We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a blast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Maitland, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We had a blast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a blast there this past week. The view was amazing; it’s worth paying more for ocean view. Pool was nice, could have been bigger. Beach was beautiful, but if you ask for an umbrella, expect an attitude from the umbrella guy, but hey- he is an umbrella guy so what do you expect. He was polite enough to only insult me in Spanish (but whoops my wife speaks Spanish) and he called me annoying, but let’s face it..I can be annoying. Food was AMAZING. Even the room service was extremely good. Casino was nice, not large but nice. All drinks were made with fresh squeezed juices…Even Grapefruit!!! My favorite. Clean rooms, nice lobby, fast service. All in all real nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    1,378
    342
    114
    67
See reviews for
933
1,385
103
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is my first time staying at a Marriott Resort. It is rated as 4*... But average at best in my opinion! The resort itself is tired looking at best. I am here with my sister on a 5 night last minute getaway. There.were dirty glasses continually left in our room, the floors were not vacuumed for days until I made mention to guest services. 2x in 24 hrs we had to have our room keys changed because the lock on the door was not working properly. The second time.. I had to wait out in the hall for 20 minutes for security to come with a new room key.. Guest services sent him to the wrong floor and only when I finally called them again, did he make itto our room.. Me still out in the hall. Sunday night after we returned to our room from being out in town, housekeeping had come in to tidy our room.. AND LEFT OUR DOOR OPEN!!! Last night we came back to our room to retire for thr night,,, housekeeping came into tidy up. Picked up our WET shower towels off of the floor and hung them up over the shower rod for us to use in the morning,,, REALLY,,, A 4 STAR RESORT... I THINK NOT!!! Price tag at the end of our stay... $2200!!!

Room Tip: Way way way over rated and priced!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hotel was very clean, staff friendly and service was good. Located on nice beach, but rough ocean. Had nice pools, but were more suited for children, rather than adult swimming. Very family oriented, but prices were fairly high.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights during a quick visit to San Juan, using Marriott Rewards points. Our King Oceanfront room with balcony, # 1810, was compact but comfortable. What made the room fabulous was the fantastic view out the window and off the balcony, large enough for two to sit comfortably. The staff was terrific at the front desk and conceirge desk. The executive lounge offers a terrific view of San Juan.The casinso is pleasantly smoke free and the Red Coral lounge on the first floor offers well-priced drinks and food with great bartenders. The pools and beach area are nice. Only drawbacks: hotel is well-maintained but dated. Bathroom was tiny in our room. Location was great; can take bus to Old San Juan for $.75 (exact change only, no bills.)

Room Tip: Oceanfront on a high floor with balcony for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragonfly214
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here on two separate occasions. Once in October and again in March. Both times, had a great experience. The hotel itself is very clean, staff is accommodating and friendly. Parking is not too expensive. Centrally located along Ashford Ave, and it is only about a 10-15 minute ride in taxi to Old San Juan.

The beach is also really great. Beach chairs and drink service went until 6PM. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Standard Mariottt rooms, very comfortable. The hotel was in a busy area with easy access to the beach, pool, casino, Walgreens, Wendy's, Starbucks. It was windy all three days we visited and the surf was rough, red flag warning. Pool area was nice. Service was inconsistent. I asked for a cot (3 times) as one kid was sick, but it took 24 hours for an air mattress to be delivered and then without a blanket. Staff was very friendly. Beautiful view from our third floor room, better views from above- I would imagine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a nice time staying there during April school break. We had an ocean view room at 18th floor, which maybe why we didn’t feel the issue with the carpet being damp as someone reported, and we had the balcony door open a lot.

The hotel was at a great location, with quite a few restaurants outside the hotel, and a Walgreen near-by. The entrance and the lobby is not as trendy as the La Concha next door, but for family vacation spot, it is just right.

The beach is really nice and very close, but unfortunately it was too windy during our stay that our kids (3 and 6) did not want to play on the beach, and went for their wonderful pools instead. The upper pool was really shallow, less than 2 ft, and the lower pool between 4 and 5 ft, good for a wider range of age of kids. The water slide was very popular, and our 6 years old just loved it.

I found the room to be of decent size, and the bathroom with a nice tub and shower head, overall good quality. There was a nice sofa in the room with a pullout, but we ordered the roller anyway since it is so nice to keep the sofa as is so the kids can jump from the king bed to the roller and then to the sofa, and they can do that all night!

The staff was very friendly and helpful. House-keeping did not come knock on each doors in the morning. They observed and figure out our routine and came clean in the afternoon when we were out into town or gone playing in the pools.

The only complaint I had was with the internet, which prevented me from giving a 5 stars. Somehow I was not able to connect to my office as they did not allow vpn connection. I know I know, I am not supposed to work, but nowadays who can completely go on vacation without checking in once in a while? It took me sometime to call their tech on multiple phone calls to adjust something on their server to let vpn to pass through. This does not seem to be a Marriot problem

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#1 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Amex, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.