We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, good service, great beach and good pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
270 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Location, good service, great beach and good pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoy this property for its proximity to stores, shops, restaurants, Starbucks and other locales.

Rooms are clean and staff is good and I think you get what you expect here. Easy to get to Old San Juan by taxi or car and easy to get to airport.

Beach is great. Big, wide and always easy to get chairs and umbrellas. Pool is good but a bit on the small and cramped side.

I think a bit on the pricey side but again this is a vacation spot and what you would expect from a Marriott property.

Best parts:
Location and Beach

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,185
    1,652
    405
    141
    77
See reviews for
1,194
1,671
120
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It's that time of the year for our annual review of the San Juan Marriott. As previously reviewed, all aspects of service throughout the hotel are exceptional. Many travelers have singled out various associates at the hotel for their assistance. We can easily confirm that - from the front desk to the housekeepers - all are friendly, cheerful, patient and eager to please. The only thing that has changed is the addition of a new lobby - which is awesome. There is a bar in the center, tables/chairs and upholstered sofas all around. Some new and good restaurants within walking distance. If you have read any negative reviews, we can tell you that those reviewers must have had a bad night at the casino. As we have mentioned in past reviews, if you visit and diagree with any of our findings, please respond on Trip Advisor and prove us wrong. But, we doubt you will!! Go and have a great time as we did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT-DOM-PR, Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Loeby41

Thank you so much for your tremendous support and loyalty. It is greatly appreciated and it is an absolute pleasure to share your feedback with all of our associates.

If I can ever be of assistance in making future plans to come back to Puerto Rico or to the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, please contact me directly at 787 289 5036 or at julian.cable-treadwell@marriotthotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We picked this resort property unseen for a stay the day before departing on a cruise out of San Juan. It was a super choice. We had a balcony facing the ocean and pool. The hotel has a restaurant that provide a very nice evening buffet with many choices. We also ate breakfast at the hotel before departing for the cruise ship -- after a nice walk on the beach and soaking up sun with hotel provided beach chairs. Taxi to the cruise terminal was about $25 with tip. Food at the hotel was good. I don't think we would have ventured out on the streets in the vicinity of the hotel in search of a restaurant. Hotel staff was helpful. Room was deluxe with great view and comfortable bed. The resort would be a great place to stay for a visit to San Juan.

Room Tip: Recommend an upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here for a week and only have good things to say about the hotel, casino and staff.

The room we stayed in was a little 'tired' but well maintained and clean. The TV and bathroom fixtures were up to date and the bed was comfortable. In contrast the common areas through out the hotel appeared to be recently renovated and were also very clean.

The bar area is especially nice. On weekends there is live music and dancing. Many locals frequent the bar which adds to the overall atmosphere, especially if you like to dance.

I also recommend The Stellaris Casino. I could usually find a seat at a table game of my choice and if you prefer slot machines a decent variety is available. Make sure you enroll in the reward program. Suggest you use your points at check out time as they double in value. Also once you are a member you receive special rates. At the time we visited the rate was $28.00 cheaper than the next lowest rate. That included prepaid options.

The pool area is a little on the small side but comfortable with plenty of chairs and towels. The beach is comfortable once again with ample lounges available which are free of charge. I would advise caution if swimming in the ocean. The hotel is located on the Atlantic side which means sizable waves and a strong undertow.

The food served throughout the hotel is good. It is on the expensive side but that seems to be the case almost anywhere you dine in the metro areas.

The staff are friendly and helpful. I can not think of any other place we visited that made us feel more welcome. If you are visiting the San Juan area of Puerto Rico and choose this hotel you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Overall, a great, very relaxing trip to the Marriott in Condado. We had been here two years ago, came back, and brought friends. The updated lobby bar area is very nice, comfortable and accomodating, even if the drinks are over priced. Overpriced drinks are to be expected while on vacation, being from NY, we experience this on a daily basis even when not on vacation!

Check in was incredibly fast with no delays, so nice after travelling for a few hours. If you are delayed checking in, go across the street to one of the many restaurants and have lunch, relax and come back to check in. We were in the smaller of the two buildings (Cabana), and had a very nice sized room overlooking the pool and beach. If you opt for one of these rooms ask for a higher floor as sometimes the music and sounds from the pool are loud during the day. At night all you hear are the waves crashing and the croqui frogs, so nice to lull you to sleep.

The pool and the beach are great, the umbrella and lounge chair guys at the beach work their butts off to get your chair/umbrella in exactly the right position. I have never seen such a hard working group of guys.

Every single staff member we came across was extremely pleasant and accomodating.

The neighborhood is great for restaurants, you can even walk down Ashford towards town and find some great high, or low, priced options. I will be posting reviews of restaurants as well.
Good hint is to take the bus into Old San Juan for .75 instead of the taxi for $20.00. It takes almost the same amount of time, and will save you lots of $$$$.

Also, the Walgreen's across the street is great for sodas/snacks and liquor. The fridge in the room has lots of space for in room goodies.

Highly reccommend this hotel, for your stay in San Juan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor in the Cabana side for a quieter view of the pool/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Went in August for 5 night family vacation... even amidst the tropical storm warnings(that passed South of PR). Read up on all reviews & asked for Partial Ocean View room as many others recommend. Partial Ocean view was amazing. Easy access to the beach which is key with children in tow. Pool a bit small, but fun enough with water slide. The other pool is more for wading - but great for the kids.
Central location with Starbucks, Haagen Daz, Burger place and Bar Gitano just across the street. Several blocks left or right of hotel will lead you to more dining options. Pinky's was my favorite only a few blocks to left upon exiting the hotel. Live music Friday & Sat (and I think Sunday). Great great atmosphere, Cafe restaurant though pricey has good food. Coffee & pastry bar another easy way to eat on the go just before sight seeing -- serving Cafe con Leche and the Cheese puff pastry ...yum!
Hertz counter on site ... very helpful. Another rental car company just block away as well. Walgreen's and CVS both within 2 blocks in either direction. You can't go wrong with this location.
Great review - why 3 stars. I took off a star because by 3rd night, we unfortunately had run in with bed bugs. In a double room, 1 bed had bed bugs that attacked my daughter and I. Ironically, the sheets are changed daily, so I left a note with housekeeping to change sheets immediately (less bites happened). No it was not a skin reaction to anything newly eaten or sunblock as we are Hispanic heritage eating similar meals as in Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms are a must if you care about the view. If you don't any other room will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved the hotel, with beautiful rooms and lovely staff. Even better, they cooked special food for my daughter with celiac disease. And, the kitchen staff -- especially Dianne and Wendel, and Samuel at the pool side -- were AMAZING! The Executive Chef gave us his card, offering to make her any meal she wanted. And, on Thanksgiving, he did exactly, making my daughter her own meal -- including gluten free pasta! -- and verifying that anything she ate was GF. At breakfast, they made sure my daughters' eggs were cooked separately, as they did at lunch. We brought our own oatmeal and muffins, but they also offered her gluten free oatmeal. We could not thank the staff enough for how easy they made this trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
3.0 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,015 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 45 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 4,694 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 3,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Amex, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.