We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% with VISA
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We flew into San Juan the day before our cruise and stayed with a group of friends (all cruising together). Check in was very easy and we even got a glass of rum punch during the process.

Our room was a city view room, with 2 full-size beds. I don't know if they are advertised as queens, but they were definitely not as each bed was significantly smaller than the queen size bed at my home. The room was very neat and clean and well equipped. Laundered robes and slippers were packaged and waiting for us in our closet. There was an ironing board and iron in the closet, as well as a small safe. The bathroom had a nice sized tub, Bath & Body Works brand toiletries, a hair dryer and a magnifying mirror hung on the wall.

The city view wasn't so great but it did offer a great view of the Starbucks across the street. For one night we weren't really concerned about what sort of view we had. We were up on the 11th floor and did not notice any city noise at all at night.

The pool and grounds and beach area were wonderful. We really loved all of the outdoor seating options, and plenty of shade was available too. The outside shower is a great touch too. There was a small waterslide and there was a stand outside that offered the use of lots of games, books, water and all sorts of necessities for spending lots of time outside. I was really impressed with that.

I could easily see spending a week here. They even have a gym which is surprisingly large and well equipped. There's a spa down there too but we didn't use their services. The only real drawback to the gym in my opinion is that it's in the basement with absolutely NO view. There are not even any windows. However it is very clean and has lots of safe, current equipment. Treadmills and ellipticals even had their own tv's on them.

I'd definitely stay here again - and next time I'd bring the kids.

Room Tip: Get a room up high - there are LOUD parties with a DJ in the lobby floor. Our friends on the 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,241
    1,672
    409
    142
    80
See reviews for
1,231
1,695
121
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just returned from being at the Marriott Saturday until Tuesday. Always have a good time at the hotel The beach is small but pleasant and the guys working the beach are very helpful. The bars at the pool and the beach are good. I will say Cynthia, Carmen and Jason soften the blow of the very expensive drinks. Their advice of different places in the area to eat were very helpful and accurate. We stayed in the Cabana Tower and love the view of the pool and Ocean. The palm trees are getting higher. The pool was pleasant and not crowded even on the weekend. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. We always enjoy the lobby during the weekend with the live music in the lobby. Great sounds, just be ready to dance. Would have given it a higher rating if it wasn't so expensive to eat and drink on the property. Overall, it was very good and I would return without a second thought.

Room Tip: Mid floors of the Cabana are nice. You can sit on the balcony enjoy the music from below and the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that our associates Cynthia, Carmen and Jason contributed to you having a great stay.

We will share your concern about the pricing with our Management Team.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Marriott in San Juan before boarding a ship for a Caribbean cruise. We took a taxi from the airport for around $20. The hotels in this part of town are pretty jammed together to take advantage of the oceanfront, so the hotel doesn't look especially grand from the street. We arrived an hour or two before check-in, but were able to get a room and an upgrade to a corner oceanfront room with two balconies as we're Platinum members.

The room was large and nicely decorated in muted pastels. There was a flatscreen TV, desk, large closet area, very small bathroom, king-size bed; and, as advertised two balconies--although only one of the balconies had furniture. The bed was comfortable and the toiletries in the bathroom were of decent quality. Everything was clean and the service we received was good. The ocean view was really lovely as the hotel is on a very nice stretch of beach.

Speaking of the beach, it was fantastic. We went down early the next morning and were greeted by staff on the beach who set up chairs, a small table, and an umbrella for us. Towels were available in a kiosk on your way down to the beach. You could take as many as you needed. The weather was sunny and tropical and the water warm. It's not a calm part of the ocean and the waves are constantly crashing and there did seem to be an undercurrent, but people were out there swimming and my husband was in the water a fair amount of the time.

Just up from the beach is an outdoor bar with food. We had lunch there and it was enjoyable. There is also a large shallow pool that leads around to another deeper pool for adults. There's also a bar in the deeper pool. We swam around in the pool as well and the water was great.

The beach and pool areas make this hotel something special. We walked through the casino and played slots for a few minutes, but it was nothing extraordinary. The hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants so you're certainly not tied to eating all your meals at the Marriott. We enjoyed walking around and looking at all the places to eat. Old San Juan is a short taxi ride from the hotel and we did that on our second full day. There is a trolley to take you around so you don't have to walk everywhere, especially in the heat. The forts on either end of the old wall are nice to visit.

Overall, we had a nice time in San Juan and we enjoyed the hotel. We would very likely go back.

Room Tip: Try a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Many thanks to Carlos and Waldo for making our free day in San Juan really sparkle. If you have kids, this is the resort! From a free sandcastle kit with 7 different toys, to balloons and cookies and nightly activities, adults and kids alike can relax and have fun. The beach surf was awesome and we can't say enough things about the amazing staff here. Thanks all!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and have watched the service go downhill. The rooms are currently being renovated, and are perfectly adequate with comfortable beds, balconies, but very small bathrooms. The HVAC system is somewhat antiquated and I frequently end up with some respiratory irritation during or after my stay. In addition, some odors become entrained in the system and permeate parts of the building. I’ve noticed the following have gone significantly downhill over recent years.
Overall, the service is patronizing and not responsive. You will get friendly, positive responses to any request. However, you will hardly ever get what you requested. Request turn down??? Sure, No problem! But you won’t get it. You practically have to beg for turndown service. I used to ask for it at check in during for the duration of my stay. This most recent stay, I asked three times and received it on one night. They don’t even leave chocolate anymore!
Correction on your reservation? No problem, we will take care of it immediately! Four calls later, and the matter was corrected.
The beach towels are no longer beach towels and are now the size of bath towels. The beach chairs are mesh, most of which is stretched so that your butt is touching the sand (and I am not that heavy). …not terribly comfortable. With the resort fee they charge, you’d think they would improve this.
The lobby and casino reek of the noodle bar located in the casino!! (see previous comment about the HVAC system.)
I am a premier platinum member. I asked to checkout at 4:00 on the last day of my stay. They would only allow me until 3:00 or said they’d have to charge me. So, if they will let me stay if I pay, that must mean the room is available. I am tired of this “late checkout based on availability” scam that Marriott is perpetrating.
The executive lounge has the same breakfast offering every day. The ONLY thing that changes is the style of the eggs. It’s the Caribbean…could you offer a banana??
The current downhill slide, they will need to rebrand this a Courtyard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear SethA;

We are extremely disappointed to hear that we didn't met your expectations during your last stay with us. We do appreciate your loyalty and would love for you to give us another opportunity.

We will share your review with our Management Team in order to identify areas of opportunities for improvement.

If you decide to stay with us again please contact us directly at (787) 722-7000 ext. 42.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days during a conference visit. The hotel is a short distance from the airport. The check in was fast and the front desk staff were very courteous. The room faced the city and was on the 12th floor. Excellent room, clean with in room safe. There is small balcony with chairs to sit. Had access to the lounge which had good breakfast. Not open on Sundays though. The hotel has direct access to the beach, which is very clean. The beach is public though. There is a Starbucks across the street from the hotel and a Walgreen one block away. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The lobby can be very loud but is a lot of fun. Used the health club which was decently equipped.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work this week. Hotel is a full service Marriott, close to the airport and a short drive to Old San Juan. Rooms are clean but are on the small side. We had an ocean front room on the 28th floor with a balcony and great view of the coastline and ocean. They have a 16% resort fee they tack onto your bill with includes your internet, 2 welcome Cuba libre drinks, casino vouchers, 4 bottles of water per day, beach chairs and umbrellas, etc.. Nice fitness center with good equipment as well as saunas in the locker rooms. Huge lobby bar as well as nightly live music. Casino has many slot machines. Valet park or self park available. Great Starbucks right across the street and a few good places to eat within walking distance. A 24 hr walgreens is just a block away and is great for stocking up on snacks. Lots of hotel security always visible. Staff was friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
3.0 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 4,757 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#25 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.