We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just So So” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Save Saved
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Just So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent a night at this property and found it so so. However, we did get a good deal on the price so I can't complain. The room was nice enough with a balcony and good view but small. The staff was professional and courteous. Didn't use the resort's grounds so I cannot really comment on that. The casino didn't look like much, but we're used to Vegas and the Indian casinos in the Coachella Valley ( Palm Springs area ). This is not really a hotel I would consider for a beach vacation in the Caribbean. It seems more like a business hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,405
    1,229
    305
    110
    66
See reviews for
789
1204
87
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I arrived at the hotel before noon and was able to check in immediately which was great. The lobby is nice, fairly small but they have plenty of room for lounging, a bar, a coffee shop, store, concierge, and the casino is off of the lobby. My room was clean and even though you could tell the hotel is pretty old it looks like it was renovated within the past few years. The room had a small refrigerator, plenty of storage for clothes, robes, slippers, and even a Marriott umbrella for use. The thing I like about older hotels is the walls are thick and outside of hearing people in the hall you don’t hear your adjacent neighbors. The pool area is great with two pools (the slightly deeper one has a slide), areas for lounging with games, free bike rental, and beverage/food service so you don’t have to get up. There is a swim up bar and also a bar/restaurant on the other side where I ate pretty much every day and the food/drinks were so good. The other good thing is there is security front and center in the lobby and also security AND police between the beach and pool area so I felt very safe. The downside is the beach in front of the hotel is a “dangerous shore-break” as indicated by multiple signs which mean the waves are rough and furious. Although there were plenty of people on the beach, not many would go in the water as it was not inviting. In your room they give you 4 bottles of water each day and internet access (a part of your resort tax) so that was great. The hotel is in a good location with plenty of restaurants and stores directly across the street for shopping. The staff was very good and accommodating, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a partial ocean view, get one with the view of the pool as opposed to the hotel/condo nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel was very nice, centrally located and in walking distance of restaurants and shops. The view from our room was amazing and the beach was even better. The shoreline was a little bit rocky, so be sure to bring your aqua socks. Our room was a good size, but a little cramped for a family of 5. There weren't any adjoining rooms available for our visit, so we had to make it work. It wasn't terrible though, there was still plenty of room for everyone to move around fairly well, and for only a 2 nights stay it was tolerable.

The casino area is obviously not great for kids, but as a parent you should know that and just not go down that way. It was a little rowdy the nights we were there, so we steered clear. We also ate at the breakfast buffet. It was delicious with lots of selections for everyone, however I thought the kids prices were a little high for the amount they normally eat.

Overall our experience with this hotel was pleasant. We enjoyed our view, and the beach and the availability to explore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My usual base in San Juan is the Courtyard Isla Verde. I decided to give a different property a try. I will start off by saying I am loyal Marriott guy. I spend a ton of time on the road and Marriotts are always good quality properties. So with this I decided to stay at the Marriott. The property is nice although the rooms are getting a little dated. They aren't horrible but, well could be better. the weird thing was, I kept losing power in the room. at least 5 times. Thank goodness for the alarms on cell phones because one was in the middle of the night. The concierge level is very nice and they put out a nice breakfast and dinner spread. If you are given access, this is a very nice perk. I can't really speak to the casino because i was wearing a hat and not allowed to enter. That really cracked me up. People, its not Monaco and my money spends whether i had a hat or not. That was really ridiculous, its not that classy of a hotel. Now, to the beach, no good. Its very small, the surf is rough, I didnt like it. I will not be staying here again. If you are looking for a place to stay in San Juan, check out my review on the Courtyard Isla Verde. Just as nice, better beach, great staff and better rates. Go there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Erick;

Thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest; your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are sad to learn that you were disappointed with your stay and hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

We apologize for the inconvenience experienced at the Casino, but as a security precaution our Casino does not allow patrons to wear hats inside. Regarding your comments about our rooms, we are happy to report that we are currently undergoing a guestroom enhancement project, that will result in a new room concept for all our 525 guestrooms and suites.

If you decide to come back and stay with us, please contact us directly at (787) 722-7000 ext 42.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spent 8 days in san juan at marriott with my husband for my birthday. We were so pleased with the hotel, most of the staff and the food! The hotel is in a nice area, people running and biking at all hours, grocery near by, excellent restaurants within walking distance and beautiful beach front andpool areas. It is a bit expensive but totally worth the money. Took scuba diving excursion through hotel with paradise seekers. Took us to fajardo for the day- PERFECT! Alvin is great guide on land and under sea! By far, the BEST vacation I've ever taken!

Room Tip: Partial view above 5th floor on cabana side is erfect and less expensive than full view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

by far the best vacation hotel ever. the room was much larger than i expected. the staff was incredable. it was our first time to puerto rico. i recommend getting the same type room we had that was on the corner and had a balcony on the beach side and pool side. it was much lower priced compared to rooms that we have stayed in at other resort destinations that were not as nice as this one. the food and service at the hotel was great but the "purtorican food" elswere was very bland. bring your own hot sauce to take to all of the other resturants in san juan and elsewhere.

Room Tip: book a corner room facing the beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Came in for 4 days to stay at Marriott. I really enjoyed the stay, we had a room on 4th floor of Cabana building. The room was renovated and clean.
I liked the pool, but it is not deep only about 4ft, works great for kids.
The beach is not big and water is rough, the hotel staff will set up a chair for you and umbrella.
We did not eat at the hotel but ordered drinks few times and they were pricey.
Every night it seems that they offer some sort of entertainment near the bar at the lobby.
A lot of restaurants in the area to just go and eat with out a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Marriott, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.