We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Time at Marriott!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Terrific Time at Marriott!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed five nights in early October. Condado location is much preferred over the Marriott property in Isla Verde. This location is convenient to Walgreen's, Bun's burger shop, Ben & Jerry's on the beach (more than just ice cream!), chains (Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Wendy's), Danny's (wonderful pizza/subs) and other local places. There are abandon/distressed properties and homeless nearby, but we did not feel unsafe walking in the area.

The resort itself is a manageable size, and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and kind. We interacted with so many, it's hard to even list names! Lots of smiles, warmth, and genuine willingness to help and be of service. This goes for everyone - - bellman, front desk, housekeeping, towel hut, pool restaurant, fitness center, etc!! This really struck me, because it was clear there is a culture of kindness here.

The pool was modest size...very relaxing area and plenty of chairs. There were always clean towels on hand, and a nice area under shade with flat screen TVs when a break from the sun was needed. Food from the pool restaurant was surprisingly high quality and fresh. Prices were as expected, $16 for chicken sandwich/fries. Bucket of 5 Medalla Light beer = $25 + tip.

Plenty of bottled waters in the room fridge and bathroom amenities. Bedding was supportive and firm, and linens were high quality. Also, lots of towels...yeah!

Beach attendants were so very helpful. Jeffrey was right there to set up lounge chairs and umbrellas daily. Beach sand was free of debri and seaweed. Surf was churning, but did *not* keep us from getting in the water (and I'm freakish about any rip tide action). Don't let this comment deter you from Marriott! The beach is great here.

Don't Miss:
- Rum punch upon check in.
- Checkout the panoramic view from the penthouse lounge on 17th floor.
- We enjoyed rooms in both Tower and Cabana buildings, but preferred Cabana 9th floor...because we had some shade in the afternoon on our deck and had a fabulous view of the pool/beach area.
- Lobby bar opens up with a stage behind it on the weekend evenings. Enjoyed the live music.
- Coffee bar in the lobby discounts pastries mid-day. (oh, and they'll heat up your leftovers for you with a smile).
- Cold bottled waters available in the fitness center all day (LL of Cabana building).
- Stock up on your drinks and alcohol at Walgreens: 10 pack of Medalla Light was ~ $10.50. Chilled in room and kept on ice at the pool/beach.
- Was told casino had complimentary beverages and snacks? available...but we didn't go to the casino, so I can't confirm.
- Insider Tip - "Rums of Puerto Rico" promotional marketing in the lobby area on Friday/6-8PM. Had a great time sampling complimentary rum drinks from our new friends, Carlos and Ramon. This was not promoted, and was the trip highlight :-)

Room Tip: "Oceanview" is more interesting view than "Oceanfront". Oceanview takes in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    1,371
    342
    114
    67
See reviews for
929
1,378
102
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,099)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Decent hotel, decent amenities, hardly a four star. Service was just okay, pool was ok, location was ok. Everything was just meh. La Concha down the street had a more impressive lobby and even more entertaining dj at night. La Concha Looked more modern compared to the Marriott which looked like a beat up vegas hotel. Could use some updating considering how much they charge per night. Wouldn't return. I truly believe you can get a bigger bang for your buck elsewhere.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view gives you a full view of the ocean. Pretty impressive views. If cost is a facto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear moniep0077;

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It is sad to learn that our property did not meet your expectations.

Customer satisfaction is very important to us, so if you decide to give us a second chance please contact us directly at (787) 722-7000 ext. 42.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived on Friday around 5:15 pm and were warmly greeted by Jose Rosado, Front Desk Agent. He asked if we wanted 2 doubles or 1 king, and then played around in the reservation system for several minutes until he found a king room w/a pool and ocean view that was available for the 4 nights of our visit. He was correct, we were VERY pleased with the room! Although the hotel is aged, it is very well maintained and our room has been recently updated.

In room coffee was much appreciated in the AM and I enjoyed a cup (or 2) on the balcony while hubby slept in each morning (poor guy works nights). I left a note (& a few bucks) for housekeeping, and every day they left extra creamers and regular coffee (decaf, blah).

When we went there was no need to get up early in order to get a beach chair & umbrella (we tipped the umbrella guy but it's not mandatory). That's a huge plus over a cruise or going during peak times. The pool also had plenty of available loungers in sun or shade. Towels were fresh and plentiful.

We had lunch one day which was decent if not pricey. Saturday night we has the prime rib buffet; won't bother with that again as the meat was cold. For breakfast each morning we either went across the street for a sit down meal at El 'T' something or other or grabbed bagels from the in-house coffee bar and ate at the pool.

Drinks are pricey but a 2 minute walk to Walgreens and you can buy wine, beer or booze. Remember a corkscrew and bottle opener. They even had limes for my Corona Lite!

We will hopefully return every few years.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I cannot say ENOUGH good things about this hotel! As we pulled up I was a little nervous, but "don't judge a book by its cove!" From the moment my mom and I stepped into the lobby we were in heaven. The lobby was beautiful!!! It had a huge bar and at night they have bands play in the back on a little stage with a dance floor.
From the time we checked in the Marriott staff could not have been nicer or more helpful! The hotel and the rooms were immaculate, the food was some of the best food I have ever had at a hotel! The pool was clean and the beach was clean. The people at the beach are so excited to grab you a chair, umbrella, and table. Always with a smile and so pleasant.
The bartenders make a great drink and great conversation. The concierge desk workers cannot help you enough! I cannot wait to go back!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights on way to SXM. Nice Marriott. Older hotel but wheel maintained. The staff makes the difference. Everyone had thiier head up and eyes open. They acknowledged you at every turn. Great team. Room was clean and bed was comfy. Will return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Where to begin....The Hotel was exceptional, the view spectacular and the staff fabulous! I stayed at the Marriott for my Honeymoon. I had an Oceanfront room on the 5th floor with fantastic views. The room was comfy enough for both of us, although the bathroom was on the small side. The pillows on the beds are in need of being replace for something with more support for your neck. Included in our room were coffee, bathrobes, slippers, an umbrella and four bottles of water each day. We also received match play tickets for the casino and welcome drinks. The hotel staff attended to our every need. Several times we had lunch at the hotel and the food was delicious. the hotel was within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear PatriciaS;

Thank you very much for your review; we are delighted to know you chose our property for your honeymoon vacation.

We hope to see you back soon!

Congratulations!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Any time i go to Puerto Rico I stayed at the Canario Inn which is located a block away from the Marriott but this time my wife and I we were looking at something that could fit our budget. The Canario was fine but for the price that I would pay there I thought I rather pay a couple of dollars more and stay at the Marriott. We used the Marriott facility before(parking and the live music on weekends) so we knew exactlly what to expect. Our room was located with nice view to the beach and pool. It was great to wake up everyday with that view. An of course ,the service was great. Love the live music as we did before and the location. From now on my wife and I we will be staying at the Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#1 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.