We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, food needs improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Save Saved
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, food needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of night while I waited for my cruise to leave. The room accommodations were very nice with a full view of the beach right out front. During the daytime you can hear the birds and sound of the waves. The bed was comfortable and the room was a nice size and clean. The hotel grounds were well-maintained, and my only complaint is that they did not have healthy food options at the restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,544
    1,284
    319
    111
    66
See reviews for
854
1272
89
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a hotel that I would definately stay in again! We had a group of 10 of us staying for a week in April. After a long day of traveling we were welcomed by the friendly, funny, and accommadating front desk agent. Jose Rosado, wanted to make sure that we had everything we needed. Our group was celebrating both and anniversary and a birthday. Shortly after getting in our room a cheese and cracker tray with a bottle of wine and balloons arrived. Our room was a corner room with the most spectacular ocean views (see pix from our balcony). The floor to ceiling sliders and 2 balconies were a unexpected surprise. Our room had plenty of space for our nightly pre-dinner cocktail gathering of 10 people. The hotel location was great. There is really no need for a cab as we had everything we needed within walking distance. Lots of restaurants, shops, casinos, and local bars. Everyday was a beach day with plenty of chairs, unbrella and attendents ready to set us up. The waitstaff on the beach was always making rounds. Stepping right off the hotel steps onto the beach every morning was the best! The pool area was small but still no problem finding chairs. I would highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Definately get a corner room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My friend and I spent one week at the Marriott San Juan Resort. The experience greatly surpassed our expectations. Beautiful and well maintained property/pool/beach, friendly and helpful staff, great food. There was a wedding party that celebrated well into the morning and they woke us. But, hey, they had a good reason to party so we weren't too upset. We tried several local restaurants in this very walkable area. We based our decision on reviews on Trip Advisor. One suggestion I would make.....check with the Marriott before making outside transport arrangements for excursions or the airport. We spent double what we should have. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here while on business for 30 days and was very satisfied. I moved here from another hotel (Conrad Hilton Plaza) where my stay was not so pleasant. The staff at the Marriott were great...very friendly and very helpful. It was a good location and felt safe. Lot's of local restaurants. You can wonder farther away from the hotel, but still within walking distance for a more local feel. The waves are pretty big on this part of the beach which makes for fun, but requires you to be a little more cautious. Stay away from being in the water near the rocks at the left side of the beach. The only negative I encountered was that I could hear the music in my room coming from the lounge. I was on the 5th floor on the city side and so would have liked to have been higher. I used earplugs which solved the problem. Concierge service was very helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Concierge's are very helpful with all requests. They have a lot of good information about resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great four-day getaway from NY. My wife and I have stayed here at least 5 times and always enjoy it. Last time with the kids, this time just the 2 of us. Relaxing pool area, good happy hour (service from the ladies better than the guys). Friendly staff and very comfortable, clean, spacious room at an affordable price. One of the best features is nice variety of restaurants within short walking distance of hotel. Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I visit often and it gets better every time. Relaxing at the pool is the best and Jeanette R. makes the visit worthwhile. She keeps us entertained while keeping hydrated. Leonel and Joaner keeps things hopping.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in to celebrate a friends birthday. We had dinner in the restaurant at the Casino. It was a lavish buffet filled with great food and drinks. Nearly every delicious kind of seafood your heart could ever desire. It was a paradise.
Our server Johnathan was extremely knowledgable and accommodating.
The entire dinner, from cocktails to dinner to dessert was simply superb. They've got it and do it right! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.