We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time in Puerto Rico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fun time in Puerto Rico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location is perfect. All of the staff that we met were very professional and friendly. The food was good. The pool and slide are fun, but be very careful in the ocean. These are very rough waters with powerful waves. Children should not go into the ocean alone. The waves are fun, but they will knock you down and pull you under.

Room Tip: The city view rooms are very nice at night. Each has a big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,011
    1,536
    386
    129
    71
See reviews for
1,094
1,564
110
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Clean, excellent food, great bar, fun Casino, and nice clean rooms with great views. This is a "can't go wrong choice" but the price can be somewhat higher than others. Choose it anyway for a "sure thing". Good location in Condado.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade fee if asked. Otherwise smile and be nice to the person checking you in and hope fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Marriott San Juan Stellaris . We especially enjoyed some of the staff members there . Janette at the pool bar was especially outstanding as was Waldo in the concierge lounge . These people bent over backwards to make sure you were having a great time .Waldo even sent an email after we returned home thanking us for staying at the hotel . I don't think I have ever had any staff member take the time to personally thank us for our stay . This young man is going to go far . I must also compliment the young man who checked us in . The next day when I went by the front desk . He greeted me by name . These personal touches go a long way to making you feel very welcomed .
There were a few things that could have been better ,but over all a great place to stay ! The Marriott is making many renovations in the hotel . I hope there next step is to update the rooms . The carpets in the rooms are worn and have some stains .
.

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room ,go for it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you, John L for the review provided from our property, the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino. We are very happy you had a great vacation with us and that our associated contributed on making it happen. It would be awesome to see you back on your next vacation to Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savananh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

very freindly staff close to everything in Dorado 10 minutes to old Suan Juan
Starbucks across the street restaurants & shops all along the street when you walk out the front door of the Marriott lobby bar fun freindly easy to talk to people/vacationers and locals

Room Tip: my room was very quiet on 7th floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel, but there are goods and bads. The pool was fantastic for little ones. There is a huge pool that is only 2 1/2 feet deep at most with an inclined entry. So awesome for our 1yo grand baby to play in. Lots of adults enjoyed sitting in the shallow pool with their drinks, too. There was also a deeper pool with a swim-up bar and a fun slide. The babysitting service was excellent. We used it on two nights, and they sent the same woman both nights. She was also a school teacher, spoke English very well, and was very nice. We were surprised by the resort fee every day. It included in-room Internet access, bottles of water (we got several just by asking), and beach chaises and umbrellas. It would be an ok charge if you used those every day, as the charge for that at most hotels is $25. We went to this hotel using a Marriott special, which was a free night with every 2-night stay. They offer a "green" alternative where you can get 500 Marriott points if you deny room service every other day. Nice perk. The food and drinks were definitely on the high side, but there are lots of restaurants on the same street that have excellent food and are very inexpensive. The beach was very nice, but snorkeling very sparse. The casino is not very big, with more slots than anything. There were 1-2 tables of each sort (craps, roulette, etc.). There is a hotel right down the street, the Renaissance, which has a more "South Beach" feel, with more modern decor and a younger, "beautiful people" feel, if that's what you would prefer. This place had lots of "regular" folks. Staff was extremely friendly all the time. Buffets excellent, but pricey like most buffets.

Room Tip: Definitely choose ocean-front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kakidu;

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is great that you mentioned one of our Eco-friendly initiatives as we are always looking for ways to help the environment. We are happy to know you had a great stay and would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The good first. This is a really nice hotel. Its right on the beach, has a beautiful pool, a couple bars and restaurants. The rooms are very nicely appointed, high thread count linens, comfortable beds, everything you would expect from a really nice hotel.

The bad. While the per night rate is within range of a hotel of this caliber, the extras are un-reasonable. First there is a an expensive, per day resort fee that is not included in the room rate. Ours was $32.64 for one night. This allows you the use of the , lol, pool and you get two bottles of water in your room, and use of the wifi. This is totally unreasonable in my opinion.

On top of this, if you decide to have lunch at the restaurant by the pool, expect to pay. Lunch for two, including an appetizer, a salad, and a Churrasco steak, and two drinks was $89.06.

If you decide to go to the lobby bar, expect to be completely abused, we had two drinks at the lobby bar and paid $27.61. Thats TWO drinks.

Ahh and I forgot, part of the resort fee also includes two free drinks, sounds good right? Not any drinks but some pre mixed rum concoction, which by the way is only available between 9-5, which I thought was additionally cheap on the hotels part.

Now some might say San Juan is just expensive in general, and this is also true. However after realizing how expensive this hotel is, we went out to eat and drink and found that things right out on the street near the hotel were just as good and about 30-40% cheaper in general.

In conclusion, while I like the hotel, I really feel that this hotel is pushing the limits. I felt taken advantage of to be honest in the end. I have a bad taste in my mouth and will not be back and I think people should know about this before they book.

There are other nice hotels in San Juan to pick from, and I would certainly look at them if I were you.

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the tower are the nicest choice and have a view to the ocean from two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Blackjack1234;

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that our property did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to share it with our F&B staff in order to identify any pricing opportunities.

If you decide to stay with us in the future, please feel free to contact us directly at (787) 722-7000 ext 42.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I will start w/ this young lady, great service and great persona. A+. then the other reaon we came back 2 years ago we walk into a cool place w/ a swim up bar and happy hour. casino and evening entertainment, all good . hospitality in general A+.

Room Tip: well it's the marriot, but we were given 821 0n the sunset view cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Barry H;

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your vacation at our Resort. We appreciate your positive feedback and are thankful for your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.