We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino to your Saves list
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have spend 4 night in the marriott resort. The swiming pool is very good. The beach is nice because they provide the free chairs and umbrella. The wave always very strong on the beach that's why it is not very good for swiming in the sea. There is a bus stop in front of the resort that have 21 or 53 bus go to old san juan, the problem is you may need wait an hour for the bus. A plenty of restaurant in front of the resort and have starbucks. Anyway, we had a good stay.

Room Tip: use the room key to have discount for ice-cream~~
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,771
    1,383
    342
    114
    68
See reviews for
937
1,392
103
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It was surprising to find such a beautiful hotel so close to the airport. The hotel is an island of peace and quiet in the hustle and bustle of San Juan. Great pool and landscaping,fair beech. Food was expensive and very limited

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My sister celebrated her 50th birthday at this hotel in May 2012. There were 7 of us ladies and we had a ball. The food served in the lobby of the Marriott/Stellaris was so delicious and fresh. The little club in the lobby was so much fun and the live band they had was awesome. The casino was cool...I didn't win though....We loved the pool area and the beach. We never ran out of fresh warm towels. Everything was so clean. We can't say enough about the staff. So courteous and helpful. I want to specifically point out how wonderful the Concierge, Zorines Torres was. She made great suggestions on how I could make my sisters birthday so special. she suggested restaurants, a cupcake place, she made calls for me...I mean she really went the extra mile to make everything so special and she was just so very pleasant. I would go back there in a minute. Great stay.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were here on a family vacation. Overall this was an excellent experience.Check in was a breeze with Eric at the front desk. Our room was spacious. Dinner on our first night was at the La Vista restaurant in the hotel, where our wait for a table was a little longer than expected due us being a larger party and the prior party lingering longer than expected, but the staff spoiled us with special treats to make up for the wait. The Sea Bass was absolutely delicious and the kids meals were exactly to their liking. Just bring a really warm sweater for this restaurant as it is really cold!

We had breakfast the next day at this same restaurant and discovered that there is an outside patio. But don't sit near the doors as they open constantily and will engulf you in the artic air from inside!Omlets, pancakes and waffles have to be ordered from the server and took forever. They would be better off modelling their breakfast set up on the Caribe Hiltons.

Sunshine at the pool was only available after 10 am due to the location of the buildings and only a few chairs get sun consistently as there are way too many palm trees around the pool. Disappointing was also that the slide only opens at 10 am and closes at 4pm. For those parents that want to hang at the swim up bar until 5pm when it closes, you are out of luck, they really don't want you to continue spending money.

Of course you can head to the beach before 10 am to get some sun, but be aware that the surf is really treacherous and the whole week we were staying here the red flag indicated that it was not safe to swim. We also witnessed a rescue of a guest during our stay thanks to the quick action by Edgardo, who wasn't even supposed to be on duty. Yet, I do not believe that there are official lifeguards at the hotel beach, so stay close to the kids!

There is also a bar located close to the beach and beverage service is available on the beach and pool side, althoug the service varies depending on who your server is. The pool side menu is not very creative and contains many deep fried items unfortunately.

Having stayed at other properties on Puerto Rico, this hotel has an excellent location. It is in the bustling location of Condado, which allowed us to walk to restaurants, shop and leave the guys at the pool with the kids and pick up the odd bottle of wine at Walgreens.There is lots of staff at the front doors and this feels like a very safe property.

The gym is first class, with lots of treadmills and elipticals, unfortunately no spin bikes and only one life cycle, but there is lots of equipment as well as free weights.

Lastly if you are staying over the weekend you will be able to watch a beach wedding from your chaise on the beach as this seems to be a popular wedding location.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large. Cabana rooms overlook the pool and look beyond the palms to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT-DOM-PR, Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sunsnowfamily

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at the property. We are so glad that your overall experience was positive and that your family enjoyed your time with us.

Your response is very important to us and your observances of our Food & Beverage offerings and experience are greatly appreciated. I have brought your commentary of the temperature of the La Vista Restaurant in addition to the service and food offerings at our Pool and Beach Bar to the attention of our culinary team so that they may address these.

You are correct that prior to 10:00 am, we are a touch on the shady side around the pool but if you venture out to the beach in the mornings and bring it closer to the swimming pools as the day progresses, you are treated to our beautiful sunny weather. It is, unfortunately, one of the small challenges we face by having such an amazing location, which by the way, I am glad that you were able to take advantage of.

Once again, thank you so much for your response and if I ever have of the opportunity of welcoming you back to Puerto Rico and to the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, please contact me directly at julian.cable-treadwell@marriotthotels.com or at 787 289 5036.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our seventh visit to this Hotel sense 2008. And the Experince is allways a plesent one.
very good service,great sleep quality and well keep gardens and pool areas. One thing to have to point out are the pricess at the Red Coral Bar. I paid $44.94 por four drinks. i do think that this is to much money for those drinks. and in top of those prices they are especting to by tip at a minum of 15%. I definitely think that they can do better than that. Otherwise it was a great vacation.Very Good hotel Property one of the Best in Condado.

Room Tip: Try to get the Cabana rooms they have the best view and no humidity problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT-DOM-PR, Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear TrotamundoIsabela

Firstly, let me thank you for your tremendous loyalty to our hotel when comingto visit San Juan. To have a Puerto Rican resident continue to use our facilities because of all the things you mention in your response is a true testament and I look forward to sharing this with our associates.

Also, I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding our prices in the Red Coral Lounge being too expensive. Rest assured that we carry out a survey every 3 - 6 months with competitive properties in San Juan to assure that we are priced correctly and in line, however, we will conduct another survey to ensure that this is still the case.

The next time you are planning to come back to San Juan and stay with us, please contact me directly at julian.cable-treadwell@marriotthotels.com or at 787 289 5036 so that I can assist you with your reservation but alos let you know about our various happy hours that we hold throughout the week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We happened to stay at this hotel after a Travelocity deal popped up. The front desk staff were courteous as could be, helping us with directions to any sight we visited. The bar staff served excellent mojitos on the beach and the beach staff were always willing to find and set up anything you needed, be it a table, chairs, or an umbrella. They were always friendly with everything they did.

We stayed in a partial oceanfront in the main tower on the 9th floor. I would highly recommend it, as it overlooks both the pool area and the ocean. Your view out into the ocean isn't really obstructed at all but you get a price that suggests it is. Your view just isn't totally panoramic is all.

I'd also like to make particular note of our daily cleaning lady, who actually wrote back a response to our note we left to her each day thanking her for her service. She seemed so appreciative of the little effort and went out of her way, organizing some of our things in the bathroom and on the tv stand. She made our stay even better than it already was.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Pick the main tower to get a solid view at a better price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a one night stay at the Marriott. The hotel is located on the beach and on a pretty popular street with lots of bars and restaurants just steps away. Because of that parking is expensive. Over night parking at the hotel is $16. Most of the streets around the hotel offer metered parking but it costs $1.25 an hour to park and is usually operational till midnight. We got lucky and found a non operational meter and were able to park for free.

The hotel is nice and seemed pretty busy when we got there (think there was a prom being hosted there). Check in was ok (there is no elite desk), and there was no upgrade offered either despite being a Platinum member. Also why less and less of my money goes to Marriott. The Executive club was also closed because its a weekend though you could go in to get coffee. But that is about it, no juices or water either. Was offered a half bottle of wine and cheese as a welcome gift. They also provide about $20 in match play for their casino which is standard for all guests I believe.

Had a regular room that over looked the beach and pool (i think every room here overlooks the beach and pool so you dont really have to ask for it). The lounge itself has spectacular views though as you get a pretty sweet 180 degree view of San Juan. Staff seemed a bit oblivious as to what the platinum amenities were and they actually had to go look it up. The room itself was comfortable and the AC worked very well. No bed side plugs but there were some in other parts of the room. Bathroom worked fine, shower was good but the pressure kept coming and going.

There are a ton of places in walking distance to eat and drink so ditch the car and walk around. The street outside the hotel gets really active as it gets late, plenty of partying crowds and cars roaming around. Cant really recommend too many great places around, but there is a fabulous non descript restaurant that is about a 15 minute walk away named Jose Enrique. Google it and make the walk there for a fantastic dinner. The area around this restaurant also has tons of free street parking if you dont mind just leaving the car here and walking back to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT-DOM-PR, Manager at Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
sandyjb83

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to have our Elite guests stay with us, regardless of whether for a night or a month.

I was concerned to hear of some of our oversights when it came to recognizing you as a platinum guest so thank you for mentioning this so we can address this with our Front Office department. It sounds also that we can do a better job of informing our platinum guests when they do get the privileges afforded them such as the room upgrade. Approximately one half of our property are ocean/pool view so I was glad to see that we had the availability and the ability to upgrade you to one of these rooms in addition to offering you the platinum welcome gift.

I am glad that you did get the opportunity to see the area of Condado and experience some of what our fantastic location has to offer. Not only that, you got to try out Jose Enrique which is a wonderful choice to dine.

Once again, many thanks for your review and if I can ever be of assistance, please contact me directly at julian.cable-treadwell@marriotthotels.com or at 787 289 5036.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino

Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#1 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.