We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All That and Then Some” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Save Saved
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“All That and Then Some”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I went back to this Marriott for the second time for ONE reason...The first time things did not go so well at the Marriot...and it was Christmas...so we stayed three nights and went home not happy so I e-mailed the home office! They put me in touch with the property manager Hanns and we spoke at length.He asked me to please come back to give them a chance to make it right...so I did.September 9 our 7th wedding annerversary and Hanns made us an offer to stay for 4 nights and 5 days on the house!! We had such a marvelous time at the Marriott and the inner city trips we did that now we will make The San Juan Marriott our go to place when we need a short or a long vacation.The way that the staff treated us was just immpecable..All I can say is that this place The Marriott at San Juan is the BEST

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Mortyy;

It is great to know that you accepted our invitation and decided to stay with us again.

Happy Anniversary!

Hope to see you again on your next vacation to Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,411
    1,229
    305
    110
    65
See reviews for
790
1207
87
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The casino was nice being right in the hotel. There is a Walgreens a block away if you need anything.
The pool area was clean and very pretty. There was plenty of room on the beautiful beach as well.
The room was very clean.
I can't think of nothing negative about this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

very nice hotel. staff is friendly and attentive. clean. good location. live nightly band. drinks way over priced. the shower has no water pressure. a 5 minute shower took 20 minutes. so was any water saved?? we were able to check in prior to 4pm and we were given a free late check out.
the welcome drink is a punch..no alcohol. i would stay there again...just wish they would fix the water pressure problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
La Dee12, thank you for your recent feedback.

We will share your experience with our Engineering Department so they can look further into the situation and make improvements as necessary.

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This resort is located in a great location with excellent access to the beach. For those who are interested, the gay beach is just a short walk down the shoreline. The pool areas are comfortable and well-appointed, and beach chairs and towels are provided for the hotel's ocean access. My room was comfortable and clean, but I have experienced more luxurious Marriott properties. Staff was generally very professional and friendly, whether suggesting itineraries, giving directions or providing food and beverage. Next time I would probably pay the extra money for a full ocean view. The partial view was pretty slim. The lobby bar served its purpose to get a late snack or drink, but the main drag in front of the hotel is jammed with great drinking and dining options. Old San Juan is a short taxi ride away and well worth the visit. Overall, the Marriott was a very satisfactory vehicle to experience beach-front San Juan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ozone Park, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived at the resort around 1:00 pm and was immediately greeted with delicious rum punch.Check in time was 4:00 but as soon as our room was ready they promptly met us upstairs with our luggage.The room was spotless,large with a wonderful view of the ocean.Since it was our first time in PR we needed a little help on what to do and places to go in order to enjoy ourselves.The wife and I decided to go to the front desk and this was an excellent choice!!Enrique the front desk agent was Extremely helpful,even gave us a list of must do's and must see's while we were there.The pools wery very nice,beach was superb,staff was marvelous.Oh and the resorts spa was absolutely the best!What more could u ask for?Im most definitely going back and I'd recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We are currently staying at the resort this week. So far everything has been great with only a0 few minor things. The property was great, so I will start the not so good. On random and frequent times the pool bar would close despite the hours being from 10am to 5pm. Even some of the other guest expressed concern. The pool bar can be swam up to, so it sucks having to leave the pool area to get a drink. There are many pictures of the pool bar on the web, if this is such a crucial part of the resort, why does it always close. You may think I'm just crying too much, but even if you don't drink, you will get hungry and there is no where to order unless you walk. There are servers walking around, but its quicker to just get it yourself. They also serve great food when it's open. The bartenders are amazing and very knowledgable about the area, and very friendly. Food and drinks are expensive, but are mostly strong and worth the money. Now let me clarify, that i expect high prices so im not complaining, and besides that rant, i absolutely love this place and will recommend it to anyone! The tour desk was amazing at helping us pick and find things to do! They is a. Walgreens a block away has all the beer and liquor you could want, and the resort allows you to bring you own drinks. Safety is top end, as there are armed policia in full tactical gear all over the streets and even around the beach sometimes. It makes you feel very safe, as no one has bothered us except and few homeless asking for change. The beach is nice, and the surf isn't too bad. San Juan has a ton of stuff to do around it, and this hotel is in the perfect place. So other than the disappointing bar service at the pool. This place is awesome, and well worth your money!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino and for sharing your review with us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we will share your feedback regarding hours of operation for La Isla Pool Bar with our F&B management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I just got back from PR. We stayed at the Marriott Stellaris for a full 7 days and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I am stunned at some of the reviews that stated the beach area and pool were too crowded over the holiday. We didn't experience this feeling at all, nor did we feel troubled by plane noises - we hardly noticed an airplane at all. We DID have a north-facing room, so perhaps that explains it, but we spent plenty of time at the pool, the casino, walking around Ashford Avenue, and such. The only noise we noticed were the coqui (frogs) in the evenings.
In fact, we absolutely recommend this hotel! The staff members were helpful and friendly, and not just the front desk folks. We experienced the same friendly service with the pool bar staff (thanks Maria!), the valet service (thanks Javier!), and the concierge service (thanks for help with printing out boarding passes).
We expected and had budgeted for high prices on things like bar drinks and cab rides to Old San Juan, so we weren't too bothered when drinks were $11 and up, and cab rides $15-20 each way. For a first time visit to PR, the personal, friendly, helpful service is what will make us repeat customers.

Room Tip: A north-facing room is your best bet for seeing the beach, pool area, and Atlantic Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear jminogue;

It is great to receive such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time on property and your visit to Puerto Rico.

Our property is located 15-20 minutes away from the airport so noise due to airplane traffic should not be an issue when staying at our resort.

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#5 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Marriott, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.