We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience in San Juan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Save Saved
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #5 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice experience in San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I spent 7 days and 6 nights at the San Juan Marriott in mid January. The location is good and the service at the front desk excellent. I had an ocean/pool view but had requested an ocean front room but was denied as they did not have a room with a king bed available. The room I had was a corner room with a balcony. The room was roomy, the bed comfortable and the addition of a lounge chair was a plus. No watching TV from the bed! Room was serviced most days by 11 a.m. The one thing I had not known was this hotel seems to get many business persons and a lot of 3 and 4 day conferences. You do not get the usual vacationeer and it was hard to find fellow travellers to bond with at any time. Would be a great hotel if you had a long layover at the airport or just want a short getaway. I usually like to walk on the beach but they did not seem to groom the beach each morning as they do in other Marriotts located on a beach. The pools were lovely but they did not have anyone to locate a lounge for you or to place the towels on the lounge. You just grabbed a towel or two at the towel hut and took your chances with a lounge chair. There were no umbrellas at either pool for shade just the palm trees. The bar and food service in the pool area was better than usual. You never wanted for something to drink or eat and the servers were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: I was in 904 a corner room and it was roomy and the balcony did not get the hot run after 3 pm and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT-DOM-PR, Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Arubagals

Thank you for choosing us to stay at on your recent visit to Puerto Rico and thank you for writing about your experience. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and assists us in improving our facilities and services. I was pleased to hear that your room was to your liking and it had the space needed to enjoy your experience and thet the service around the beach/pool bar was of a high standard and appreciated.

Being centrally located, our resort does have a variety of travelers, from business, convention to leisure so I was sorry to hear that it was harder to meet fellow leisure travelers like yourself.

You have provided a lot of great feedback which we will definitely be looking into. The beach at the front of the hotel is a public beach thus is looked after by the municipality but we be in contact with them to discuss grooming standards and the times they are provided. Thank you for bring this to our attention. We will also review some of our poolside services to see if they can be tweaked to provide greater satisfaction.

Arubagals, if I can ever assist you in a return trip to Puerto Rico and to the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, please don't hesitate in contacting me at 787 289 5036 or at julian.cable-treadwell@marriotthotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,048 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,361
    1,208
    304
    109
    66
See reviews for
765
1178
87
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel, we came down with my wife's sister and brother in law. Wife and I were celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary, sister and brother in law their 37th. We mentioned it to Stephanie Santiago at the front desk when we were checking in. The following day to our surprise we both found a delicious platter of cheeses and grapes along with a good bottle of wine in each of our rooms compliments of the hotel! Can't say enough nice things about all of the staff at this hotel, from Stephanie at the front desk, to Javier the bell hop to Pedro the beach waiter and all the guys setting up umbrellas on the beach to Benjamin in security everyone of them always greeted you with a warm smile and seemed genuine in their regard for you and that everything was to your satisfaction. To us that's the most important factor when choosing a place to stay. The majority of big name chain hotels will have adequate facilities, it's the attention to their customers enjoying their stay that will set them apart. To all the staff at the Marriott thank you all very much for making our stay such a pleasure...we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights before a work conference started. The rooms were fine, always clean and plenty of towels, the AC worked just fine. Our room was on the 18th floor and I liked how the patios all had chairs and small table, we sat out there a lot and looked at our ocean view as well as down at the pool. The pool was ok, didnt seem to get much sun, the hotel is so tall that it creates a huge shadow across the pool most of the day and the beach by noon. The beach staff was great, they meet you at the access to beach and get your chairs placed for you. they know the sun movements and put our chairs in a spot that we did not need to move. We didnt go to the casino, although at night the whole first floor was hopping with activity. We ate in the neighborhood and felt safe. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

When looking for a hotel for my trip, I did not know which to choose so I went by Trip Advisors reviews. The Marriott proved to be a great choice. From the moment I drove up, every single employee went out of their way to either help me, answer a question, smile, open doors etc. They were the friendliest group I'd ever encountered on any trip. Truly, they went over and above what I'm sure they are "supposed" to do. The grounds are beautiful. You are right on the beach, have a lovely large pool to use if you choose to, nice bar outside etc.. The Red Coral lounge, located in the main lobby, serves great drinks and in the evenings on the weekends it opens up with live music. There is a casino on the premises. I was not impressed by it but then again, I've gone to Las Vegas so many times that it's an unfair comparison. My only surprise were the beds. We all agree that the mattresses were very uncomfortable and if you moved, it squeaked. They need to change them in the rooms that we had. That said, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT-DOM-PR, Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Lisa J

What a fabulous review ! Thank you so much !! It will be a pleasure to share your review with our associates over the coming week at their various department meetings.

However, I was sorry, and surprised, to hear about the beds of your group. If you have the time and the inclination, I would really appreciate it if you could contact me offline to share your room numbers with me so that we can rectify the issue so other guests don't have the same experience.

I can be reached at 787 289 5036 or at julian.cable-treadwell@marriotthotels.com. Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend before our cruise. Our room was nice and had a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. Very nice lobby bar and a great band played later in the evening. The pool area was also very nice. We mostly kept to the beach area. Bar service on the beach was prompt and kept us happy. The beach was beautiful with really nice sand. We couldn't walk very far down the beach in either direction, but it is a nice enough stretch for a short walk. The workout room was also nice and had everything I needed including several treadmills so I never had to wait. All of the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good location between airport (but away from the noise of airplanes) and old San Juan in nice neighborhood with walking distance to Starbucks, variety of restaurants, pharmacy and stores. Located on the beach (beach is ok but nothing special), inside the resort is nice swimming pool, hot tub and lounge chairs. Restaurant and Casino on premises (didn't really care about the Casino but it is there, nothing glamorous though). Room s are clean and comfortable, I had a balcony with ocean view so that was great in the morning to grab breakfast in the Starbucks (accros from hotel) and sit on the balcony. Old San Juan is about 10 mins drive, or you can take a bus. Hotel has paid parking (use self park). Overall good location and would recomend.

Room Tip: Ocean view room with balcony, higher floor due to matured trees blocking view on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Actually, my trip was in Feb, not March of 2012. Its taken me a while to get around to writing my review. This was a trip I took with my daughter since she was off the entire ski week. First time in PR and was not disappointed with this hotel. Standard Marriott type rooms, but ours was a larger in the side tower at pool level. Was concerned about security, but nothing happened to us... kept stuff in the safe. Our rate was pretty good due to a special. On site car rentals, but recommend you reserve ahead of time due to cruise ships cleaning the inventory out. Local restaurants were good and easy to walk to. Taxi to old SJ could cost you quite a bit, so if you have a rental... takes the bite out (plus parking in SJ is easy). Otherwise it is what it is. Good hotel for families, later in the year we stayed at the Renaissance. Though that place was tres chic, this is better for families. Rooms are bigger as well. Beach is a bit nicer I'd say. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Stayed in the side tower at pool level... access to the pool. However, takes a bit to get back to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#1 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#5 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.