We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Save Saved
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was a great hotel/resort for our recent mini-vacation (four nights). We had an oceanfront room on the 16th floor which offered amazing views (I highly recommend and oceanfront or ocean view room as it is very picturesque). The hotel is clean and all of the staff that we encountered were extremely friendly (the fruity drink while standing in the check-in line was very nice). The pool was relaxing and well maintained although a bit smaller than I anticipated (although there are two pools beside each other). The beach was beautiful and had huge waves the entire time we were there (they even have hotel staff to help you with beach chairs and in setting up umbrellas). We didn't step foot into the casino as we are not gamblers so I can't speak to that aspect. The area around the hotel (literally right outside of the entrance) seemed very safe and had several good restaurants (we had breakfast that was included in our package at the hotel each morning but other than that, only ate one meal at the hotel--beach bar-- which to me seemed very over priced as you might suspect). Drinks at the hotel were good although very expensive (you can walk across the street to Walgreens and buy some wine or other alcoholic beverages for your room : ) We also enjoyed our trip to the rainforest and the day spent touring Old San Juan. Overall, a great experience-we will be visiting PR again, hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,551
    1,284
    319
    111
    66
See reviews for
854
1277
89
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sfo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Friendly staff. Good food.. Amazing swimming pool. Thank you again. We stayed on the 9th floor every room is close to the elevator. BRING SUN SCREEN.. they only thing I did not like is that when we asked for sour cream.. they brought us yogurt. :(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that this hotel is nearly perfect. The service was great (free drinks when you arrive!), the lobby is impressive, and in general, the hotel was in good repair and well cleaned. The casino may be small but it is more than sufficient for having a little fun before heading to bed. The pool area isn't grandiose, but it it gets the job down. Finally, the out-door bar features a great ocean view. Valet parking was very reasonably price and the car always arrived quickly.

A few small negatives. The rooms, while clean, could use a refresh as they are getting a little dated. Prices at the hotel out-door bar were nothing short of murder, but that is to be expected (unfortunately). While the hotel is right on the beach, and the beach staff are incredible helpful and eager to setup your chair, umbrella, etc, the beach itself is quite small and can be rather crowded during peak times of the day. There is only one on-site restaurant, and the "cafe" in the lobby was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel provided a wonderful stay for my husband and I during our mini vacation this month. There staff demonstrated excellent customer service throughout our entire stay from the bell hops at the front door to the activities center staff near the pool. Just an outstanding facility and a exceptional staff overall...we can't wait to visit San Juan, PR again and to book our accommodations with this Marriott facility.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are quieter but we didn't have any issues all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm not a gambler and the casino seemed dated and dominated by locals. Having said that, it was easy to get to from Boston and the beach was awesome. My son and I rode the waves for hours. Very nice pool and swim up bar. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great spot for a long weekend getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have now stayed at this hotel twice. The first time we were here, we stayed for a week and vacationed in San Juan. The second time we stayed for a couple of days in front of a cruise. The hotel is beautiful, the food great, the beach is on quiet lagoon-like water that (at high tide) laps at the base of the hotel. We found the staff to be particularly accommodating as they went out of their way to accommodate our group (there were 4 couples traveling together). The next time we are in San Juan, we will definately plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: If you can, book a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on our anniversary and were not disappointed. After researching town car service from the airport to the hotel (that would have been $75.00), we decided to take a cab. $25.00 (including tip) from the airport to this hotel. Easy peasy.

Upon arrival, front desk clerk (Eric) upgraded our room to oceanside overlooking the pools. 6th floor location. Tremendous view. Eric provided a very helpful packet of info to us regarding local restaurants (near the hotel as well as Old San Juan). Throughout our 6 day stay, the front desk staff and concierge desk were quite simply, wonderful. I'm a Platinum member for Marriott and the entire staff at this Marriott were exceptional - some of the very best we have encountered in our travels.

Our room: Our room had granite countertops and travertine stone in the shower. Balcony overlooking the pools/ocean had two chairs and a mini table. Perfect for my wife and I. King-size bed with mini-refrigerator and programmable safe. In room air conditioning worked great.

Outside Pool Area. The pools were excellent - one is geared for kids (it only gets about 1.5 feet to 2.0 feet deep) and the other pool has a water slide, goes to about 5 feet deep along with a swim up bar. Found the outdoor bars to have great lunch snack food (hamburgers, quesadillas, turkey wrap). Beers were a little pricey, but each day featured some type of special or Happy Hour. Service from the wait staff (Jessica) and the bartender (Joaner) was outstanding. Lots of chairs for sun and lots of chairs for shade.

Outside Beach Area. Loved it. The beach staff goes out of their way to make it easy by helping get your umbrella and lounge chairs set-up for you. The water breaks at the shore - plenty of action for boogie boarding and body surfing. Beverages and food are delivered to the beach. We did see some folks with coolers....

Outside Hotel Area. At least 15 restaurants of varying foods are within two to three blocks of the hotel (on Condado Street). Starbucks is across the street and a Walgreens (with Pharmacy) is a block away as well. Lively street scene and we enjoyed a few meals along this strip.

Outside Hotel Area - Old San Juan. Cab ride to Old San Juan for two people was $15.00 from the hotel and took about 10 mins. For $20.00 (including our $5.00 tip), it was very easy to get over to Old San Juan. Lots of great restaurants (see our reviews of two really good places for dinners/cocktails). For our next trip to San Juan, we plan to spend more time in this area (for all of the shopping and places to eat).

Overall, excellent marks across the board for this hotel.....amazing staff, wonderful pools, excellent beach area and tons of local access.

Enjoy your trip!

Iowa Travel Team

Room Tip: We thoroughly enjoyed a 6th floor room in the smaller building. We overlooked the pools, tops of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.