, making us feel special. He even offered multiple choices for my gluten free needs, which is hard to find.

Room Tip: Loved the Oceanview room, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear tntterir;

We are happy that you enjoyed you stay with us and that the service provided by Angelo was a major highlight during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we really look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

it was totally worth the 8-day vacay
hotel has its own beach area - very nice view of sunrise and sunset
with umbrellas and chairs (first come first serve)
lots of restaurants and shops nearby
very friendly staff - prompt services
on-site booking tour packages
lots of things to do

family-friendly: yes!
romantic vacay: not so much
staying with friends: yes!

Room Tip: anything facing the ocean, full or partial view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear inaamarillo;

Thank you for taking the time to share your such positive comments from your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your 8 day vacation with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#1 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.