We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really good but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very nice hotel, nice staff and overall very good . My only compliant is the cost of drinks. Really, how could you justify a 15 drink plus tip. 8 for a Medlla light. At these prices 4-5 drinks for a day at the beach would have cost over 1200 for the week, for me and the wife. So me being the savvy traveler went across the street and bought some vodka and mix. Then would go to the bar and leave a 2 tip for the staff for a cup of ice. Well day 2 the bartender told me that I was not allowed to bring my own liquor. I was on vacation , so not wanting any confrontation spend the rest of the week on the beach.

While this is a nice hotel, it is not NYC or Paris , so the price point for the drinks are crazy. I can afford to stay here, but won't be able to if I was so foolish with my money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT-DOM-PR, Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
clvndrocks

Thanks so much for your review and your feedback. Your point on our beverage prices is well taken and we will be conducting a survey in the coming weeks to ensure that our drinks prices are in line with what the other full service hotels in our competitive set are charging.

If I can ever assist in getting you back to Puerto Rico and to the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, please let me know by contacting me at 787 289 5036 or at julian.cable-treadwell@marriotthotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,756
    1,374
    342
    114
    67
See reviews for
930
1,382
102
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were lucky, our flight was quick and on time and we arrived to beautiful weather. The Hotel was located on a beautiful piece of property and we immediatley went to the pool for a quick dip. The attmosphere was relaxing and inviting, our room was pleasant and clean. The four days we were there went by too fast! I would highly suggest this property--just for the ease alone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino:
Our room was clean and tastefully cheery in décor. The hotel itself was luxurious enough for our standards. Service was attentive -- anytime we called reception. A postcard, magnet and three mini-chocolates were in our room to welcome us (see photo).
The location seemed ideal: 1 block away was a 24 hour Walgreen's mini-grocery/drug store, Starbucks across the street, restaurants and bars along the main street where the hotel is located. PLUS, the beach is right at the doorstep.
Our room, #801, was right across the elevator but we heard nothing. Walls also seemed well insulated from noise. The coqui (Puerto Rican frogs) were singing every night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I, who are "elite" members of Marriott, stayed here in January. We were at first given a "partial oceanview" room on the sixth floor of the Cabana section, supposedly one of two rooms they had and the recommended one because "it has a better view." The view was entirely blocked by palm trees. We did not complain until we got back to the room after dinner. There was an outdoor wedding going on right below our room ,and the music was so loud that even with the slider closed, we still heard it clearly. (Why allow such an event - to the detriment of the other guests???) When I called to complain, they sympathisized, as if wondering the same thing, and said they could move us the next day. I said that would not do, as we would not be able to sleep, so they - suddenly - found a room for us on the 19th floor of the Tower section. That room was fine, excepting that we had to relocate the coffeemaker from underneath the TV to the bathroom in order to be able to use it (in the first room it had a dedicated counter.) Then, if we forgot to take the "Do Not Disturb" sign off the front door while we went to breakfast, we repeatedly got a very pompous note from Housekeeping which required that we call the Front Desk to reschedule - which, to me, is a form of CYA, i.e., "OK, we were there, and now it's up to you." This has never happened in a Marriott before. The other big problem for us was that the advertised entertainmnent, if at all, didn't begin until 10 p.m. My husband and I are seniors, so this is too late for us. Therefore, we had to go elsewhere in search of live music. One evening, after doing so, we got back, only to find unadvertised live music in the lounge. We complained about the entertainment to the manager on duty, who seemed to agree with us, and were told that we had to speak to the entertainment director the next morning. Why would we have to complain to two different people? When I had called the hotel before going, I was told about the salsa lessons by the pool that another writer mentioned. No such thing while we were there. Furthermore, the concierge was rarely in sight and we finally had to ask for help from the Front Desk, at which point she finally surfaced, recommending a sightseeing excursion into the old city. However, when we went to book it directly from the tour operator, there had to be a minimum of four, and because there was not such a minimum during the rest of our stay, the tour was not available. We were also told that we could take the trolley throughout Old SJ, but when we got there, the trolley said that it only ran from San Cristobal to El Morro. Therefore, we missed some of the sights. I would add that the shade by the pool and on the beach is a at certain times of the day is a nuisance, and the pool water was too cold, given the amount of rain we had. If, as I guess the hotel slows down after the holidays, Marriott needs to adjust, as the hotel was full while we were there.

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower section to avoid loud noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Marriott in San Juan. The hotel is well located, has a great beachfront and a staff that is beyond excellent. La Vista restaurant offers a great buffet, particularly at breakfast and a good selection from the menu. It is, however, somewhat pricey. The rooms are somewhat on the small side but well appointed. I would have to say that it is about time for a facelift for the rooms. The casino, for those so inclined, is well appointed and fun. The cost for a week is reasonable given that we were there in very high season

The location of the hotels allows an easy walk to over twenty restaurants that provide a wonderful selection of world circling menus at reasonable prices. There are also many historic attractions within easy taxi rides and a car rental provides the ability to really explore the entire island. We will consider returning.

Room Tip: Go for beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the hotel with our 2 young children. The location is great as it was fairly close to the airport, about a $20 cab ride. The pools were nice and the kiddie pool area was perfect for the kids as it was shady. The beach was lovely as well. The one big draw back is that at night there's only 1 restaurant on site. There are a few within walking distance (sushi, Mediterranean, burger joint) but that was it besides the lounge. Other drawback was the price of food at the hotel, but I suppose it's to be expected on vacation. The staff was accommodating but I did think our room could have been a little cleaner. Overall it was decent but I've stayed at nicer places.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The location could not be better in the fashionable Condado neighborhood. The pool and beach front are gorgeous. Loved the pool and beach view from our balcony as well as the music and chic tropical vibe. The hotel food was some of the best we had during our time on the island. The dinner buffet is an amazing deal at $32 per person which has a huge seafood (delicious and fresh ceviches) and salad spread as well as carving stations, a to-order grill items and numerous side dishes. And the dessert was outrageous, especially the coconut rice pudding. We danced all night to the live salsa in the lobby and took poolside dance classes after lunch to burn off the rice pudding! The breakfast buffet is also very good but you are also so close to other local restaurants and have anything at your disposal from local dishes to Starbucks across the street. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool and beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Amex, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.